We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massive portions!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Handel's Homemade Ice Cream

Handel's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Bonita Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Massive portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stopped by for a ice cream after dinner, I ordered a brownie sundae, which I could only look at in amazement, wondering how on earth i was going to manage to eat it! It was a massive thing! Covered head to toe in whipped cream with a cherry on top. There was 3 scoops of ice cream, i chose banana, pineapple sorbet and dulce de leche, there was also a slab of chocolate brownie, nuts and fudge sauce. OMG it was fabby but way too much for me, luckily i had some willing helpers to finish it off. It was excellent value and really busy when we were there too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enjoylife63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    19
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Best Ice Cream in Florida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Handel's has by far the best ice cream in Florida. I had the Chocolate Pecan and it was divine! I visited Handel's while vacationing from Jacksonville with my fiance and we were both really impressed with the ice cream and the service. All of the workers were very attentive, and the inside of the store was very well-kept. Overall, it was a wonderful experience - Handel's will remain one of our favorite places in Bonita Springs!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaxIceCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We made our first visit to Handel's tonight. In our opinion, they serve much better ice cream than the Royal Scoop and it is more reasonably priced. The store was clean and the service was extremely friendly. The ice cream was creamy and delicious and tasted fresh with no yucky artificial flavor aftertaste. They also sell fresh yogurt and Gorant chocolates based out of Youngstown, OH. There were several tables inside. My only criticism of the place is that the decor/atmosphere is just a bit stark, but it was so good we really didn't mind. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seeyoudowntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bonita Springs Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I were in Bonita Springs visiting family and had to stop by a Youngstown, Ohio favorite....Handel's Ice Cream. We have tried other ice cream shops and none have compared to Handel's homemade ice cream. Once you have the creamy texture and delicious flavors...my favorite is chocolate pecan and my husbands is butter pecan, you will never want another! Couldn't ask for a friendlier couple that own the shop!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great ice cream- so much better than Royal Scoop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have been getting ice cream every day of vacation and this is the best place. Yesterday we went to the number one rated ice cream, Royal Scoop, and I think this place is so much better. I had a great ice cream sherbert parfait and the kids had oreo milkshakes. Same price as all the other places. The worker was super friendly too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessDougBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handel's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Handel's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing