We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Struggling to think of something positive to say......”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabbage Key Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bokeelia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabbage Key Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bokeelia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Struggling to think of something positive to say......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Having rented a boat and having previously researched the area we set off from Cape Coral with the objective of making Cabbage Key our destination, have a great lunch and then head back in the afternoon. All was good, we arrived at CK to be directed to a mooring too small to take out boat, after the dockmaster then realised that he had made an error he directed us to a more suitable area. So, we're here...let's have a great lunch....or so we thought. 2 adults and 3 kids, we ordered different things from the Clam Chowder to salads and a burger, none of which was particularly good. We sat outside at concrete tables and benches, far from comfortable. The food arrived, as did the drinks.......a Budweiser in a can, Cokes that were 3/4 full of ice and no refills....policy of Cabbage Key! So what can I say, I wouldn't bother going back no would I have taken the time and effort to go on this occasion had I known that it was average at best, no not even average......food served on styrofoam plates, cheap plastic cutlery....not for me. I gave given a poor rating, maybe it should have been terrible but I feel generous today.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_1271994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Cabbage Key. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. The outside tables, which is our "first come-first served" section, are concrete...so they can be a little hard! For the safety of our guests, who may be barefooted outside, we only use unbreakable utensils, plates and cups on our patio. We only sell canned and bottled beers (no drafts). In order to give our guests better tasting soda, we use the Pepsi canisters that mix with CO2 - not water (our water is from a well). This method costs more and that is why we charge for refills. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    73
    33
    21
    21
See reviews for
88
123
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We took the cruise to Cabbage Key and ate at their resturant. The prices were outrageous and the menu was very limited. I wouldn't have minded the price if the food and service was excellent.
My daughter ordered a cheeseburger and requested it well done, when she took a bite it was still rare. She was going to send it back so they can cook it alittle longer and the waitress was no where around. The potato salad was bland and dry, their so called homemade clam chowder was not homemade and had a weird after taste. The ruben was far from good and my husband was very disappointed. My children don't drink soda and had their own bottled water with them and we were told to put them away because the manager/owner will get mad. Why should I buy water when we had our own and seriously for the amount they charge for food they are going to cry over bottled water? I had a better meal at McDonalds and paid 85% less then Cabbage Keys prices. If you plan to take a cruise to cabbage key, bring bug repellant cause the bugs attack you and pack your own lunch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crussell21283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Cabbage Key. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your family's experience here and I wish you would have told a manager while you were here so we could have tried to make your lunch enjoyable. As with most restaurants, we do not allow outside food and beverages. Our website has detailed information about our 100-acre Private Island & our menus. Cayo Costa State Park is a beautiful Island located west of us and a great place for a picnic on the beach. Again, I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had been wanting to go to Cabbage Key for a couple years. So with funds saved up, we stayed overnight at their inn. Unfortunately, it was during Tropical Storm Debby which severely limited our opportunity to hike the trails on the island or enjoy other outdoor activities. We spent a bit of time in the bar playing games we brought, and dinner that evening was delicious and relaxing. However, the big 'icing on the cake' moment happened upon waking up the next morning and there was no electricity nor running water. After not being able to enjoy the island and stuck in the inn, this last part was a major disappointment. So needless to say, we were not able to shower nor eat breakfast before our water taxi left. It would have really been nice to have received a partial refund or credit to try again in the future, but I guess this is not their policy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank andmit0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Cabbage Key. Who would have dreamed that "Debby" would have wreaked such havoc on our island! Cabbage Key, Useppa and parts of Pine Island were without power for most of the morning. We certainly do not want our guests to leave here disappointed and we hope that you will be able to come try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

In June 2012 my wife and I stayed at Cabbage Key in the Tarpon Cottage. It was an absolutely fantastic time. We both agreed that we didn't want to leave. Having never been there and not knowing if we would like it, I only booked 4 nights - Epic Fail! I should've booked a week.

If you want to totally relax, this is the place to do it. There are only 7 rentals on this 100 acre unspoiled island. The Tarpon cottage has it's own private dock as do several other of the rentals. We tied our boat up, unloaded to the cottage and 4 of the resident mallards showed up and for food. Every morning and evening 4 mallards and 1 white heron would show up for breakfast. It was also nice watching the ospreys and dolphins feeding and the manatees swim by. One even hung around our dock for 15 minutes.

Neighboring Costa Cayo island is a state park and it is beautiful! Also, you can explore Gasparilla, Captiva and Sanibel islands.

Things to know, if you plan to stay on Cabbage Key. It is only accessible by boat. You can bring your own, or pay for a water taxi. It's best if you have your own boat - It offers you the flexibility to do a lot of great sightseeing and to visit neighboring islands for lunch/dinner/shopping etc. There is a very good restaurant on Cabbage that serves breakfast lunch and dinner 365 days a year. There is also a nice bar, a marina and gift shop.

Among other things, bring bug repellent and an electric grill. There is no charcoal grilling allowed on the island. The noseeums and mosquitos can be bad, but use skin so soft for the noseeums and bring cutter or some other repellent for the mosquitos. They are only bad in the evenings and mornings if the wind is calm. We had no problems with them.

I cannot wait to go back for a week.

Room Tip: There are different size cottages; pick one based on the number of people you have. I like the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fshbustr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at Cabbage Key, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay. It sounds like you really enjoyed what Cabbage Key has to offer. We do recommend bringing your own boat but, there are watertaxi's that can bring you here. Our reservations department is open 7 days a week from 9:30am - 3:30pm and can answer any questions you may have. Remember - we do have a Pay-for-Six Stay-for-Seven rate for weeklong stays. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

It's worth the effort to get here! We are Florida natives and absolutely LOVE this place! Whether stopping for lunch to enjoy a cheeseburger in paradise or enjoying a gourmet, mouthwatering steak for dinner, this place knows how to please! Don't forget to try the key lime for dessert and don't miss the smoked salmon with dill sauce as an appetizer. We literally have to fight our kids for it! The ambiance of this place can't be described in words...old Florida at it's best! If you ever have a chance, don't hesitate, GO

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share about your Cabbage Key experiences. We are an unique, "Old Florida" destination and we love when our guests come again and again! We hope to see you on the Island again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

April 9, 2012 It is hard to verbalize the charm, personality and benefits of Cabbage Key simply because there is nothing to compare it to. It is unique and has to be experienced first hand.

On this visit to Cabbage Key I stayed in the Tarpon Cottage and had one of the most pleasant and detoxifying vacations I have had in a long, long time.

Before I go any further, you need to know that the rooms and cottages at Cabbage Key are not in the same category as the Ritz, the Hilton, Best Western, or even the Red Roof Inn. Even better, it has no intention of ever becoming anything like those (thank God).

Stepping onto Cabbage Key, and staying at the Tarpon Cottage was like taking a step back in time. The cottage is very much the same as it was built many years ago. It is a two bedroom, one bathroom cottage with a kitchen, family room and screened in patio.

Everything about the cottage is simple, yet perfect. The bathroom is small and the shower cramped, but it doesn't matter. It's all part of the charm.

The cottage is surrounded by large, mature oak trees and palms. There is a dock in your front yard. The view from the dock looks northward, over miles of mangrove islands and calm bay waters.

Sitting on the dock, you remember the joys of the simpler things in life, such as the sounds from the Ospreys calling out, watching fish as they jump in the waters before you, seeing Egrets catching minnow, watching as otters frolic about and the distinct aroma of salt water surrounding you.

The best part is when you realize that the inner child in you is still alive and well. You're allowing yourself to be entertained by nature. You (hopefully) have turned off all your electronics, and are taking in the spectacular show that mother nature has provided you. Once you get experience this, you will be a lifetime fan of Cabbage Key.

Most people that stay at Cabbage Key are fishermen. Some are the extreme, hard-core, fishing enthusiasts. Others, like myself, are the type that would rather have a relaxing day on the water, and get excited if a fish accidentally ends up on a hook.

But, you don't have to be a fisherman. You could come to Cabbage Key to do any of the following; relax, nature watch, bird watch, star gaze (almost no light pollution), honeymoon, beach, etc.

One thing to remember, you're going to Cabbage Key to relax. So, do yourself (and all those around you) a favor, turn off your cell phones, electronic tablets and computers. Unplug from the world, and see what it feels like.

Pros: Clean, comfortable, secluded, quiet, friendly
Cons: NoSeeUms(small gnats) and mosquitoes if/when the wind quits

Tips: request a waterfront cottage, bring sunblock for the day and insect repellent for the night, bring your own food and drinks (while the restaurant food is good, it's always nice to have your own), try to unplug from the grid and enjoy the simple life of Cabbage Key.

Please click "helpful" if you felt this was valuable information.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrankInSWFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at Cabbage Key, we would like to thank you for writing such an insightful review of your recent stay. Somemes it is hard for people to remember life before cellphones and computers - but, if you are able to finally unplug, dewind and relax...you will enjoy the simple pleasures of our island. Thank you again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you on the Island soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We call it the $100 hamburger because by the time you fill up the boat with gas and oil, load the cooler with supplies for the day, and make the trek to Cabbage key, you will go through a $100 bill quick. My family has made this trip for many years now. The food is good but by no means gourmet. It's hard to go wrong with a tasty burger. Do try the chilled smoked salmon. Make sure you order extra dill horseradish sauce on the front side. The portion is not real big so we usually order two. Make sure you have an extra couple of dollar bills. The tradition is to tape or staple a signed dollar to the walls, ceilings, fans, just about anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zamboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
When I first read, "The $100 Hamburger", I got a little scared!! Whether you are on your own boat or take one of the water taxi's, it is not cheap to get out to Cabbage Key. However, once you are here and enjoy a hamburger, people watch and hang up a dollar....you will be bringing your family back for years! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokeelia
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
7.5 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
17.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabbage Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabbage Key Inn

Property: Cabbage Key Inn
Address: Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, Bokeelia, FL 33945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bokeelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bokeelia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabbage Key Inn And Restaurant Hotel Bokeelia
Cabbage Key Inn Florida/Bokeelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing