We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seashell hunter's heaven!”

Barefoot Beach Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lees Summit, MO
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seashell hunter's heaven!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stop at this beach several times on our visit to Bonita Springs every summer. You will NEVER be disappointed if you visit during low tide. There are tons of sand dollars and beautiful shells galore. Just be sure you are not taking any live shells!!! There are enough non-living shells for everyone, I PROMISE! It costs $6 for entry for non-residents but it's worth every penny. The sand is soft, shells are abundent and the water is usually clear. Bring your snorkling gear! Keep your eyes open for dolphins and manatee as well. Also, be sure to shuffle your feet because there are stingray out there but have never bothered us one bit. So much to see there. Look out for turtles on your way to the beach! They are everywhere. We always park in the furthest parking lot and then head South once on the beach.. The furthest southern part is best place for shelling. This is one of our favorite beaches. Enjoy!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank CzechZuzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    321
    74
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don't miss this beautiful beach, great swimming, shelling and hiking trails.”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

One of the best beaches in Florida. A neat bus shuttle gets you out to the ocean if you do not want to walk. Go at low tide for amazing shelling

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank counjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to visit!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We've been to Barefoot Beach about 5 times now and just love it. We've had different friends come down from Michigan and everyone just loved it. The beach was nice with shells but not too many that you couldn't walk barefoot on it. Well worth the $ to get in. Also, the cafe had great sandwiches and smoothies. I had the chicken sandwich and it was the real thing. The cafe had positive music playing and everyone who ran it was so polite. :-)
There's also a lot of rentals such as: kayaks, paddle boards, etc.
Thanks for such a wonderful experience.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best beach in Naples”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Barefoot Beach is a peaceful beach almost hidden at the end of Barefoot Beach Drive. On season you need to arrive early to get a parking spot, but the lots are arranged down the length of the beach, so people are spread out. Off season you practically have the beach to yourself. If you want to be away from the more crowded spot, go to parking lot 2 or 3. The further down you go, the less crowded. Parking lot 1 has the facilities and snack bar, so it tends to attract more families. The sand is powder fine white sand, but bring your beach shoes, because there are lots of shells in the sand. If you walk down to the end of the beach you'll have more luck finding bigger shells, but you have to do a little digging. There is a butterfly garden at Parking lot 1, and you'll be able to see the gopher tortises in the greenery along the road.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
22 Thank Tsmowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best beach in the area”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This was our favorite beach to visit on our trip. If you decide to park near Doc's Restaurant, go very early because it's impossible to find a parking spot.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank doublefront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Beach Preserve also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Barefoot Beach Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing