We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond with a Few Flaws but a Diamond Nonetheless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bonita Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Diamond with a Few Flaws but a Diamond Nonetheless”
Reviewed January 26, 2009

The lowest point of our stay was check in. After check in, our experience at this Hyatt improved remarkably and while there were some minor instances of service not delivered, the Hyatt succeeded in creating a most pleasurable getaway.

Check in: We were offered champagne at check in which was unexpected. However the front desk associate checking us in was even more unexpected because heinsisted that the rate we were paying did not include breakfast when we knew it did. When we produced our confirmation detaiing the fact that breakfast was indeed included in the rate, he still would not acknowledge it even though it was printed on an official Hyatt confirmation. Finally, after much discussion, he asked the associate next to him who told him that indeed, breakfast was included. He even tried to downgrade it to a continental breakfast but the other asscociate dvised him our rate included full American Breakfast. The remainder of the front desk staff we dealt with were fantastic.

Room: Spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable. The beds were very good and the bath highly functional (2 sinks, very good shower pressure etc). The view from our room (14th floor) was of Estero Bay and the Gulf, very nice. We did notice that although we were 5 rooms from the elevator, we could still hear it at night going up and down but it was not enough to keep us up. However, if you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the elevator because we had no doubt that the first 2 or 3 rooms that were closest to the shaft were pretty noisy. Other than that, our room was reasonably quiet and the HVAC system relatively quiet.

Food: Tarpon Bay, the Seafood restaurant on property ,has a nice key west atmosphere and we enjoyed our meal there, especially the Ceviche. The maitre'd/manager and our waiter were great. We did not eat dinner at Tanglewood, the fine dining restaurant, only because there were quite a few good restaurants in the area. In the morning, Tanglewood serves as the Breakfast room. The buffet included in our rate was very nice including about 7 or 8 hot items ( including eggwhite frittatas, interesting breakfast burrittos, traditional scrambled eggs bacon, waffles)..and the ability to get a made to order omlette made to PERFECTION. Cold cereals, granola, steel cut oatmeal, fruit, yoghurt, smoked salmon and 8 or 9 bread choices (croissants, cinammon rolls, various small but decadent muffins) rounded out the offering. On three of the four mornings, our OJ and coffee were refilled routinely. Only once was a coffee refill missed and only once did we get luke warm coffee. But we thought the staff overall did a very good job and they were friendly and professional.

Recreation: The "beach" on little hickory island, a short free boat ride away from the resort pier, is an interesting place to visit but it has lost lots of sand due to hurricanes. So if you go, go at low tide when there is more beach. At high tide, you will find yourself backed up on the small dunes. Don't expect tons of palm trees and lush suirroundings out there. You can get that back at the Hyatt anyway.

The pools are nice with an adult area (including a small 2 lane lap pool) and another general use pool and a separate "family" poor with water slide. The fountains and landscaping help create a nice tropical resort atmosphere. There are even small semi-private seating areas enclosed by hedges where you can sit on an outdoor couch and read a book. You can go to the sister property (the vacation club) and float down their wandering river in an inner tube if you like.

We went Kayaking for a couple hours (rental through the recreation desk) in the estuaries of Estero Bay and saw herons, egrets, an eagle, the ubiquitous pelicans, and other birds enjoying this preserved area. One unique aspect of the resort is its position next to protected nature sanctuaries.

If you golf ( I used to), the courses looked very nice and have earned recognition from the Audobon Society for its preservation of the area. If you are a runner, you can easily put together a 10 mile run in the area around the hotel (small older neighboorhoods). The gym has a good selection of strength equipment as well as some free weights and plenty of cardio machines with built in TV.

Shopping can be found at the Miramar outlet about 10 minutes away: a good collection of stores including Faconnable, Saks Off Fifth, Nieman Marcus, J Crew, Le Creuset...A great mix. There is also shopping 2 minutes up the street in a large mall with Tommy Bahama, Apple Store etc.

You can get to Everglades City in under an hour and a half if you want to take an Airboat ride through the Everglades.

Public Areas: The outdoor seating areas are nice as is the rear of the lobby area where you can play chess, checkers, etc (get games from front desk). There is an outdoor firepit where you can make s'mores at night. You can purchase bags with all required ingredients including the sticks at the cafe/store located just off the lobby.

Overall:: Coconut Point was a great short getaway. For 4 nights, it was a great place to escape the cold weather of the North and get nice warm doses of nature, good food, service, sun, palms, swimming, shopping, and relaxed-have-a-drink-by- the-pool-laziness. Finally, this Hyatt should also be commended for the "green" practices it has instituted. They have a list of them on display on a placard in the lobby. When I asked whether there was a way to get a copy of it, they provided a small print out of it under my door within 20 minutes of me making the request.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Check In
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowshoedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,025
    594
    139
    62
    28
See reviews for
960
776
47
733
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ORD
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Hotel is very close (20 minute drive) from Ft Myers Airport (RSW).
It was my first stay as a Hyatt Diamond and I did not ask about breakfast coupons or RC. I did ask if my Diamond number was in my reservation and was told yes but nothing else (except amenity choice card). If one is a homemade corned beef hash fan, a restaurant 6 miles up Route 41 Tamiami Trail called Talk of the Town – 19050 S. Tamiami Trail, Ft Myers, serves excellent homemade hash as most restaurants serve pre-made canned hash which is nothing but salt. Bonita Beach road is a few miles south of the resort and will allow you to get over to the beaches, which I highly recommend you do, especially to see the sunsets. Along Bonita Beach road is a great market/restaurant to either dine in or pick up from their market some shrimp, stone crab or other delicious treats for the beach.
Rodes Fish Market Restaurant
3756 Bonita Beach Road
Bonita Springs, FL 34134
239-992-4040
tThe pools at the resort were very nice but we loved the lazy river at the Hyatt Vacation club, It was easy enough to catch the free shuttle to/from the vacation club or if you wanted you can drive to the club as there are parking spaces right out front. We were told there isn’t much of a private beach left, we were not able to get over to see it for ourselves, the tides were VERY low and with a NE wind, it was pushing water out of the bay so the boats couldn’t operate. One day we were told the first boat didn’t leave the resort until 1:45pm. Tanglewood restaurant in the resort is a AAA 4 Diamond award winner but I forgot that fact when we were there and we never did dine there. Our room faced the north and we did see the very large AC units below, at the time of year we were there it was “cool (70 degrees as high, below 50 at night)” so perhaps the units were not in use or on a very limited basis so there was no noise that we noticed but others have complained about the noise. Service was very poor at the vacation club in regards to any type of waitstaff, I too simply went up and ordered our drinks/food. When asked where I was sitting, I said by the pool & firepit, the waitress responded, “oh there is a pool waiter but I can bring your food to you” So there was or is waitstaff assigned to the pool, we NEVER saw anyone though. This also was at a VERY slow time with maybe 30 people total in the total pool area.
So all in all we enjoyed our stay here, as other posters have said I don’t think I’d stay more than a few days here. I also don’t think I would want to be at this resort when it is spring break or at another peak time, service was lacking and it would only be compounded by the increased number of people. Plus the pool areas were nice but there were quite a few areas that were sun deprived and I can see some great amount of jockeying for those prime sun spots.
We will return in 2010 just not at a busy time.
We enjoyed our walk at the Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corkscrew_Swamp_Sanctuary

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We go here at least once every year, and its really a superior trip if you have your expectations set correctly. What is IS NOT is a big-scale heavy-activity beach resort with lots of water sports. If those are your expectations you are bound to be disappointed. I would also steer clear of high-season and holiday weekends. Its not that large, and at high season I'd think it could be overwhelmed. The staff has the reputation for being a bit hapless and clueless, and live up to it.

Now what it IS is a great place to shut down and relax, or run off with your spouse, but for no more than a few days If you work from that perspective and avoid the crowds its fabulous. The beach requires a boat ride to an island, and is a good walking or wading beach, but don't expect classic wave action. Go when school is in session and you've got the pools almost to yourselves. Way better than average Regency Club.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jettybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

We stayed here several times before, e.g., November 2004 and Novemrber 2005, but we return here whenever we visit Southwest Folrida because of the hospitality of all staff members, the splendid location of the hotel facing the gulf islands, for example, Lovers Key and Big Hickory Island, the great breakfast buffet and the comfortable rooms. The breakfast buffet is not cheap but it was included in a promotion offer.
We had reserved a room on the club level floor and we got a corner room on the Northeast. Because we preferred a bayfront room - and obviously, there are few bayfront rooms on the club level floor.- and because the hotel was fully booked, we were offered the next day a bayfront suite on the Southwest on a different floor -an unexpected upgrade. We also kept our access to the club lounge. The evening hors d’oeuvres are exceptionally good, e.g. smoked ham and salami or clams in whine and with herbs.

  • Liked — the location on the bay without any neighbour buildings, the club lounge
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mundus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We were very pleased with this stay, which was for a conference. The lobby and check in was smooth and the room was a nice size and decorated in a classy and understated island theme with ceiling fan. They even set up a crib with a little baby welcome pack (wipes, baby wash, rubber ducky). We are Hyatt Gold members, but this was defaintely the best treatment we've had at a Hyatt. They worked well with the conference manager, so the resort fee was waived and we thought the price per nice was quite reasonable for such a nice property. Pools were nice and there were a lot of options for kids and adults (the waterfall pool was pretty chilly for July, but others were great). There is a wonderful shopping mall and tons of options for eating very close by and I highly recomend checking those out.
We had a simple guestroom, but it still had a fridge. I didn't get a chance to see the other rooms, but other attendees were very pleased and liked their balconies a lot. The bathroom is large and well situated, although I would have liked a bath and not just a large shower (but that's because we travel with a toddler). This was everything a conference hotel should be and we liked the location so much that we may come back just for pleasure. There were a lot of other areas with hammocks and activities that we didn't get a chance to explore.

  • Liked — Location, decor, pools
  • Disliked — Perhaps a bath, instead of just a shower.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyToSeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Someville NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We came to Ft Myers to spend Thanksgiving with our son (we are mid 50s) and decided to make a vacation of it, arrived on Tuesday and left on Saturday.

We normally are not resort people but this was an absolutely wonderful experience. The rooms are big and clean.

The grounds are beautiful and there is so much to do.

Of course if you eat all your meals in the hotel restuarants the total cost of your stay will skyrocket, but there is a refrig in the room and coffee, so there is no need to buy breakfast.

The other reviews detailed some of the many activities, but it certainly appears that those with small children, and those without will find this a wonderful place

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

My six year old daughter and I stayed at the Hyatt for three days in November. We enjoyed a room on the Regency Floor with two double beds. The sleeping area and the bathroom were large and very clean. We enjoyed the breakfast and snacks (afternoon and evening) the the Regency floor offered. The hotel was not full so we had no problems getting chairs by the "adventure pool" we did not use any of the other pools. My daughter enjoyed the slide and inflatable shark that we purchased on sight for $10. They also offer rentals ($5 per day). There are plenty of stores in the area so you could bring you own. She also enjoyed the afternoon art activities done pool side ($7 per piece).

We took the trolley to the time share section of the property and we were not impressed with the lazy river. The water was cold and had debris in it from surrounding plants. There was a playground and bike rentals also available but we did not have the time to enjoy them. It was nice having the option to use the other resort.

The highlight of our stay was the private boat excursion I booked with the on sight AWE(All Water Excursions). The staff was great and Captain Eric was so informative and easy going. We went to the Hyatt beach and Lovers' Key State Park. We learned a lot about the area and took home bags of seashells. Catering helped us with a picnic on the boat. We even saw a family of dolphins playing under a beautiful sunset. It was really amazing. Thanks again AWE!

We had a great time at the Hyatt. The staff were very attentive and always seemed to be there when you needed something. The smores by the fire pit were a big hit with my little one. The food was great, the pool was clean and warm. We also enjoyed the area (great movie theatre) surrounding the hotel. We often travel to south florida but we wanted to see the west coast. It is now our new favorite place!

  • Liked — Great Pool
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenTravels429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonita Springs
18.2 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Coconut Plantation
Hyatt Coconut Plantation
#3 of 15 in Bonita Springs
474 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Coconut Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Trianon Bonita Bay
Trianon Bonita Bay
#8 of 15 in Bonita Springs
466 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
2.5 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa
Address: 5001 Coconut Road, Bonita Springs, FL 34134-7234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Bonita Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bonita Springs
#1 Green Hotel in Bonita Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bonita Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa... where tropical gardens, warm breezes and sparkling waters of Florida's gulf coast create a casually elegant retreat for leisure vacations, business conferences and any occasion. Your aquatic adventure is here with extraordinary resort amenities including five waterslides, four pools, a lazy river, beach on an island offshore, wildlife preserve and more. Watersports rentals, kayaks, fishing and day cruises are available. Five restaurants and bars including a coffee shop and marketplace, seafood restaurant, American restaurant, cocktail lounge and outdoor restaurant and pool bar will satisfy your cravings throughout the day. Rejuvenate at Stillwater Spa, a full service spa with massage, facial and body treatments as well as a full beauty salon. With 82,500 square feet of flexible meeting space featuring two ballrooms, numerous banquet rooms, and abundant outdoor locations, we can accommodate gatherings from 20 to over 1,400 people. Whether large or small, each event is enhanced with innovative catering, impeccable service and state-of-the-art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Hotel Bonita Springs
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Bonita Springs
Hyatt Bonita Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing