We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....no luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

First, don't let the photos fool you. There are no "separate little cottages" as shown on the website.
All are duplex or triplex, so less private, and ours had no cute little porch, just a cement stoop.
We had a lovely German couple sharing our duplex with an infant. Unfortunately, we could easily hear the child's cries. Interiors clean, but nothing special. I did have to deal with some ants.
Our "King" bed was just two twins pushed together which the linens could not properly make comfortable. This is just another "old Florida" hotel, and that is what you should expect when you arrive.
But the location was good. The closest beach access did not belong to the hotel, so you have to walk an extra block to cross the dune and get a lounge chair from their sister hotel, the Tortuga Inn. None are provided by the Tradewinds.
We will not go back as we did not find it to be a value or a good fit for us.

Room Tip: If you do book here, get a room on the North Side. Newer and brighter. Avoid # 7 - faces the dumpste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amm4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 380 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first trip to the gulf side of Florida, and loved it. Tradewinds resort was just what we were looking for - quaint and laidback. Everyone was so friendly. Good restaurants are near -by and a beautiful sunset is just across the street. The staff is very helpful. We already reserved the same cottage for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

These picturesque cottages have flowers and greenery on and around them. Most of them face each other across a lane that runs from the gulf to the bay. It's very handy parking your car right next to the door of your cottage. It was cool when we were there, so we used the heat, which worked well. There is a nice ceiling fan over the bed. I found the mattress and bedding comfortable. The closet was large and convenient. There is good water pressure in the shower, but you will run out of hot water if you linger too long in there. There is no TV in the bedroom, but there is one in the sitting room. The little kitchen has everything you need. Internet use and telephone calls (including long-distance) are free. The cottage was very clean. There is a nice pool and a pier. I'd like to stay at Tradewinds again.

Room Tip: Cottages 21, 22 and 23 face the bay. 23 is a bigger 2-bedroom unit. 35 is also a 2 bedroom unit, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannyrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The cottages at Tradewinds are clean, well-stocked, and convenient. There is a wonderful pool, a fishing pier, access to the Gulf and free trolleys, great restaurants and shopping within walking distance and a friendly, helpful staff. What more could you want?

We have been coming here for years and have tried other places but none can beat this gem.

Eileen and Lynn

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are larger - more closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

i am actually reluctant to tell you how much i enjoyed my stay at tradewinds resort. it is exceptional. the staff, the location... i am hoping to make this my forever vacation spot. but please, don't tell anyone!

Room Tip: laid back, charming, old florida
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Ok, so the cottages are not the most modern, but, they are very tidy, pleasant places. The resort is a private street between the ocean and the inland waterway. The staff are very friendly, knowledgable and willing to help in any way. There is an on site laundry which is free for residents (including the driers). Because its a private street with cottages either side people meet and talk to each other. All in all an excellent holiday stay on Anna Maria island.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Have stayed here many, many years. The Tradewinds is "old Florida" to us. You won't find high rises anywhere on AMI. The island is amazing but this resort is in such a good location. We like walking (or you can take the free trolley) to historic Bridge Street for shopping, putt putt, breakfast on the bay at Rotten Ralphs, cocktails on the bay at the Bridge Tender, and eating at many delicious restaurants. It is probably a mile or less walk. The trolley stops are right at this hotel and the trolley is free and very pleasant to use. Their pool is right on the bay (great view!) and always heated, clean and very quiet. Tends to be an older, quiet crowd that cruise this island and use this resort. This resort is small enough that you can meet your neighbors and we have always had such a pleasant experience here. They provide free towels for the pool and beach, free chairs and umbrellas for the beach. You can rent bikes and have them delivered to you. Although, we prefer to ride bikes about 10 minutes away on the northern end of the island and stay on the residential streets enjoying all the lovely quaint cottages and homes. After doing more shopping on Pine Street, that is, and having a beer on the Pier. Take in a quick bite at Jane E's and enjoy a great "old Florida" shopping experience. Be sure to take a Segway tour while you are on AMI. Visit the Historical Museum. Catch a beautiful sunset with the sun falling into the ocean every night where people applaud and play guitar. Can't go wrong with this resort. Across the street is a brand new beach entrance just built that is beautiful. Enjoy a crepe breakfast at their La Petit Cafe at the Tortuga Inn also next door. I will go back again and again.

Room Tip: North cottages have king beds or can have two twins in most cases. A bit larger rooms than the sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckeyes46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.1 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.2 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bungalow Beach Resort
Bungalow Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Anna Maria
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range: $164 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing