We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Beach in a environmentally preserved area”

Barefoot Beach Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Beach in a environmentally preserved area”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

It has many nature qualities you cannot find at other beaches. We saw tortoises and an eagle nest upon parking there. There are boardwalks along the beach to sight

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jodeemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    319
    73
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Methuen
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beach. - wildlife and more .”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Love going to the beach here . Lots of shells and starfish this past week . Go early ... By 10 or later after 2 for your best parking . There are nature walks , facilities with nice boardwalks to the beach .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank seasailorswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
255 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Get there early if you're driving”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The parking lots were pretty much full by 10:30. We rode bikes so it wasn't an issue. Nice beach with plenty of room for all - but those parking lots need a 'monitor' to say when they're full. At $8 per car seems like they could figure out a way to let folks who are waiting in long lines at the gates know 'THE LOTS ARE FULL'. Either you're going to wait for someone to leave or go away and return at another day/time. Busy, busy place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichiganQui1ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Too many people”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

At this time of year with FL in the high tourist season this park is one of the most visited and most beautiful. HOWEVER, Florida has to get its act together and pay more attention to amenities at the park.
Trying to find a parking place has been very difficult here and on all other beaches also. Yesterday we followed someone coming off the beach to their car and took that space. We ended up at the most southern lot and there was a men/women toilet there, no water, no toilet paper and it was so filthy we wiped our feet when we exited!!!! We have seen toilets in China, Turkey and other countries, but this one had them all beat. With hundreds and hundreds of cars entering each day and paying $8, one would think that some money might be spent on improvements. There is also a lack of sufficient handicap parking spaces. GET WITH THE PROGRAM FLORIDA! Do you want our torist dollars or not?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank marylou44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Barefoot moniker belies the shell laden sands”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

No doubt a beautiful location. However, it was a little confusing driving through a gated community of seaside mansions to reach beach access parking for two miles was strange. It was bumper to bumper for a half hour to reach the pay station and the privilege to pay $8 for our car containing two seniors who would spend two hours sitting on the sand for two hours. Parking was so tight we had to park roadside outside the park and walk 300 + yards to plant our chairs aside the gulf.
Felt like July 4th at Coney Island. Don't bother this time of year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Beach Preserve also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Barefoot Beach Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing