We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, friendly, a fabulous place with a difference”
Review of Cabbage Key Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bokeelia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabbage Key Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bokeelia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil, friendly, a fabulous place with a difference”
Reviewed January 6, 2011

If you want tranquility and somewhere the pace of life doesn't matter this is the place to go to. With friendly staff eager to make your stay memorable, with great views particularly of sunset (better still if you climb the islands water tower) and well furnished comfortable cottages it provides a true getaway. Try to stay overnight and sample the fresh fish dishes at the restaurant, a different menu to that at lunchtime when the tour boats visit. If the weather is warm, as it usually is, relax and watch the wild life of dolphins and pelicans, to name but two, from your sea front cottage or from the patio outside the restaurant. If it is colder hunker down in the cosy bar in front of an open fire and chat to the staff who are never short of a story or play a game of cards or scrabble.
Iit is well worth arranging the boat transport to get you there. We have been 3 times over 10 years and we will be going again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    77
    33
    21
    22
See reviews for
95
129
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We have visited Cabbage Key many times over the past 15 years or so. This was our first time without our boat due to some problems. It was also our first New Year's Eve on the key. We weren't sure we could change our dock reservations to room reservation with such late notice (two days), but Macy pulled it off. Jeff, the dock master, was on hand to welcome us when we arrive by water taxi, Michelle happily met us at the door and showed us to our room. We had a wonderful large room with private bath and a big comfortable bed. A little noisy, but we and others were there to celebrate. Keith was in the bar ready to make our favorite beverages, Fish (yes that's his name) served us a delicious dinner, while Marlene kept an eye on everything. The following day we walked the nature trail and sat in adirondack chairs and watched hundreds of guests come for lunch. Then the place was turned into a jungle for the Jungle Fever party. We had our own table for the celebration where we enjoyed stone crabs. Then a great DJ got the party going and we danced the rest of the year away. People were dressed in their best jungle costumes - an ape and a woman covered with vines won the prizes. I doubt this will be our last New Year's celebration at Cabbage Key. It is a special piece of "Old Florida".

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Just being new to Florida, as we just purchased house to live in for six months, we decided to take boat ride to Cabbage Key as we were told this was a great place. The four of us had our cold lunches, not much on the menu, a few drinks, received the bill that was $116. I tipped the person $10.00 seeing as there was not much work, or involvement by our waitress while we were there eating. As I was ready to leave after leaving the bill with the waitress we were told that we did not leave enough tip. Never in my 50 years of life have I every been told what or when I have to tip, I always looked at how we were treated in the restaurant and what type of service we received. To have someone come back with the bill and leave it on my table telling me that we need to give more of a tip is a total insult and this would never, never, never happen in a restaurant in Canada because we are not ignorant people, like the ones serving you at Cabbage Key.
The food was not great, it was all cold food, so not much prep done on that, then to turn around and tell us that we did not tip enough was an insult. THIS WILL BE DEFINITELY THE LAST TIME WE WILL GO TO THIS PLACE, I WOULD NOT WANT TO BE INSULTED AGAIN BY YOUR STAFF IN FRONT OF MY FAMILY OR ANYONE ELSE. Maybe the owners should step up and really look at how people are being treated, I surely would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, ever!!!! A tip is suppose to be a gratuity, with the service and the meal. I did not know that you dictate what we give for a tip, this is something that each individual should be able to make up their own mind, with the service and food. Unbelievable experience that I will never go through again,

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank teresavanderhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I enjoy the island of Cabbage Key, and the Inn Staff are personable and accomidating. We stayed in the Cabbage Patch Cottage. I enjoy rustic, but this was just plain run down. We spent an hour repairing dock and walkway lights for our own safety. Windows had no screens, screen doors did not close properly to keep out misquitoes, so we could not enjoy the deck, but it did have a decent AC for the summer. Our trip was in November, so the AC was not needed, and it would have been nice to have been able to open a window. The blinds were broken (actual slats broken out), The place was clean and the maids did an excellent job, but it was simply in disrepair. The kitchen had no cooking utensils, such as sharp knives and spatchulas, but plenty of bowls, and the fan in the bathroom was just plain scary. For over 200 a night in the off season, what you are getting is the view and dock. I was not expecting posh, but just a bit more upkeep. OH...the dinners at the Inn were excellent and Bob and Brian made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debgeorge58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We held our son's rehearsal dinner at Cabbage Key. Perfect location, fantastic food, excellent service...... a great, fun place. The staff went out of their way to make sure all of our needs and requests were a reality.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My husband and I had been to this island before for lunch only and chose to return to stay for a few nights. We stayed at the "Dollhouse" which is an original building. It has a living room, bedroom with full bed, and bath/shower. It also has a wonderful screened porch and a private dock with two adirondack style chairs. The in-season price of about 150$ was well worth it! There is one restaurant on the island serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu is a little short but very delicious! Quiet in the morning for breakfast, lunch in the peak season can be insanely busy with tourists flooding it (call in an order if you are staying there or go at about 11 to 1130). Dinner is a little nicer with a great menu of fish, steak, chicken. Great cheeseburgers and great dinner rolls! There is a great bar in the restaurant open for happy hour which can be all afternoon if you like. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Most live on the island year round, as does the owner who is there frequently. For activities, there a a few nature trails on the island (it is small!) and you can rent a skiff from the dockmaster to go fishing or for a trip to nearby cayo costa state park (incredible beach!). The restaurant will make a to-go lunch for your day out. Also, they have info for more extensive fishing trips if that is what you are wanting. You can dock your boat overnight at the main dock (1.85 per ft) and they have showers at the dock. Basically, if you want to relax this is the place to go, but keep in mind it is a small island that tries to preserve the charm of old Florida.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
182 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We just took a day trip over from Ft Myers to eat at the restaurant and go on to Cayo Costa. We had group of six. We had nice strong cocktails and a good lunch. Stone Crab was great and the pie also. Our waiter was funny and fast. The scenery was perfect. Plan to return and get a cabin on the island. Nice little walking trail for an after lunch stroll.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanExplorer8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokeelia
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,252 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Knoll's Court Motel
Knoll's Court Motel
#2 of 2 in Matlacha
38 reviews
7.5 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,290 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Boca Grande Resort
The Boca Grande Resort
#3 of 3 in Boca Grande
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabbage Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabbage Key Inn

Property: Cabbage Key Inn
Address: Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, Bokeelia, FL 33945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bokeelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bokeelia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabbage Key Inn And Restaurant Hotel Bokeelia
Cabbage Key Inn Florida/Bokeelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing