We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry we ever came back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sorry we ever came back!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I had stayed at Dream Inn once in 2011, & felt the place was o.k. For the low price, you forfeit the luxuries and cleanliness of other places, but still enjoy being right on the beach.

A year later, we decided to come back & bring some extended family including my father who is suffering from diabetes and stage four cancer, who needed to “get away” for a bit. In the end, the place had gone so far downhill, we all wished we’d never come at all.

We read another review afterwards that mentions the same large drain hole that our room had (room 108). It’s in the middle of the floor next to the bed covered with the thin room carpeting. Not sure how many rooms have this. Anyway, my dad tripped and fell on this in the middle of the second night, hurting himself and skinning his knee.

We reported the incident to Alisa (the manager) so they would hopefully fix it for future occupants, but unfortunately for Dad, after the fall he found it too difficult to walk up & downstairs, so he remained in the room for the rest of the stay, looking at the beach from the window.

To add insult to injury….

We thought the owners or management might offer to compensate our bill a little for our misery due to the hazards in their room, but, even after showing Alisa pictures of the hole and Dad’s knee, (see link below) we waited a month for a response. She refused to give us the owners contact info, and after numerous calls and messages, we got nowhere. In the end, all Alisa would offer was an apology and 20% discount off our NEXT stay. Really? This is similar to the discounts they already offer on their Facebook page. So basically it was, “we got your money, and your problem is not our problem.”

Honestly, the place needs a lot of repair, and a lot more attention to cleanliness. But their outrageous indifference to paying customers is really the most intolerable part, and is the main reason we will never return and that we are posting this review.

Overall, the disappointments of this place were:

1. Wi-Fi does not work in the room. You have to be around the pool area to get a steady connection.
2. Towels – you should bring your own. The management provides very few.
3. Kitchen appliances and cookware are old and dirty. Fortunately, we remembered to bring our own pans
4. Apartment was not very clean, and honestly my husband and I were a little embarrassed in front of my parents and sister that we’d brought them here.
5. Bathroom wall tiles falling out everywhere, even large holes in the drywall where moisture had caused rot. I couldn’t help but to imagine what might be crawling in and out while we slept.
6. Shoddy, poorly executed renovations/construction. As I mentioned above, there is the covered hole in the floor next to the bed. This was probably the old sewage line connection that was moved about 2’ away into the adjacent wall. I know it’s there now because at night when you’re trying to sleep, you can hear (very clearly) the flushing toilet water from the upstairs apartment rushing down that wall beside you. It’s a very lovely noise, and even better when the upstairs occupants need to make several flushes to get it all down!

It’s a shame that so many seem unaware that one of the key determinants to success or failure of a business is customer satisfaction.

If you want to see the photos, I put them here:
http://s1157.beta.photobucket.com/user/dethan71/library/Dream%20Inn

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gabriela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    35
    26
    11
    21
See reviews for
70
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Yes, we see alot of different comments and the hotel owner is working on restoring to a really nice resort. We stayed in room 206 which was very nice. Beautiful view of Beach that was very close. Two King Beds very comfortable. Nice Kitchen with utensils (no oven) All staff was very nice and helpful took time to talk with you and give you lots of information about the island or help with anything you needed. The breeze way that went from pool to beach was fantastic, it had two gas grills and lots of tables so you had the best of both the beach & pool view. We grilled steaks for our sons birthday and all ate dinner down there it was breezy and cool also protected from any rain. Nice and shaded. Convenient to a Publix and Walgreens just down road. Daily maid service would have been nice but it was not that big of deal to trade towels and take out my own trash for the value we recived on our week long stay. They also have nice loung chairs you can pull right down to the beach and you can get a beach umbrella at office to use also. Trolley stop is right out front and you can ride if for free all day long to go other places. "Thank you Alisa for all you great customer service and hope to see you again next year" The Cress's

Room Tip: If possible look at rooms first if not we can vouch for room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Overall the stay was great. There were 11 of us that stayed in two rooms (211 and 204) both rooms were very clean upon arrival with nothing broken in the room (another reviewer mentioned broken things) beds and floors clean, pool area clean and beach front was very nice. Nice marble looking tops on the kitchen and bathroom counters. Multiple closets and nice flat screen tvs. beds were pretty comfy as well. 204 was a very nice room and I would recommend it. Room looked recently updated and had two bathrooms and 2 beds with a pullout couch.

I did not like that someone was only onsite from 930-6pm. I would say that is the biggest flaw of the place. If you needed towels or were locked out of your room or needed anything, there was no one onsite out of those times to help you out. We did not have any problems personally but from someone who works at a hotel, i think staff 24/7 is important.

I also did not like that there were not maids to clean and change towels every day. i guess its more like a condo than a hotel/Inn. There is a 50 dollar cleaning fee for each room and I think that bc of that, there should be cleaning every day and you shouldnt have to take your own garbage out.

The location on the island is great as it is right next to the trolley stop. There is a convenient store across the street which we used a lot.

Room Tip: Again, 204 is highly recommended...great view, updated, two bathrooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location of this inn was marvelous. We were there during Tropical Storm Debby, and it was crazy weather. We still had a good time though. Our room was #104. It was very clean, but it wasn't all shiny new by any means. The room had 2 king size beds, and they were very comfortable. It also had 2 bathrooms which was great feature! I prefer a balcony you can actually sit on, but it was a lovely view with the sliding glass door open. It did tend to get a little foggy, but that might have been from the exceptional wind and spray from the VERY near ocean waves. The microwave heated well, but the digital number display wasn't working. You can get towels exchanged daily. There are plenty of beach chairs to use. The pool was pleasantly located. You could enjoy the sun going down from the patio while keeping an eye on your children at the pool. I really like the layout of this place. It was very nearly empty while we were there, probably because of the storm. On our first night there seemed to be a lot of partying going on at the pool until way late, but that group wasn't there after the first night. From then on it seemed to be couples and families, no rowdy partying whatsoever, but that's probably just a matter of luck. The office is closed after 6:00, and there are numbers on the door to call if you need something. We did help a family whose key wouldn't work by letting them use our cell to call. They had to wait quite a bit to get into their room. Our own experience here was quite good though, especially considering the size and cleanliness of our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyblueTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Well.... This was our first stay on Anna Maria island. When we arrived at the resort we were greeted by 25 loud, obnoxious, drunks who were not even staying at the condo. There was yelling and firecrackers until two i n the morning with no on site staff to regulate to 10 closing hour of the pool. The outside appearance is very dated and needs renovating along with the rooms. The one staff we saw was friendly and the rooms were clean. People from surrounding condos and street walkers came and went as they pleased, using the pool and condo beach chairs. It was not as private as we were led to believe. Just as a heads up... Rooms not equipped with iron but may check one out at front desk, you can ask front desk for ice, phone may not work in room. Front desk manager works limited hours and you're lucky to catch her. Needless to say this is NO premier gulf front resort as they advertise. We will not be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beachbum198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bradenton Beach hotels

Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the pictures and the fact that it was a hotel. As a hotel I expected maid service and all of the normal amenities. There was NO maid service. The room is clean(?) when you check in and they clean it when you leave. Waling around the carpeted floor in white socks resulted in black bottoms in no time! If you want clean towels you have to go get them yourself. There was no telephone in the room, no hair dryer, no iron or ironing board, etc. And to top it all off ther is a $50 fee above the stated room price for miscellaneous - I guess this is to cover stealing and\or damage - but there was nothing to steal and the room was not in great shape to begin with! There is even an extra charge if you don't take your own trash to the dumpster!!!
The front desk closes at 5 or 6 each evening so on 2 of the 3 nights we were there someone came and unlocked the room and left the door open. The first night I got out of the shower to find the room door open. The third night the door was apparently left open for 4 or 5 hours before we returned around 10 PM. All of that time all of our stuff was in an unlocked room!
The rooms look out over a courtyard with the pool where loud parties seem to be held most nights. Don't even think about sleeping before midnight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is now definitely the Nightmare Inn. I have attached photos of the many things that were wrong such as dirty floors, worn out furniture, dirty/fogged windows, broken tiles and rusty sharp metal in shower window, shower window held closed with clothes hangar, curtains held back from A/C unit with clothes hangar, no handle on refrigerator, insufficient cookware/dishes for the size of the unit and a filthy stairwell. All this and more for $200+ a night. However, the view and location is wonderful. We have been staying at this place for a number of years and watched it degrade from a grand and great value establishment to a dirty, very poorly run and maintained place.
Its really too bad as the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tahotart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.2 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.3 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.2 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#1 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Island Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Dream Inn

Property: Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Address: 2502 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Maria Island Dream Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront property on beautiful Anna Maria Island - Sunsets, Surf and Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Anna Maria Island Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Dream Hotel Bradenton Beach
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing