We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not return to the "Stage"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stage

The Stage
Ranked #59 of 192 Restaurants in Bonita Springs
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will not return to the "Stage"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nine of us attended the The Stage for dinner & dancing on a non-tribute band night and were very disappointed in the service we received. First, there were 3 different versions of the menu on our table, one with no prices, one that included: Opening Act(salad), Main Attraction, & Dessert; one menu only included Main Attraction and dessert. When we ordered we were told the salad was not included and the the waitress took that menu away. She did tell us dessert would be included but when we finished our meal, she came back and told us it would be extra if we wanted dessert. We expressed our displeasure with how much confusion they created with wrong menus and asked to see the manager. She spoke to him on our behalf but he never bothered to come speak to us.
We also observed a waiter pick up 2 glasses of water from the table of patrons who came in, checked the menu and left shortly thereafter, and then the waiter took their water glasses to another table of patrons who had just arrived!!
We have a large group of friends who come to Bonita Springs for the winter and unfortunately, this experience left a bad taste for many of us and we cannot recommend it. I must say, the band was good but the management of the place leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went tonight for the first time and it will be the last!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Where do I start, first our table had no room for anyone to walk around without knocking into us! I think the Stage wanted to make as much money as possible without thinking about the comfort of guest that would be sitting at this table. I ordered the baked fish when I received it was cold, dry and tasteless! The manager walked by our table at no less than 20 times and never once asked us how things were going. It was a good thing because I would have told him. Oh, my husband went to the men’s room and he said the toilet was backed up and it smells really bad! This is over the top bad! My suggestion is that they have one less table, have working toilets, cut the cost of the food, don’t over-cook the fish and add some spices!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WAY Overpriced!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our first visit to The Stage was last night to see the Jimmy Buffett tribute band. The band was excellent, the vocals were terrible. The singer often forgot the words to the songs and repeated many songs several times. The food was OK, nothing special. Service was very slow. The cost, $45 for food and band, plus a few drinks, amounted to about $150 per couple, WAY too much for the quality of our experience. Spend your money wisely, find a local bar/restaurant with some good local talent, decent food and enjoy for probably one third of the price. There are many other good places around.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger Township, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Band definitely not worth the money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I chose to make The Stage our Valentine's Day dinner site on Wednesday; I was in the mood to dance, and we had gone to there 2 years ago and enjoyed the entertainment and the food. We'd danced, chosen our own menu items. This time, though I'd checked the website, it wasn't apparent it was a 'tribute band'..therefore I assumed it was a typical evening. BIG mistake. The band, a nearly 10 piece ensemble of instrument players and singers, were so lackluster, we had absolutely no interest in staying a minute after our dinners were finished... The food was good....service was good...but if the management really thinks that folks want to spend premium dollars for dinner and a show, they should have hired professionals. These guys were without expression, no interaction with the audience,no smiles, no nothing....just blah music......

Never again......they can pay 'tribute' groups to perform for other folks.....we're out for good! I'll pass on any future chances to go dancing....at least there....The Sandy Parrot it is!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Di M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Good Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Stage. We had cousins visiting and thought this could be a fun night. We saw the Billy Joel/Bob Seeger tribute. Both entertainers were enjoyable. Price included the cover and the meal. Food was average. We will definitely return....the calendar of tribute bands is very diversified. We had a fun night out.

Helpful?
1 Thank PorscheLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stage also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing