We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Trip”

Anna Maria Sailing Adventures
Ranked #3 of 16 Tours in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a great trip out with Octavio. The weather didn't cooperate as much as we would have hoped, but Octavio more than made up for it with his carefree, fun attitude...(and rum). He's full of great jokes and stories that will keep you entertained throughout the trip. Once you get out into the gulf you have a beautiful view of the coast and you can pretty much do whatever you want. If you want to just relax in the sun and be left alone you can, but I recommend staying at the front with the captain. My grandparents came along and it was by far my Grandpa's favorite part of the entire vacation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    10
    3
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sailing with Captain Octavio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great time! Would highly recommend sailing on the Island of Anna Marie with Captain Octavio. He's very laid back, and full of humorous jokes and makes the 3 hour trip totally relaxing! You will not be disappointed with this trip. We had an awesome time and would do it again in a heartbeat! It really was the highlight of our visit to the beautiful island!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank corpstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from our sunset cruise on Anna Maria Island Sailing Adventures. What a great time. This came recommended by a friend and it met all expectations. Four of us on the Gulf for 3 hours, beautiful sunset and great time with Captain Octaviano..He made us feel welcome and at home. We laughed and laughed. I would highly recommend this..great value!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank awposey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing day out...so good we did it twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have 2 young kids and was Initially sceptical that a long afternoon on a sail boat would be a great idea...but it turned out to be uttlerly unforgetable and a really amazing afternoon spent with the incomparable Captain Octavio.

We chose to sail around AMI bay and a few of the local Quays before, fuelled by a few of Octavio's "generous" Bacardi and cokes, we returned to one of the local sandbars where Octavio joined us all in jumping off the boat and having a great time including swimming onto the Sandbar to look for hermit crabs and alike.

Octavio is just so friendly whilst always keeping an eye on your safety (quietly watchful) and made us all feel at home. He was particularly amazing with our kids who still talk about him and the day. He let them sail the boat, drink about a gallon of coke and was jumping off with them into the sea before giving away a frog pillow my daughter had fallen in love with. In the end, for no extra charge on top of the initially very reasonable fee, we ended up staying for a few extra hours just soaking up the sun and jumping into the sea.

We had such a brilliant and relaxed time that in the end we simply had to go back for a second trip which more than lived up to expectations and didnt disappoint. I cannot recommend this highly enough. Amazing location, wonderful company and simply wonderful memories.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a blast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had scheduled a trip for the sunset cruise but there was a storm coming so the captain cancelled. He said the next day was clear so he would take us then and for half of the price for the inconvenience. It wasn't his fault the weather was bad but he felt bad for changing the date. That was really nice of him though. We ended up going in the morning and it started out great until my son got sea sick. Captain Octavio was very considerate of him and did what he could to make him feel better. While I wasn't feeling well myself, my boyfriend was enjoying himself very much chatting with the captain. We will be going back and highly recommend anybody visiting the island to visit Octavio! He is a laid back cool guy that will do his best to make you comfortable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gephsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna Maria Sailing Adventures also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Anna Maria Sailing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing