We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best homemade ice cream in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Eats and Sweets

Joe's Eats and Sweets
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: Making homemade ice cream since 1990. You will find the largest selection of flavors as will as the largest variety of items. Gluten free, sugar free, fat free, lactose free, homemade fudge, Jelly Bellys, chocolate bananas and cakes.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The best homemade ice cream in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Excellent homemade ice cream with quite a few flavors including key lime pie with graham cracker in the ice cream and carrot cake ice cream with carrot cake throughout. Also the usual ice cream flavors. As mentioned in other reviews, the inside is not well kept and I would suggest you take your ice cream outside - even across the street to the beach. Service can be slow when busy. We showed up at 9:15pm and we waited 35 minutes to get ice cream as the line had ~20 ahead of us. But the ice cream is delicious.

They do provide lactose free and sugar free options but one of our party (who is diabetic) had sugar free ice cream and the next day his sugar levels were quite high so be careful if you are sensitive. We discussed this with management but they didn't seem particularly concerned as they maintain the ice cream is fully sugar free. Just be careful if you are sensitive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wine_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    92
    49
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Finally...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Finally found a lactose free ice cream in AMI! The girls at the counter were knowledgeable and helpful with knowing which items were lactose free and even making sure that none of the scoops, spoons etc. touched anything with lactose. The place was kind of run down and dirty, but the ice cream hit the spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would visit again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Able to tell you everything they make it on site. So great for allergies. Lots of choices and options

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stopped with girls, paid with arm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The girls enjoyed what they ordered, which was a two scoop on a waffle cone and that came up to about $14. Just hard to believe they charge so much. Not sure if I would go back.

Helpful?
Thank wolfwatcher2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The ice cream was good, I'll admit, but the place is a dump. Bathrooms were disgusting. Old equipment sitting around with duct tape and blankets strew across and the patio could have used a serious wash and coat of paint. As I ate my sorbet I could only focus on telling myself that surely the kitchen was cleaner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank runerinrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Eats and Sweets also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Joe's Eats and Sweets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing