We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”
Review of Sharky's Seagrill

Sharky's Seagrill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 26th St.
Transit: Anna Maria trolley service (free)
Description: Landmark Eatery est.1998- - Enjoy Freshest Seafood and Gourmet Specialties -Well stocked Bar, Imported Beers and Fine Wines -Upscale casual setting with emphases on Tasteful Cuisine and Caring Hospitality-It has been said that restaurant is a labor of love and it has been ours for nearly three decades-Award Wining Chef Anton & Wife Marie - Welcome You. Join us for an exceptional value of Fine fare and live entertainment for a memorable experience
Charleston, WV
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to Sharkey's after a long day of house hunting and shopping, and were looking for a nice place close to our hotel. First, I think perhaps we expected more due to some of the reviews on Tripadvisor. Also, we may have just picked a bad night, namely Friday. Maybe the chef was off or not up to par that evening. Or perhaps our initial impression was skewed due to the lack of patrons present. Whatever the reason, Sharkey's was not very good. (Or horrible either, to be fair.)
My salad was no better than what one would get at a Wendy's. We ordered what the waitress assured us was fresh fish. It did taste fresh! The vegetables were overcooked. The service, however, was good, probably because there were few other diners. They did have an older chap playing guitar who was pretty good. There were some older folks enjoying listening to him and having drinks. Like I said, perhaps we just picked the wrong night, But Mary's comment as we left summed up our impression of Sharkey's, "It's like a pick-up place for the retired singles in the area."

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asiago, Manager at Sharky's Seagrill, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting Sharky's .. Yes your impression was skewed or Your mindset was screwed up The patrons where few because it was early the Fish was fresh because is all ways fresh the service was good because is all ways good and a simple spring mix salad is all ways free with your meal and it is the best priced menu for what You get any where in the area.
Sharkys cateres to Families and Travelers to Movie stars and Music stars Politicians and Ministers it it was never a" pick-up joint " We are proud of Our Reputation and Standards
You got it Wrong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    132
    63
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overprices and under delivered! Way to expensive for what you receive, however the service was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcanum, OH
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Meh....not worth the money”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was not impressed with Sharky's. The food was average, but the price was high. The steak was dry, and the service was nothing out of the ordinary. It gave me the impression that maybe 20 or 30 years ago this would have been a high-class restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StickerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great place to grab some good food and a few drinks on the beach. The owners are such a nice couple. We are usually here for every New Year's Eve dinner. The grouper Oscar is wonderful. Easy to find, good prices and a nice, quaint atmosphere. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good service and great food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

As previous reviews have mentioned, we also had never considered eating here as it didn't appear to be a family friendly looking place, more a guy's only bar. Not sure why we thought that. Anyhow, after reading the recent reviews, six of us went here for dinner last night and had a really good experience. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We thought the cost was reasonable too. Would recommend to friends and eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busymakingwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharky's Seagrill also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sharky's Seagrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing