We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy, yummy, yummy....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chris' Taverna

Chris' Taverna
Ranked #1 of 316 Restaurants in Boynton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This is the new 2nd location for Chris' Taverna...
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy, yummy, yummy....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fresh food at a very reasonable price with great customer service - what more can you ask for. My husband and I go here often. The side Greek salad is very fresh (and quite large for a side salad) which is served with a side of pita and sauce - so good! The gyro's are made fresh to order and they don't scimp on the portions...always enough to eat and fresh. The shrimp are grilled nicely and are very tastly on a salad or in a wrap. The place is very clean and the staff are very nice. Do not hesitate to check this place out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflyshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    107
    30
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
1,489 reviews
948 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Not a patch on the Lake Worth location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very disappointing. Had previously been to the Lake Worth location and was impressed. Hence, had high hopes here.

The main problem was the entrees of chargrilled lamb chops. Sadly, these had too little flesh on them and they were much too fatty/greasy. This had not been the case last time at Lake Worth. Since the entree was meant to be the highspot of the meal the disappointment really took away any enthusiasm.

This was a shame as the service was excellent and we enjoyed some outstanding hummus and the lemon chicken soup. Also, the baklava at the end of the meal was very tasty, and a good sized portion too.

The other appetiser was an octopus dish that was also disappointing.

Back to the entree - the accompanying Greek salads were fine and the rice was alright. The roasted potatoes were not up to good standard. As above, the main problem was the lamb chops.

So, the overall rating cannot be better than average and that is without taking account of the dull atmosphere - again a let down after the buzziness at Lake Worth where the restaurant is in a better spot and feels more of a place to go out for dinner than this plaza roadside cafe

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutley A Great Place To Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My brother had just moved to the area. It was the first place that we ate. And I think we ate there 5 more times within the week I was there. And they eat there 3 to 6 times thru the week now. The staff was VERY curtious, and food is WONDERFUL......It's the best !!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food ok but treat you nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I ate with my friend outside because inside it felt the heat was on. The waiter bought out the salads and then a lady pulls up and sits in her car with exhaust blowing in my face while in eating. The server brings the food out to a lady illegally parked. When I told the lady the smoke was getting in my face she got nasty and said she can't control where people park even though she knew she was in front of the store. I called the owner and he told be the same thing and both where nasty. The original place is better but since they got successful they forgot about customer service. We paid for 2 salad that we didn't eat because we felt sick and will never go back. It's not all about food. Service is also important that they are missing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you like eating with exhaust, this is the place for you!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We have dined at this new location several times, without any issues. Food has always been good.

They have now extended their service to curb side pick up. There is NO parking in front of the restaurant and it's a fire zone, with NO parking signs posted.

The wait staff brought food out to a woman who parked in front of the restaurant with her car running and car exhaust blowing right at us. We said something and the server told us she cannot control where people park, and it's not her fault.

We called the owner who was happy to tell us the same thing and the parking is controlled by the police.

So if you're looking for good food tainted with car exhaust, this is your place to go!

Helpful?
3 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris' Taverna also viewed

Boynton Beach, FL
Boynton Beach, FL
 

Been to Chris' Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing