We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“InterCoastal Intermezzos”

Banana Boat Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Banana Boat Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 319 Restaurants in Boynton Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“InterCoastal Intermezzos”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Rescued by friends for a stay at their condo after a 5 day cruise, we were whisked north on A1A, left on Ocean Ave., across the "Fairy Tale" bridge, & a right at the bottom to the Banana Beach Restaurant. They did have free valet parking; tips were appreciated.
There was inside seating with floor-to-ceiling windows on three sides & hardwood floors. You could choose to sit outside on a deck under a yellow & white canvas awning looking out onto the Intercoastal to enjoy the sea gulls & pelicans,as well as the myriad of water craft. The bridge raised on the half hour & hour. Since the morning rains passed, we sat outside.
We were seated quickly, & the waitress came to take our drinks order with delivery soon after. The menu had a good variety of foods. I chose a cup of conch chowder with 1/2 chicken salad in pita bread, & cut fresh fruit. The portions were sizeable, & my food was delicious. Beware. The conch chowder was spicy. Each one in our party of four commented that their choices were tasty. If you like salad, try the Chicken & Pear Salad. They skirt the bowl with a cut fresh pear.
A downside would be that the parking lot is small, you may have to wait for a table, it took a while for our food to arrive, & our waitress needed to check in on our beverages to be refilled without us having to catch her attention. Average price for a lunch is about $12 w/o a beverage.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eledind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    269
    152
    46
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Went here for dinner with friends, who chose to come here. Waited a reasonable amount of time for a table to open up on the deck outside and sat at the bar for a drink while waiting. Attentive bar person. Jen, our wait person was attentive to a "T". Our food was delivered quite fast and hot. Three of us ordered the broiled seafood platter and we weren't at all disappointed. Large portions and plenty of fresh baked bread which Jen refilled quickly. The fourth in our party ordered the rib eye which he said was done just right. Not a morsel left on our plates. Too bad no room for dessert!! We would go here again, for sure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Great View!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had lunch there recently and loved it. My husband and I both had salads and they were very large and fresh, loaded with stuff. The service was friendly and quick. The waterfront view was fantastic and just watching the boats go by was experiencing the true flavor of Florida.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Right next to Two Georges!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Typical waterfront. Food good, view terrific! Have been serveral times, especially with visitors. They always seem to like it and we have a very good time. Nothing outstanding about this restaurant, but, nice to have it there for family visits and more.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pennionetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,899 reviews
641 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,875 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting with poor to average food”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This restaurant is at a beautiful location on the Intracoastal Waterway--it has a large covered outdoor deck with great views. Too bad they do not serve better food. I had read reviews on different websites and did not have high expectations about the food and they lived up to those reviews. There were four of us for lunch--one person had a good plater made up of three different salads ($14), another had a cheesesteak that he did not want to finish and two had conch chowder ($6) and conch fritters ($10). The soup was bland and had no taste of conch which we had a number of times in the Keys. The fritters were large doughy balls with again little suggestion that there was much conch--it was mainly filler that was fried. A very disappointing lunch that was not worth the money, Maybe the salads or fish platters would be better choices. We cannot recommend this place for the food, only the wonderful setting.

If going there a previous Trip Advisor post had an excellent suggestion. This place is tricky to find if you have not been there--it is east of Federal Highway (US 1)--a GPS will give you the wrong information if going east on Ocean Ave. To get there going east on Ocean Ave., make a left BEFORE crossing the bridge over the Intracoastal Walterway, then make an immediate right into their parking alot. Another suggestion if going for lunch--get there between 11:30 AM and noon. Later the parking lot is jammed and it is difficult to find a parking spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Boat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Banana Boat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing