We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where do I start?!!”

Anna Maria Sailing Adventures
Ranked #3 of 16 Tours in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Where do I start?!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was the highlight of our whole vacation! Capt. Octavio was so funny, charming and so darn smart! This guy has a HUGE personality! We are in our 60's but we can see how he could also easily entertain any young couple. He's very knowledgable about sailing, history, local life, etc. We spent three hours with him and could have easily spent three more days. We had great weather, calm seas, drifted along, talking, laughing and having a great time. The little hole in the wall seafood place he suggested was the bomb! (Starfish). If you are in the area, do not miss sailing with Octavio. We want to adopt him into our family! This was an adventure that we will always remember. Thanks so much, Octavio. We love you!! Vince and Linda - I'll add photos later.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank QB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    10
    3
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
des moines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience in the open ocean!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

At a moments notice we called Anna Maira sailing to see if we could go out in the morning on their 1030 expedition and to our surprise it was available. The 34 ft sailboat was absolutely amazing, nothing extravagant, but awesome to experience the ocean on. We brought our three young children (ages 2 to 8) and Captain Octavio excitedly and happily welcomed everyone aboard. The captain and his wife were absolutely wonderful and personable. They enjoyed having the children aboard and interacted with them for the entire voyage. We were offered beer water or soda to drink during our excursion and it was wonderful to sit back, relax and enjoy the wide open ocean with a drink in hand. We saw a few dolphins which the kids absolutely loved. For three hours it is truly one of the best entertainment bangs for the buck. Would love to make it an annual event!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank Van S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just what I wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

When you sail on Anna Maria Sailing, you get the real thing. A real working sailboat, as many drinks as you want, and a captain who enjoys his job. This is not a martini-with-your-pinky-out kind of sailing. It’s a flip-flop-if-shoes-at-all kind of experience. No pretense, just the love of a boat and the wind. Originally from Cuba, Capt. Octavio Utrera has been running Anna Maria Sailing for four years. He is quick with a joke, enjoys teasing, and has a knack for reading what his customers want. I am a solo traveler and always looking for experiences that are unique and not the typical tourist trap. That's what you get with Anna Maria Sailing. Capt. Octavio is a confident sailor - you feel that and it allows you to sit back and enjoy. He is also very generous with the helm - will offer guidance to anyone who wants to learn. I took the sunset sailing - the seas were significant, the sky beautiful, and for $40 bucks - I made a memory. Can you ask for more? If you are looking for a posh experience - keep looking. But if you love the water, want to be part of the experience and take your shoes off - sail with Anna Maria Sailing Adventures.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
15 Thank AmandaEsteroFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow -- what a view!`”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The parasailing group at the bridge going in or out of Anna Maria Island are great. They take you up, up, up, and go around the island. Very smooth ride. We are heavy folks, but they had no problem getting us in the air.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful and relaxing day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I heard about Anna Maria Sailing online and after hearing the price we coudln't resist. We went on the 10am boat road and it was amazing- such a relaxing trip- saw tons of dolphins, jumped off the boat to cool down half way, and enjoyed a few beers and good music. The captain was so funny, helpful and respectful (as our tops both fell off when we jumped in!)- I would highly recommend this trip and can't wait to return to Anna Maria Island so I can go again!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank AngMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna Maria Sailing Adventures also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Anna Maria Sailing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing