We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Roy's - Bonita Springs
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Bonita Springs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bay Commons Drive
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous. The Bonita Springs restaurant is located in the beautiful Promenade Shoppes, and features an exciting exhibition kitchen and expansive chef's counter. In the kitchen, Chef Jason Grasty brings his imagination and artistry to the plate every night. Originally from New Orleans, Jason's background is French and Creole cuisine. It is our pleasure to welcome you into our Ohana and we look forward to serving you.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We eat here several times a year for special occasions and sometimes when they run prix fixe specials. The food is superb and so is the service. The lava cake dessert is the best I have ever had. Every fish dish we have ordered here has been excellent. Enjoy! It is well worth the price for a special occasion!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    153
    48
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good Value Casual Dining”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Four of us had a great time at Roy's - much better than we thought we would given it is part of a restaurant chain originated in Hawaii. It is situated in the easy-to-find Promenade mall with a few other restaurants like Molinos there. Ambience is fine for a casual night out with friends or a date.
Food was a surprise - from appetisers to deserts, they were well above expectation. For starters, the ribs were moist and flavorful inside (not just on top), the Sunrise sushi rolls were crusty on the outside and the lobster dumplings were good. Fish is their signature menu items - beyond the expected Mahi and Ahi, they have harder to find Ono and the local black grouper. Fried whole snapper with a Thai sauce is as genuine as it gets - crisp outside, moist inside with a wonderful thai sauce. Notable deserts included upside down cake and chocolate souffle ordered at the beginning of the meal to avoid waiting.
All told, it was like we were sitting in Maui, having fresh seafood nicely done having a great time with friends. All they need now to have the perfect score is a bit of Gary Pahunui slack key music....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Service was fantastic. Food was very good. Only downside was the teppanyaki shrimp was slightly overcooked. Appetizers were perfect, sushi and chicken spring rolls. Butterfish was amazing, as was the Ono, filet, and seafood trio. This establishment knows what they are doing and it shows! Pricey, yes, but excellent

Helpful?
Thank BeenthereWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's - Bonita Springs, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at Roy's and apologize that you felt your shrimp was a little overcooked! We hope to make it up with a chocolate soufflé on us on your next visit! What is the best way to connect?

My email is jlee@roysrestaurant.com, and I hope to hear from you. Best wishes for an "ono" 2013!

Mahalo, Jeannie Lee @ Roy's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton,Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Roy's Bonita”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great food and service. The service was great, food is exceptional. I always have the butterfish and hubby has meat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank donclaireg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's - Bonita Springs, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed Roy's!
Mahalo for dining with us! Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to reach out.

Mahalo,
Jeannie Lee

PS: I used to live in Boca Raton, which is where I assume you are from! Near the big mall near Military / Glades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Destination!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to try Roy's on NYE. They were very kind in accommodating us in the bar. We loved the menu, and the service was phenomenal. It's a lively place, but well worth the $.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's - Bonita Springs, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for joining us on NYE! Our Chefs put a lot of thought and creativity into that special menu and we are thrilled you enjoyed it so much.

We hope you have a fantastic 2013 and we'll hopefully welcome you back soon.

Mahalo, Jeannie Lee @ Roy's Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Bonita Springs also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
North Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
North Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roy's - Bonita Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing