We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tradewinds ticks most boxes on AMI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tradewinds ticks most boxes on AMI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Tradewinds on AMI for 2 nights this past week. We wanted a true 'Island' experience and we felt the Tradewinds gave us just that. Check in was quick and the gentleman checking us in was a hoot, all while giving us the essential information of the resort. The resort is basically two rows of duplex/triplex buildings facing each other with a lane and parking in between. Grounds are very pretty. Parking was ample and it was SO nice to just back up right by our villa to unload/load our stuff. The villa itself was clean (albeit on the small side and a tad worn but by no means shot) and contained a small kitchen with essentials that one might need for a multi night stay. The king bed was comfortable. The bathroom is small and the showerhead and pressure was average at best. Our 3 year old had to use the couch bed and while it was ok for a lightweight like her, it would be very uncomfortable for an adult with bars and springs easily felt. We did not use the pool due to rainstorms and cooler weather at the time we were there, but it looked inviting. We did like walking out on the resort's dock and Gulf beach access is pretty close and easily walk-able.

The resort was priced at $200/nt when we stayed there, which is high end but not unlike any other decent resort you would find on AMI.

So all in all, this is a pretty good place and a quintessential old fashioned island resort experience. If you want a Hilton or Marriott beach-side, choose another island you wont find them on AMI. Choose the Tradewinds for a resort that fits its locale.

Room Tip: I would choose a North side villa or one of the units facing either the bay or the Gulf Beach. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvoChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    60
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
128
167
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

First, don't let the photos fool you. There are no "separate little cottages" as shown on the website.
All are duplex or triplex, so less private, and ours had no cute little porch, just a cement stoop.
We had a lovely German couple sharing our duplex with an infant. Unfortunately, we could easily hear the child's cries. Interiors clean, but nothing special. I did have to deal with some ants.
Our "King" bed was just two twins pushed together which the linens could not properly make comfortable. This is just another "old Florida" hotel, and that is what you should expect when you arrive.
But the location was good. The closest beach access did not belong to the hotel, so you have to walk an extra block to cross the dune and get a lounge chair from their sister hotel, the Tortuga Inn. None are provided by the Tradewinds.
We will not go back as we did not find it to be a value or a good fit for us.

Room Tip: If you do book here, get a room on the North Side. Newer and brighter. Avoid # 7 - faces the dumpste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amm4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first trip to the gulf side of Florida, and loved it. Tradewinds resort was just what we were looking for - quaint and laidback. Everyone was so friendly. Good restaurants are near -by and a beautiful sunset is just across the street. The staff is very helpful. We already reserved the same cottage for next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown,tn
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

These picturesque cottages have flowers and greenery on and around them. Most of them face each other across a lane that runs from the gulf to the bay. It's very handy parking your car right next to the door of your cottage. It was cool when we were there, so we used the heat, which worked well. There is a nice ceiling fan over the bed. I found the mattress and bedding comfortable. The closet was large and convenient. There is good water pressure in the shower, but you will run out of hot water if you linger too long in there. There is no TV in the bedroom, but there is one in the sitting room. The little kitchen has everything you need. Internet use and telephone calls (including long-distance) are free. The cottage was very clean. There is a nice pool and a pier. I'd like to stay at Tradewinds again.

Room Tip: Cottages 21, 22 and 23 face the bay. 23 is a bigger 2-bedroom unit. 35 is also a 2 bedroom unit, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The cottages at Tradewinds are clean, well-stocked, and convenient. There is a wonderful pool, a fishing pier, access to the Gulf and free trolleys, great restaurants and shopping within walking distance and a friendly, helpful staff. What more could you want?

We have been coming here for years and have tried other places but none can beat this gem.

Eileen and Lynn

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are larger - more closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dalhousie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

i am actually reluctant to tell you how much i enjoyed my stay at tradewinds resort. it is exceptional. the staff, the location... i am hoping to make this my forever vacation spot. but please, don't tell anyone!

Room Tip: laid back, charming, old florida
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so the cottages are not the most modern, but, they are very tidy, pleasant places. The resort is a private street between the ocean and the inland waterway. The staff are very friendly, knowledgable and willing to help in any way. There is an on site laundry which is free for residents (including the driers). Because its a private street with cottages either side people meet and talk to each other. All in all an excellent holiday stay on Anna Maria island.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#6 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.6 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Property: Tradewinds Beach Resort
Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2311
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing