We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Five Worst”

Angelina's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Angelina's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Across From The Ship
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a disappointment! For years we heard how fabulous, then not so fabulous & finally, due to Top Chef Sara G., how fabulous again. We thought great, what a way to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. WRONG!! To begin, Calamari & Grouper so heavily breaded the fish couldn't be found. It was agreed by waiter & manager, not cooked well. 2nd attempt better with the explanation "it must have been left in the batter too long" the first time. Not exactly what you want to hear in a reputedly excellent restaurant. I asked about Chef Sara & to our extreme surprise, she was no longer actively in the kitchen. She was off on other ventures & was now acting only as an occasional consultant. No wonder!! Much "consulting" is needed!! Next came our Burrata which was pretty good, although not heirloom quality. Now skeptical, we awaited the small plate squash ravioli, one of our favorite Italian pastas. When the waiter explained there were only three, with our mains following, that was a non issue. Oh, how happy we were that there were only three. Glutinous & pasty, not light & fluffy. Ugh!! My husband, a true non-complainer, mentioned their gluey texture & taste. Again, apologies & we could be sure our mains would be perfect. Mine, pappardelle with lamb was, at this point, what I feared. Glue & salt. I kinda just shrugged when asked how it was, disappointment registering. My husband couldn't help but share his view. His scallop & shrimp pasta with risotto was so salty & gluey, he couldn't eat it. Again, this is someone who very rarely complains. The manager again came to the table expressing his agreement. He tasted the returned dish in the kitchen and convinced my husband to let him bring a "special" light replacement. He did & unfortunately, it simply wasn't special or good. I tasted it & the buffalo mozzarella it contained was so chewy it wouldn't break down enough to swallow. I had to remove it from my mouth. Just incredible. They tried but simply awful. We were appreciative & asked for the check. We were asked for patience as they had a "surprise" for our anniversary & for the bad dining experience. So, patient & grateful we were until we were shocked by the mound of fried donuts that arrived. Not exactly a bad meal palate cleanser leaving us, again, saying with wonder, how simply disappointed we were. Although there was some compensation on the check & the service tried, we say DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

4  Thank Cityfolks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Cityfolks2,

First and foremost, thank you for your business and for choosing to dine with us on such a special occasion. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. Angelina's strives to maintain the highest standards in the industry and feedback is very important to us. As you know we cannot improve if we don't understand where we fell short. The review was passed along and will be addressed internally. Feel free to email us directly at: marie@epicfoodoconcepts.com
with any additional information on how we can improve.
We hope that you allow us the opportunity to earn back your business.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 463 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Tis a sad day. Our favorite Italian restaurant has drastically changed both the Happy Hour and dinner menus. All for the worse. The only constant is the great cocktail menu. What kind of Italian restaurant doesn't have veal? The new chef has killed the goose that laid the golden egg. Now I have to find a new Italian place.

6  Thank whostl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear whostl,

First and foremost, thank you for your business and for taking a moment to provide feedback on your recent experience at Angelina's. We are sorry to hear that the recent adjustments to our menu are not to your liking. Menu items and specials are constantly being added and tweaked and we actually have recently added a Veal Tenderloin Scallopini dish about two weeks ago. Angelina's strives to maintain the highest standards in the industry and we welcome the feedback. Please feel free to send an email directly to marie@epicfoodconcepts.com and let us know how we can improve. We would love the opportunity to earn back your business.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Price fixe no longer per person, there were 3 of us. When asked how you handle 3, was told, order it off the menu @ twice the price. It was a birthday event for the third person. Told them on the way in and and they said we'll do something special( we know they did because they did it for us) and low and behold not even a happy birthday. Them our table had a wonderful view, through floor ceiling window overlooking a weed infested courtyard garden. Very high end for the money, NOT

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear John R,

First and foremost, thank you for your business and for taking the time to reach out regarding your recent visit to Angelina's. We are sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to have someone contact you regarding your feedback. Angelina's strives to maintain the highest standards in the industry and as you know we cannot improve if we don't understand where we fell short. Feel free to contact me at: marie@epicfoodconcepts.com and we can have someone reach out.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

UNEXPLAINABLE AND UNACCEPTABLE.
Friday June 20th. Six entrees on the menu with a special of a steak for $55. Never been to a italian restaurant where they didn't put bread on the table or offer cheese for pasta. Service was terrible, when questioned why the menu was like a menu from a wedding the reply it's limited because if the season. Understandable that SHUT IT DOWN. And don't rip people off. The place is gorgeous the best around only to be let down by a penny pincher menu.
But plenty of wine which they never stop pouring. Will never return

4  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Ross M,

First and foremost, thank you for your business and for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry to hear about your recent experience and we would love to have someone contact you regarding your feedback. As you know we cannot improve if we don't understand where we fell short.

Please feel free to reach out directly with contact information: marie@epicfoodconcepts.com and someone can get in touch regarding this matter.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I moved to Bonita Springs, Fl a year ago. When a few of my girlfriends came into town we stopped there for dinner with no reservations. The place was packed, yet they were able to accommodate us. The meal was exceptional!!! The service..... The wine... The meal.... Stellar!!!! My husband and I have dined alone there twice and we will continue to dine there. It is a wonderful restaurant and is truly a staple for fine Italian dining here in Bonita.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewtoBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Trianaelliane81,

First and foremost, thank you for your business and for taking the time to provide your kind review on Trip Advisor. Angelina's strives to maintain the highest standards in the industry and it is always good to hear when we meet and exceed expectations. We look forward to hosting you and your guests again soon!

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelina's Ristorante also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Angelina's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing