We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fun trip back into the past before the Big Chains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anthony's Trattoria - CLOSED

Anthony's Trattoria
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: .Northern Italian Cuisine
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun trip back into the past before the Big Chains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lots of red. Lots of white on the tables... the music of Tony Bennet and Frank Sinatra being played live.. wonderful fun atmosphere.

The Sole Almondine was excellent. Flaky and delectably sauced. My dining mates raved about their dinners too, Ravioli and I honestly forgot what my brother had.

Oh and we started dinner with their spicy.. (very spicy) shrimp and artichokes. they loved it. A bit too much for me. the salads were crisp and a great mix of greens and the kind of fresh tomatoes you only find in Florida in the winter.

Was a fun evening..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This restaurant is in a small shopping area and could easily be overlooked.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Service good, staff friendly and food good. Not very crowded and live music on Thursday nights. Family oriented. We had reservation but during week found that the restaurant was not crowded.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“A very pleasurable evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple and close friends, enjoyed an absolutely wonderful dinner and evening at Anthony's. The four of us are on vacation in Bonita Beach and spend two to three months throughout the year in Bonita. We are from the North East and are used to exquisite dining and extensive choices of fine restaurants, from New York to Washington to Boston and the Eastern Shore. We consider ourselves fortunate to have experienced many fine restaurants. After several times of dining at Anthony's, we agree that this has all bases covered in a great dining experience. They have excellent food and drinks, friendly and efficient service, a warm comfortable environment, and a large, reasonable priced selection. Friday and Saturday evenings, Anthony's has a very talented singer, who does a great job on all the classic ballads and very appropriate selections while dining. It amazes me to see some of the negative comments, and I must conclude that those people must have had a bad day prior to dinner. The four of us, in our party, are unanimous in thinking of Anthony's as a wonderful jewel of a restaurant, and we will be enjoying dinners there frequently during our stay in Bonita. Truly a delight.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice surrondings Average Food and Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I whom travel nationally for work spend every spring training in Bonita. Last night we decided to dine at Anthonys. We had a pizza and the Ciopinno. Both were average. Telltale signs were cioppinno which offers lobster. For the price of the cioppino, while high for the market, does not support fresh lobster. The lobster pieces were clearly not fresh and were chewy and tasteless. The sauce lacked the normal zing that you expect from a cioppino from a NY or San Francisco restaurant. The pizza while decent in flavor was burnt on the bottom. Clearly managment did not have enough wait staff available and no one came to refill drinks or check on us though the maitre d stayed at his station in front and seemed unwillingly or did not care that the wait staff was in need of help. With Enzo's Enricos and Angelinas in the market place I see no reason to return to this restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fleamarkettv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Being an avid TripAdvisor reviewer, I was hesitant when friends suggested the restaurant.Recent reviews left me sceptical- recent/or prior to change of ownership?
The restaurant was tastefully decorated and immaculate. Our server, Tina, was friendly,prompt with orders, and everyone was pleased with our varied entrees-fish,pasta, scallops, chicken selections...The bolognese and marsala sauces were rich and thick. Even the accompanying sides-bread, soup, salad were better than average.
When our party of 8 left, the owner and her son met us at the door(in a rare rain)to ask us about our experience.. We'll all surely return!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nanasboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry P, Owner at Anthony's Trattoria, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi from Anthony's, It was a pleasure for us to have you in for dinner, and from our family to yours Thankyou for your support. Our Best, Jerry and Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Trattoria also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing