We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the negative reviewers - Chill Out Already!”
Review of Cabbage Key Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bokeelia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabbage Key Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bokeelia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am a local who has been going by boat to Cabbage Key for 15+years. It's a old house turned restaurant on an island accessible only by boat. You are not going here for a gourmet luncheon. Your not going here for a fresh cobb salad and glass of wine, It's as close to a Caribbean dive bar as you will find in SW Florida, and thank goodness for that! Get the cheeseburger and potato salad, a couple of cold beers, sit at the bar if there's a chair and chill out and enjoy! Just watching boat amateurs and renters try to dock their boats is worth the slighlty overpriced food alone. And to the reviewer who mentioned staying after 3:00pm when the tourists are gone, you got that right. It's a cozy away from home spot and you get to really talk to the folks working there and enjoy the evening. I hope it's stays the "tourist trap" it's always been and never changes for the "better".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BSL24055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for the review...we couldn't have said it better ourselves! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Cabbage Key Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 387 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's a fun trip to Cabbage Key and the food is OK, but nothing I would make a special trip for. It's a tad trickey boating in; stay in the marked channel, as it's very shallow. I was on a jet ski which requires only 2 feet of water and still had to be careful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank boandjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for writing about your recent visit to Cabbage Key. Pine Island Sound can be very tricky to navigate - stay in the channels if you are not sure about the draft of your boat! We are open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. So, the next time you are out on the water and want to grab a bite to eat...stop by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is great place to get lunch if you're boating in the area, but understand that you can only access this place by boat. And that means everything gets there by boat. Don't expect exquisite meals or the best burgers ever. Staff is average and so is the restaurant. But PLEASE, don't forget to bring some extra $1 bills to sign and tape to the walls of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for writing about your recent experience at Cabbage Key. We're happy that you had fun hanging your $'s on the walls - a tradition at Cabbage Key. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading mix reviews. I decided to try. It was a girls trip to cabbage Key. My child had the cheeseburger that was very well done with potato salad that was hot. Yuck! I had the house salad. The waitress decided to put shrimp on my salad and charge me extra for it. The key lime pie was frozen. Overall, this was the worst meal I have had while traveling. With the price of $40.00 for lunch. Ouch!! There is nothing to really see on this island. The walking trail is nothing but a path out next to the houses on the island. Take my advice and pass on this trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank ILove2trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Cabbage Key. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your lunch. I wish you would have notified the manager on duty so they could have made your lunch a better experience. Thank you again for the review and I hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nasty waitress mediocre hamburger mediocre potato salad Hi prices. Next time I'll take the cruise to you useppa And skip this tourist trap entirely. i highly recommend that anyone was considering going to this restaurant not to go. Believe me you will be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank catcrazyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

On behalf of the management and staff at Cabbage Key, I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your visit to our restaurant and Island. I hope that while you were here you were able to speak with the manager regarding your experience. Again, thank you for your contribution and I will share your review with the management and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were very excited about visiting this place after seeing it on Making Waves TV. We had a group of 12 which 5 of them were children. The sodas were very expensive and they did not have water other than bottled water which was expensive too. They gave no refills for the sodas. The food was very below average for the cost. The fish was supposed to be fresh, but my grouper was too touch to eat which is a sign of being frozen prior. The adult drinks were outrageous as well. You have to have very DEEP pockets to come here. We will definately not be revisiting this restaurant. The décor was cool but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

On behalf of the management team at Cabbage Key, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your dining experience. In an effort to let our guests know how much our menu items cost, we post our menus on our Cabbage Key website. Our sodas are not refillable because we use the "canister" syrup system to mix with our water - which costs a bit more - but, makes the sods taste better. Also, we have well-water so we do suggest that our guests purchase the bottled water. I have forwarded your comments about the Grouper to the chef. When we have Grouper, it is fresh (not frozen) from local Pine Island fish vendors - so, it shouldn't have had an "old" or "frozen" taste. Thank you for letting us know about your experience and we hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We boated from Captiva to Cabbage key. Unfortunately were chased by a storm and fought large amount of boat traffic getting there just before we were deluged with rain. By the time we got a place to park and waited for a table it was about an hour. But we were so thankful to have made it to this little paradise. We were tired, wet and hungry! Mark, the host was so very friendly and nice. The service was adequate. The food was awesome. Cheeseburgers are huge, fish sandwiches fresh. No free refills on sodas was a bummer as was the messy bathrooms. By the time we left, the crowds were gone, the storm had passed. Don't think we'll ever get back, but who knows? Seems like great place to stay and get away. Decided to stop by the gift shop to get t-shirts as mementos. Very unique and old Florida. The dock master was also very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed very much and thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Witz-n-fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

I am happy that you were able to get out of the storm and enjoy lunch with us! Stop by and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokeelia
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,360 reviews
9.4 mi away
Knoll's Court Motel
Knoll's Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Matlacha
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,388 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Boca Grande Resort
The Boca Grande Resort
#3 of 3 in Boca Grande
53 reviews
12.4 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabbage Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabbage Key Inn

Address: Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, Bokeelia, FL 33945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bokeelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bokeelia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabbage Key Inn And Restaurant Hotel Bokeelia
Cabbage Key Inn Florida/Bokeelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing