We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Tim Around”
Review of Blue Marlin Grill

Blue Marlin Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Marlin Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tele: 914-896-9737. Best food on Anna Marie Island.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second Tim Around”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant so much last year, we couldn't wait to return this year! We arrived on time for our reservation and were seated at a quiet table for 2 immediately. Everything was perfect! Our server was quite pleasant and offered several suggestions. I seriously appreciate how they offer you 1, 2, or even 3 tastings of wine before you make your decision. Their seafood entrees are unbelievably creative and delicious! What are you waiting for? Make your reservation now and try today's catch of the day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurak0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    176
    59
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, but wine issues”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to dining here based on other Trip Advisor reviews. Our reservation was at 7, they were ready for us, mild parking concerns. Pulled up to front as instructed on their website, saw golf car, but no one in it. Waited a while, the pulled into spot across street at another bar. Ordered bottle 2011 Albariño, received 2013. Once poured, I noticed this, asked waitress about the discrepancy, she shrugged and said "well the 2013 is better" and that was it. What? No explanation or apology for giving me the wrong vintage wine? Okay.
Moving on, the lobster tempura and potato soup were excellent. The scallop risotto and red snapper were perfect. The salads were good. The location is quant, cozy in a repurposed cottage. Once we were done eating, we had 1/2 bottle wine left, we asked if we could take it with us, she said yes as she proceeded to pour the rest if the bottle into our glasses without asking if we wanted more. So, when she left, I poured it back into the bottle and asked her to wrap it up to go. Overall, very nicely prepared food, service a little flighty. We did not want to make a fuss about the wrong vintage issue, but I think she should have had the manager come over to address the wine switch out or at least the server could have said when we ordered. "We are out of the 2011, is the 2013 acceptable?" Problem solved. I would eat here again, this was a minor issue to a very nice meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank happydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“taken eye off the ball”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

last year we visited this restaurant twice so it was on our agenda again for this years stay in Bradenton.
Table was pre booked in advance
we arrived and were seated in what I would call the visitors table - yes the small one squeezed in next to the front door
restaurant was not full so we were surprised at the service - or lack of
Wings ordered as starters and in any decent restaurant you are offered wipes or lemon water as a dip to clean your hands neither were offered
we then had to enquire as to where our mains courses were to be advised that chef was unhappy with the fish we had ordered - nobody had told us this until we asked - and we could have free desert !
fish then arrived some 50 minutes after it was ordered
what arrived was a disappointment both in presentation and quality - I hate to see what the chef had condemned
both meals were eaten but by this time the sunshine had been taken off the visit
we then asked for the bill
no mention was made about free desert previously offered
we paid and left

as we left we both felt we had been treated as visitors and not regulars sadly after posting a previous positive report this time it was a big thumbs down

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dexmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent service and great food, very nice atmosphere in this cozy restaurant right near the water in Bradenton Beach. Live music outside, very fresh fish caught right there every day. Can't beat the freshness.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
318 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“I agree: Best Restaurant on the Island”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

From Anna Maria Island all the way down to Lido Key, Blue Marlin is the absolute best restaurant on the island (and probably the area). The food is so fresh and perfectly prepared. Our table was delayed, so they had us wait at the outside seating area and gave us a bottle of wine to share while we waited. How's that for customer service? They really value their customers. Everything was wonderful -- even the wine (we had a lovely bottle of pinot noir). But the star of the show was the fresh-caught tuna. Blue Marlin cut it unto steaks and served it mostly rare (lightly seared and barely cooked). Each piece was enormous, but was so good we all finished every bite! We also loved the Brussels sprouts hash. The service was also perfect and well-timed; we were able to go at our pace. Blue Marlin was a great experience. We will definitely return next time we're back on the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin Grill also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Blue Marlin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing