We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oy Vay Such a Deal”

Flakowitz of Boynton Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 319 Restaurants in Boynton Beach
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oy Vay Such a Deal”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you love New York Style Deli, this little gem is in South Florida, Do you remember the good old days of great Corn beef and even if you don't, You won't be disappointed, I ordered the matzo ball soup and Corn Beef on rye little on fatty side. WOW the best see my photos I highly recommended this place. On the way out David help me with very good service, I took out some Hamantash (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamantash) the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank partyspecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    185
    96
    55
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not our favorite”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have eaten here before. The service can be surly and it is usually a long wait for a table. I ordered a salad that was full of greens and little else. It was supposed to have nuts, mandarin oranges and garganzola cheese. It was a dinner sized salad and had almost none of the forementioned. My husband and mother both ordered the omelet dinner. The omelet was tasteless. This place gives large portions but very average to below average tasting food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You Don't Find Good Jewish Deli Anymore-NO”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great Jewish deli experience. Their brisket, corned beef, french fries, etc. were excellent. Very good service. There is nothing better than an overstuffed sandwich with a Dr. Brown's soda.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul33740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love those knishes :)”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

For a great deli experience visit Flakowitz. Definitely try the knishes which are exceptional. They are always crowded and that is a testiment to the food, bakery, and service. Eat well my friends...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JetsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
104 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I ate there 2 days ago. We know that their sandwiches are large, and we wanted to share a sandwich, which cost around $13, rather than having to take home 2 halfs of sandwiches. We were told that the additional cost to share one sandwich was around $6.00. I think that it is outrageous to charge that much for an empty plate. We were advised to order something small like a chicken soup for around $6.00 in order to avoid the sharing charge. So, we ordered the soup for my wife and still ended up taking home a half of a sandwich, and half a bowl of soup. Why should I have to pay around $6 in order to avoid having to take food home?

The sandwich was good, but not great. It contained a pile of meat (corned beef), but the meat was pretty dry. The cole slaw which accompanied the sandwich was very good. The fries, which were included, were also nice and crispy.

I guess that sharing charges are appropriate for certain upscale restaurants, but I dont thinkk they are appropriate in a deli where servings are notoriously large.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flakowitz of Boynton Restaurant also viewed

Boynton Beach, FL
 

Been to Flakowitz of Boynton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing