We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Sushi with attitude! Poor management!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Simon

Sushi Simon
Ranked #114 of 317 Restaurants in Boynton Beach
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK Sushi with attitude! Poor management!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

OK Sushi with attitude! Poor management!!
We have enjoy OK quality sushi for the most part at SS on a regular basis. Last night after returning from an extended stay in N, we decide to have some sushi at Simon.
First of all we must say that the servers are all great.
We had some of our favorites as usual but everything was just a little off. The wild salmon was rubbery and tasteless.
We actually mentioned that the Toro was sub-par and sent it back.
Thats when the problem started the waitress was fearful and had to ask Lucy what to do?? we were then told Simon says you must pay for half the toro !!
We have never sent a dish back at any other restaurant and have been asked to pay for it. BTW: We are foodies and I do have a food blog.
BTW: our average bill with sake at Simon is well over 200 dollars.
I politely told our nice waitress to inform Simon that if he insists on treating us in this unprofessional manner we will not return.
He did and we have eaten our last meal at Simon.....
It's time for Simon to appreciate his customers before he has none....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePhotoGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Amazing sushi here. The Simon Heaven roll is one of the best rolls I have ever had. The sauces are what make it so delicious. It is a hole in the wall, but super good. Very pricey, but definitely worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BocaZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boynton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Unhappy Server”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The sushi is excellent, no question. Everything we ordered was fresh, properly prepared, delicious and served quickly. Our waiter, unfortunately, was not happy to seat us or serve us. The strip plaza isn't glamorous, but the food quality is worth it. Our host tipped the waiter generously, but made a point of seeking him out to tell him to smile, be nice and relax. His attitude cast a shadow over an otherwise lovely experience. Service is a large part of the experience, Sushi Simon, don't overlook this restaurant faux pas; it bites back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey.Delicious.Small Portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restraunt has sushi to die for, the taste will send your taste buds on a rollercoaster, BUT don't come too hungry. The portions per sushi roll are incredibly small, when your paying $25 for a roll your excepting a lot. Normally I can eat one roll and be full but that was not the case, my boyfriend and I ordered several rolls and appetizers and we were still hungry when we left. We went somewhere else to get more food because although it was delicious it was being to get too expensive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saidah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great menu and setting, though a little pricey for smaller portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Sushi Simon has a big, though pretty ordinary sushi menu--though that's not at all a bad thing. If you're the type who knows what they want and order that from different places, you're likely to be impressed with the food and won't waste money. The fish here seemed really, really fresh which made for a great sushi experience. The staff was extremely friendly and on point throughout the night. My only concern was there are a number of comparable sushi places in the area (at least 2 within a few miles) with a more diverse, unique menu at significantly better prices given portion sizes they have to offer up.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blake s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Simon also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing