We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Dissapointed!”

Angelina's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Angelina's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Across From The Ship
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“VERY Dissapointed!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Best thing about our evening was the overzealous valet. He was the most over friendly valet I've ever had.
Ok, only probably half of the restaurants lights were working. You say that's not their problem? Hostess said it was happening all day. Call the electric company or an electrician. Lights coming on and off, up and down does not make for an comfortable evening.
The menu is VERY confusing and the waiter trying to explain what was a decent size portion, or what could be ordered in a half portion and no items for kids to choose from was annoying when trying to order. We were a party of nine and only two people liked their meal. By the time we were done with the meal we just wanted to get our checks and leave. I do not have a problem paying for a good meal if it's good. These were not good meals. For the prices I would expect to be blown away. We were not. It was not only one or two people but no one left happy. Two people said there meals were OK, that's it. The olive pate' I think it was that was spread on top of the filet was silly at best. good way to ruin the filet. The macaroni side that came with the grouper was tasteless. The lasagna was ok at best. The small pizza was cold and no good. I could go on, the free birthday dessert was maybe two days old it seemed like. The server did ok but he helped confuse the whole explanation of the menu. Living close by and wanting to go here for a long time and trying to have a nice dinner out for my wife's birthday was a big disappointment. I don't understand the great reviews. Drive 20 minutes south to Naples, go to the Mercato and eat at Bravo Italian restaurant. Half the price, twice the portion, and 10 times the quality. Big waste of around $400 for the evening, tips already included. Definitely will not be back and cannot recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WOMSWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelinasRistorante, Public Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Colombianvacationer,

We are very sorry for disappointing you for your parties' birthday celebration. There are many things to address and many things that are hard to without additional information. Unfortunately, we do not offer a separate children's menu. We gladly do half orders for children with our pasta dishes or plain pasta. It does not sound as if, you had the opportunity to discuss your concerns with a manager while you were at the restaurant. Many of your issues should have been resolved prior to leaving the restaurant. While your review is extensive, we have some additional questions for you. If possible, please contact me directly in regards to your experience. We can only improve by changing where we fell short. Our sincere apologies.


Kerry Barth Shields
angelinasmkt@gmail.com
Advertising & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    112
    59
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic all the way around!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We are frequent visitors of Angelina's as we love a great happy hour. Appetizers are half off as are bottles of wine up to $150.00. This is a fantastic opportunity to try some great wines. Angela, our sommelier/manager was friendly and knowledgeable, even refusing a tip, saying "it's what I do an I love it". We had tuna bruschetta and an antipasto plate with freshly grilled eggplant, cauliflower,artichoke hearts and delicious salamis and cured Italian meats (normally there would be cheese as well but we asked them to leave it off) The bread and roasted garlic purée is incredible! All in all this is a fantastic local restaurant that I am proud to introduce my family and friends to. Oh, and they also hand stuffed anchovy olives for my husbands martini even though its not something they routinely offer. The staff was friendly and attentive and I highly recommend you try it!

Helpful?
Thank sherischultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelinasRistorante, Public Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear sherischultz,

Thank you for the review. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed Angelina's. Our Daily Indulgence Therapy (Happy Hour) is very popular with the amazing food and wine specials. Thank you for the compliment for our Sommelier, she loves what she does and sharing her talent with our guests. Thank you for bring your guests to Angelina's, we are proud to be a restaurant that you introduce to friends.

Kerry Barth Shields
Advertising & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Should have known by the length of the menu - too many offerings usually means there is too much going on in the kitchen for anything to be special. Started with a pizzette shared by the table. Okay, but not worth the price. Next salads. Our server proudly told us the buffalo mozzarella salad with heirloom tomatoes was the house special and that the tomatoes are fresh picked and ripe and kept at room temp, never refrigerated. Well, they were the coldest room temp tomatoes we've ever tasted. Also tried the Angelina salad which was good. Next split a butternut squash ravioli - very tasty. Finally our entrees. Two of us had the black grouper which was delicious and well prepared, although the side that went with it was so bland I don't remember what it was. Someone else had veal saltimbocca - veal was tough and almost indelible. Fourth in our group had the cannelloni - it was heavy, noodles were soggy, and the veal in the dish was tough; person ate less than a third and couldn't eat any more it was so bad. And we've never been to an Italian restaurant that did not give you bread!

On the positive side, the sommelier was personable, down to earth and knew the wine list. Our server was also pleasant.

Bottom line, Angelina's was over priced for the quality of the food. Save your $ and dine somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank TheTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry B, Public Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear TheTravelerBoston,

We are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Angelina's. From top to bottom it seems off. We do serve bread at Angelina's, so somehow we even missed that step of service. Your review is appreciated, we will use it to improve our restaurant so we are able to provide great food and service. We would really like to hear more about your experience if you would like to email me directly. Thank you!

Kerry Barth Shields
Advertising & Marketing Coordinator
kerry@angelinasofbonitasprings.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not quite what we expected. From the menu outside we thought we could order a salad, pizzza, desssert and a resonably priced bottle of wine but when we did this we were made to feel extremely uncomfortable by our server who condescendingly took our order and sneered at our choice of wine and referred to our pizza as flatbread. Having said that WE had what WE wanted and really enjoyed the food we ordered. If we shouldnt have chosen these items then they should not be available on the menu and we would have chosen somewhere else to eat.
Obviously the expectations of the restaraunt staff are for high end clientele with 'fat chequebooks'. this was obvious during the course of our meal the maitre de visited every table twice with the exception of ours and every other table was offeredcomplimentary digestifs before leaving: - obviously either our faces or our menu choices did not fit. During our stay in Florida we found more welcoming restaraunts to which we will return if we visit USA again

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littleval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry B, Public Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Littleval57,

We are very sorry that Angelina's fell short of your expectations. On our menu, we have pizzetas. I believe the server was attempting to clarify that they are a type of flatbread so you were not surprised when the selections were brought to you. We greatly apologize if you felt snubbed at any point during your dinner. That is never our intention and truly unfortunate. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Kerry Barth Shields
Advertising & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Heavenly, innovative cuisine, served with flair”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Last week we visited Angelina's in Bonita Springs, Florida for the first time. It was a joy! They were featuring a special bruschetta appetizer including lightly-seared yellowfin tuna and exotic spices -- it was generous and delicious, with an unusual range of textures and flavors (if this had constituted the whole dinner, I wouldn't have complained). My wife and I shared it, with enthusiasm!

My entree was a traditional cannelloni, sophisticated in its flavors and again, quite generous (two tubes, microwaved the next day for lunch, somehow seemed even better than the night before).

Dessert was also shared with my wife. The lemon tart had that priceless bite of aftertaste, which was enhanced even more by a small glass of lemoncello (on the house). Angelina's isn't cheap, but it's no ripoff, either.

John Palshaw

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelinasRistorante, Public Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for the review. Your description of Angelina's, “Heavenly, innovative cuisine, served with flair”, is awesome. Our chef enjoys creating dishes with sophisticated flavors that you will only find at Angelina's. The entire staff at Angelina's believes that it is one of a kind. We hope you and your wife will visit us again on your next trip to the area.

Kerry Barth Shields
Advertising & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelina's Ristorante also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
North Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Angelina's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing