We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to do any better in Boynton Beach”
Review of Kimura

Kimura
Ranked #74 of 321 Restaurants in Boynton Beach
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: kimurarestaurant.com
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard to do any better in Boynton Beach”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been to this restaurant half a dozen times, as a couple, or with family and friends.

We have always been impressed by the quality of the experience and the food. It is a fun way to have dinner.

Two thumbs up, and we will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nonlaboratur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    6
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, Funny Chef!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a great time, food was very good and plenty of it. We have been to other Hibachi restaurants before, and the chef we had was very funny. You should ask for G-Unit. He was great!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fixer155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go for HIBACHI, not for sushi”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Always fun to watch, but one cook has over-cooked my lobster twice. Ask for "G-Unit" for your chef and you will be laughing the whole time! He is a gem! Such good food, we always leave with left-overs! Great for kids to watch too! My 2 and 6 year olds love to go and watch the shrimp and eggs fly! Hostess always looks a little mad though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bari1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We won't be back”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant has a more commercial feel to it than the individually owned sushi restaurants I normally go to. The ambiance was nice, but the food was completely forgettable. We ordered a variety of raw sushi rolls and some a la carte sushi. From my experiences with fresh off the boat fish, I can usually tell when im served something that was previously frozen... And this sushi was definitely from a freezer. It was tasteless... Just maybe a step up from a supermarket purchased sushi roll... I was not impressed. I also noticed that they water down their sauces. The eel sauce I got on the side was not the yummy thicker sauce I'm used to. It was kind of a watery mess. If there was one thing I could comment politely on, related to food, the yellowtail was pretty decent.

In regards to service, our waitress was very nice. She was prompt and not pushy. She did a great job.

Helpful?
Thank JCTravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have been to this location 5 times so far and have always had excellent service and food. The habatchi chefs we've had are TJ and G-Unit, who are both EXCELLENT! They have us laughing the entire time! They cook our food exactly how we love it and we've never had a compaint. We went today for Mother's Day and had a chef named John who was pretty boring and undercooked the fried rice, although I'm not sure how that can even happen. So, we'll definitely make sure we reserve TJ or G-Unit when we go again net month. As for the previous review saying it's expensive, I'm not sure what they ordered but we have never spent more than $60 and my husband always orders the filet mignon and chicken habatchi and I get either the scallops and steak or 2 of the specialty rolls. And of course a cocktail or 2 :) Overall, this is one of our favorite places to eat. We are never disappointed, except for today but now we know how to avoid that.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmates120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimura also viewed

 

Been to Kimura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing