We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!”
Review of Segs by the Sea

Segs by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 17 Tours in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Segs by the Sea offers a variety of beautiful scenic Segway tours throughout Anna Maria Island, Longboat Key, and Cortez, Florida. Segways are also available for self guided rentals. Training and helmets provided. Segs by the Sea also offers bikes, electric bikes, scooters kayaks, stand up paddle boards and golf carts for tours and rentals as well. Jetskis, boat rentals and tours, and parasailing can also be reserved at Segs by the Sea, Bradenton Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We visited Anna Maria Island as part of my moms 75th birthday celebration. Our guide was very helpful in getting mom comfortable and confident before setting out in the ride. We went all along the beach on a shady trail and saw many beautiful sights. It was a great tour and one we will remember always. Thanks for the fun time!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rsiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    18
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW !!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

took the 1 hour tour down the beach. its so easy and fun to use, i could have gone for hours. Jeff and Julie(owners) were very easy going and friendly. They made it easy to relax and enjoy the tour. there were 7 people on the tour, 4 seniors, a couple from Europe and myself, all had fun and found the segway very easy to use. Great tour, saw some manatees from the beach and peacocks,well done. I will definitely do this again!!!
around US$40 for one hour well worth it. they also do rentals of bikes too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank manlow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun, but kinda tiring.”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We recently took the 90 min. tour with Joey as our guide. He was awesome - patient, safety oriented, and made a real effort to spend a bit of time with each guest. The Segways are interesting - much easier and more intuitive to operate than you might expect, but surprisingly tiring. Several of us had aching feet by the end of the tour ( and we all had comfortable running shoes on). It was probably just us being tense, but it became really quite uncomfortable.
The tour itself was interesting. We didn't really see anything new or learn much in the way of "Anna Maria Island Secrets", but it was still an interesting and fun experience. We were glad we did it, but probably wouldn't be in a hurry to do it again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rickv114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardeeville, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool!”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Our trip went well, with the opportunity to practice a bit in a parking lot before heading out. The portion of the tour by the beach was best, as the views were awesome. Although zipping along in a residential area isn't as fun, it was nice to be in an area without much traffic.

Our guide was kind and helpful. She aimed for safety first.

We enjoyed the Segways and would like to use them again when we visit other areas.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank schrades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great experience, fantastic tour, terrific instruction”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Wow! This was a great experience. On a beautiful sunny Sunday we took a 90 minute tour of Anna Maria Island with our wonderful guide, Jennifer. She demonstrated and thoroughly instructed us before our departure. We were a small group of 5 (not including Jennifer) so our experience was very personal. We stopped for photo ops and, (thankfully), much of the tour was under cool shade and breezing along on the Segway made it even more comfortable. I would highly recommend this tour to both locals and tourists. The Segway is a fun and easy method of transportation. It can be mastered in a few minutes by kids and seniors and anyone in between. It's a fantastic way to get to know AMI up close and personal.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank barbsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segbythesea, Manager at Segs by the Sea, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you so much! We truly appreciate each of our customers and we're so glad that you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segs by the Sea also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Segs by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing