We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Tradewinds Resort in cottage number 19 for 4 nights and we had a blast. A friend of mine actually recommended the Tradewinds to us b/c they really enjoyed staying here and I am so glad that she did. We will definitely be back!!! It's a very relaxing place, the cottages are very cute and spacious. This is a great place to relax, hang by the pool, fish off the dock, hit the beach, walk to breakfast, etc. loved it!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 379 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at this great little resort.The cottages are vintage but well kept and decorated for a beach kind of place. Very clean inside and out with a great pool and just a short walk to the beach. We found good resturants and watering holes near by and only got in the car to depart. My kind of place.
it is also located in a bike friendly area if you were so inclined.Courteous drivers look out for bikers and pedestrians.
With an attentive staff and a great location we plan to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

we were there for 4 nights 5 days. The facility was a series of connected 2 room apartments- bed and combo living and kitchen. It's an older facility but well maintained and very clean.
What we loved was the walking distance to Bridge St and the free island trolley just across the street from the entrance.
The beach is right across the street (the drawback is you have to cross the street and there is no crosswalk) but people on the island are friendly enough to stop and let you cross. There are towels, beach umbrellas and lounge chairs available to all. Our unit had a main AC unit and a second one in the bedroom area.

Room Tip: If making reservation, ask for the units at the end near the pool as the front units are on a busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank here_and_there_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and it was great. The small apartment was clean parking right outside your door. The beach wasn't inconvenient, next door and across the street. Pick up umbrellas and towels outside the check in area and plenty of lounge chairs on the beach. Location was great and the staff super friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoAndoverMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed the cute little cottage we stayed in, very nicely decorated and well equipped if you wanted to cook for yourselves.Convenient, quiet location on a tropical looking "street." Very picturesque resort, nothing fancy, but that's just our style. We loved the island feel away from the commercialized high rises found on other beaches. You do have to cross the street to get to the beach, but just a short walk and the resort provided towel and umbrellas, with plenty of chairs right on the beach. The pool looked great; we didn't stay long enough to try it out but kids there seemed to enjoy it. Neat that the resort rests between the bay and the beach. Sunrises and sunsets within a few steps from your door. We would definitely consider staying here again. Use the trolley to check out the island. It's free and fairly convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaimee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Between two medium rise complexes is a quiet, palm lined "street." On each side of this street are duplex and triplex one bedroom apartments. Between the buildings are arbors covered with flowering vines that cover picnic tables and grills. The apartments are cozy and well decorated.
No dishwasher, if that makes a difference. Nice pier onto the bay and nice heated pool. Beach across main road is shared with another complex, it is quite nice and not overly crowded. The use of washer and dryers for cleaning clothes is free, provide your own detergent. I would have rated this property excellent except for two things: the Wi-Fi was unreliable (in our unit, #18) and smoking was allowed on the shared porches of the buildings. Our neighbors smoked constantly so we were basically unable to enjoy the porch. Location is good at the southern end of the
island. Some units are pet friendly, but one can specify a non pet unit if available. We will not return until the porch smoking policy is unchanged and the Wi-Fi is fixed. Too bad, we really liked this place otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask for an end unit and if you do not have a pet ask for one of the pet free units. One might also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank faulkner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Tradewinds on AMI for 2 nights this past week. We wanted a true 'Island' experience and we felt the Tradewinds gave us just that. Check in was quick and the gentleman checking us in was a hoot, all while giving us the essential information of the resort. The resort is basically two rows of duplex/triplex buildings facing each other with a lane and parking in between. Grounds are very pretty. Parking was ample and it was SO nice to just back up right by our villa to unload/load our stuff. The villa itself was clean (albeit on the small side and a tad worn but by no means shot) and contained a small kitchen with essentials that one might need for a multi night stay. The king bed was comfortable. The bathroom is small and the showerhead and pressure was average at best. Our 3 year old had to use the couch bed and while it was ok for a lightweight like her, it would be very uncomfortable for an adult with bars and springs easily felt. We did not use the pool due to rainstorms and cooler weather at the time we were there, but it looked inviting. We did like walking out on the resort's dock and Gulf beach access is pretty close and easily walk-able.

The resort was priced at $200/nt when we stayed there, which is high end but not unlike any other decent resort you would find on AMI.

So all in all, this is a pretty good place and a quintessential old fashioned island resort experience. If you want a Hilton or Marriott beach-side, choose another island you wont find them on AMI. Choose the Tradewinds for a resort that fits its locale.

Room Tip: I would choose a North side villa or one of the units facing either the bay or the Gulf Beach. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdvoChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.1 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.2 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range: $161 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing