We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sand Pebble--A true island getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anna Maria Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Sand Pebble--A true island getaway!”
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Leave your hectic, complicated, pretentious world behind at the Sand Pebble Inn on Anna Maria Island, FL. Here, you will find the beautiful simple life away from it all. Many rooms are just steps away from the georgeous, unpopulated white sand beach. The clear-blue, crystalized ocean beckons Sand Pebble guests lounging on chaises or under tiki huts.

Beach Unit #7 is spacious, with a full kitchen, washer/dryer and One and a half baths. A nice glimpse of the ocean can be found in the upstairs bedroom. The tile floors and contemporary style of the living room provide an upbeat and sophisticated island feel. The unit's large front patio is welcoming, open, useful. The unit is a veritable roomy, livable apartment.

Owner/manager, Danny, "Court", is extremely friendly and accomodating.

Though the aura is seclusion, The Sand Pebble is within walking distance of all amenities, including the fantastic "Mr. Bones" BBQ restaurant just up the street. This is a lively place that serves a variety of ethnic ribs as well as great Indian and Mexican food!

We would return to the Sand Pebble!

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Need more frequent housekeeping
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    28
    13
    12
    4
See reviews for
71
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2008

The location is great! We stayed ground level right on the beach. The apartment was updated with new appliances, tile, furniture and bedding.

The biggest problem was the sand. Normally, when you pay to stay somewhere, someone will come around and tend the room once a day: bring fresh towels, SWEEP the floors, etc. By the time we left (we stayed four days) it was like a sandbox. There was an envelope on the counter for "housekeeping tips." My tip: do something!"

Another problem: they shut the water off while my brother-in-law was in the shower. No one came to tell us. They said it would take ten minutes when we went and asked. More like an hour.

Outside, between the two units, there is a shower (worthless) and a large garbage can. This garbage can was overflowing upon our arrival (my husband had to carry it to the dumpster again after this). The shower is there to keep some of the sand out of the rooms, but if the patio is not swept up, you track wet sand instead of dry, actually making it worse.

The office sign said closed everytime I went to tell them about something, except about the water. Aside from all of these negatives, the beach was beautiful and we all had a blast. I would probably stay here again because of the location. I'll just be better prepared and bring a vaccuum.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydmom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

My family has just returned from a great week on Bradenton Beach. This was our first visit to Anna Maria Island and we were pleased with our choice. We were in unit #1 at the Sand Pebble. This is the upstairs unit. This condo is right on the beach. The unit was very comfortable and well furnished. Earlier reviews of this hotel complained about leaks and spartan furnishings, but we did just fine. The kitchen is not gourmet-chef ready, but was sufficient. Besides - who wants to cook on vacation! I wouldn't plan to have an adult sleep on the fold out all week, it is not comfortable. The new web site gives good pictures of the unit.


As for the island, we found food to be in the expensive range. The local Publix is well stocked, but crowded. Restaurants we tried included the Sunhouse (expensive but good food), Shell ( similar to Red Lobster - great service), Sharky's - (pub like atmosphere OK food) - Rotten Ralph's (very basic and overrated) - Hurricane Hank's (bar food, crowded atmosphere.)

One note - we booked a boat tour with Captain Kim and she was a no show. This messed up one day of the trip. I have not heard why she didn't show up and she didn't return my phone calls.

I have to say overall this is a charming place. Everyone we asked for assistance was helpful. I was impressed by how tolerant the locals were of all of us tourists descending on their little piece of heaven! Thanks for sharing!

  • Liked — Right on the beach/ could lie on the beach and come up to room easily as needed.
  • Disliked — Traffic noise from road in front..
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MarshfieldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

This area is terrific. We spent 3 nights here, and were overall very happy with everything. Since we were there mid-week, we had the luxury of changing rooms, and did. The on-site manager was cheerful and helpful. The place we were upgraded to had lots of space on two levels, and had a view from the bedroom onto the beach. There was a full kitchen, living room with color/cable tv, and full bath with a washer and barely functioning dryer- not a major problem. Upstairs had a queensize bedroom with a tiny ensuite half bath- saved going downstairs in the night- and a smaller tv. All the ammenities were there, but the downside was that so much of the furniture was literally falling apart! A leg came off the coffee table, another off the footstool for the chair, and the kitchen table and chairs were all wobbly. We were in the same building as the office, on the beach side of the road. We found our place to be very clean, so that was the main thing. The free trolley around the island is great, and the area has a real "beach community" feel. Plenty of restaurants to choose from.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a bit shabby
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myntrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2007

sand pebble had a beautiful view of the gulf, restaraunts and shops are all within walking distance. great key lime pie martini shooters at bridge town bar and grill,nice white sand , and a beautiful sunset. What else could anyone ask for.

kelly

  • Liked — the walk on directly to the beach and the scenic view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kellpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

When we entered, our first impression was that there was only one room with a sofa-bed, which we were not happy with. There was a fully-equipped kitchen area, dining table and chairs and assumed that this was it. Then we saw a door facing. Through there we found the bedroom and bathroom - so we were happier! Then, we went through the back door and found a gorgeous garden with a lovely swimming pool - we were extatic!! I said to my husband ' Go and book a second night!'
Our apartment was across the road from the beach, there were others, slightly dearer, actually on the beach.
We will definitely stay at Sand Pebble Beach Motel again.
Elsie Hodgkiss
Farnworth
BL4 7SS
England
ElsieEntwistle@hotmail.co.uk

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

sense of peace, safety, relaxation, home, are just a few words that come to mind when i think of the sand pebble. i am a florida native/ resident. when i get time away, with or without my 3 small children, there is no where else i will stay...I am vowed to the sand pebble. for me i truly enjoy the fact that sand pebble is a place i can visit by myself but it is also a place that i love and can sahre with my kids. needless to say, the beach is beautiful and we always love watching the sun set and the dolphins jumping, but it is more than that at the sand pebble. the customer service, the down home charm and hosipality are what keep me coming back time and time again!!!!!!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank ktlockard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
376 reviews
3.2 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 16 in Holmes Beach
286 reviews
1.0 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Inn

Property: Anna Maria Island Inn
Address: 2218 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Maria Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Island Inn is located in the heart of Anna Maria Island in the cozy community of Bradenton Beach. The Island spans 7 miles of uncrowded, white, sugar-sand beaches on the vibrant blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. From Anna Maria Island Inn’s private beach, you can watch the dolphins that sometimes come within inches of the shore, you can marvel at the pelicans' impressive diving ability, and you might even catch a glimpse of one of hundreds of baby sea turtle hatchlings emerging from their nests to start their long journey over the sand to the Gulf waters. Anna Maria Island Inn offers several different accommodation options to suit your needs. We offer 2 Bedroom, 1 Bedroom, Studio, and Efficiency apartments; both direct beachfront and poolside. All units are clean, continually updated, nicely maintained, and furnished in a beachy, causal style. Most units have full kitchens, washers & dryers, and private patios or balconies; one unit even has its very own private pool. Our tiki huts, beach loungers, bbq grills, swimming pool, and many other features provide for a wonderful beach vacation. Anna Maria Island Inn really does have something for everyone! We look forward to having you stay with us. We have welcomed guests from all over the United States and the world. Visitors find Anna Maria Island to be a safe, friendly destination, an idyllic island on which to have a truly relaxing vacation. Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of this friendly island, or visit various sites and attractions in the nearby Sarasota & Bradenton areas. This is an ideal base to jaunt to all the world-renowned Orlando area attractions, including Walt Disney World, just over 2 hours away; or to Tampa, including Busch Gardens, only 1 hour away by way of the stunning Skyway Bridge. Dining If you want to eat in your apartment, there are supermarkets nearby with fresh fruits, vegetables, salads, fresh meats and seafood at reasonable prices. If you prefer to eat out, you will find many different restaurants which serve everything from the typical American breakfast to delicious, locally caught seafood. There are casual restaurants as well as gourmet bistros, many just feet from the water's edge. Area Attractions • 2 hours from Orlando & The Magic Kingdom, SeaWorld, Epcot, Animal Kingdom, Universal Studios, Hollywood Studios, Discovery Cove, Legoland, as well as other area attractions. • 1 hour from Tampa & the million gallon Florida Aquarium, Sports Stadiums, the Busch Gardens 300 acre entertainment center with its spectacular rides - ranked one of the top wildlife centers in the world, LEGOLAND. • 30 minutes from St. Petersburg, home to the Salvador Dalí Museum, Morean Arts Center which includes a permanent Dale Chihuly collection, the historic Vinoy, the Museum of Fine Arts, the Florida Holocaust Museum, and Sunken Gardens • Myakka State Park has the world's largest airboat - see alligators, deer, wild hogs, armadillos and many other species of wildlife. • Marie Selby Botanical Gardens. See butterflies, hummingbirds and their world renowned orchid center. • Enjoy the museums, art galleries and the theaters of Sarasota. • Tour the islands by the Showboat paddle steamer, or rent a boat for the day and explore the waterways. • Visit the Pelican Man who saves and cares for hundreds of pelicans and stop at Mote Aquarium to see Florida sea life, sharks, many species of fish, turtles, and whales. • Experience Jungle Gardens which boasts lush areas of foliage which surround performing bird and reptile shows. Leisure activities nearby include, numerous watersports (shelling, para-sailing, jet & water skiing, fishing, boating, sailing, kayaking, diving, snorkeling, and the like), cycling, tennis, numerous gold courses, and many, many more… Or just laze on the beach and listen to the waves lapping on the sugar white sand, in this tropical paradise the choice is yours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anna Maria Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Hotel Bradenton Beach
Anna Maria Island Inn Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing