We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Boca Raton
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
nyc
1 review
“rooms smell”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

we never change rooms, but the persistent smell of body odor had us requesting a new room. they let us try another room, which smelled worse, and then we tried the third room which was just okay.

that being said, they were perfectly friendly about the whole thing -- i guess they're used to the complaint.

i expect more from marriott.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landmarknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amccrae, Manager at SpringHill Suites Boca Raton, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Thank you for giving us your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re sorry about the situation with you having to move into a new room. It is not a complaint we receive often but we hope that our staff handled your requests professionally and courteously. It is our hope that you will consider us the next time you are in need of hotel accommodations in Boca Raton. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    134
    47
    24
    12
See reviews for
124
89
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We had an "ok" stay at this hotel. We got a "priceline/hotwire" style room which for anyone that has used these services know, you usually get put in the rooms that aren't "really" suites, or get put by the elevator or ice machines. That was the case with our room. It looked like it was carved out of a room, that really wasn't intended to be a guest room. It was roughly shaped like the letter K with a couch on the lower right leg, and the bed on the upper right leg and the TV right in the chokepoint. Very odd. The TV was not ideally situated for either bed or couch viewing, so we re-arranged the furniture a little while we were there.

Speaking of the TV, it was a nice flat panel, and I was happy to see at least a FEW channels were in high def. But the channel changing had a really long delay when changing channels, so you'd channel up or down, the screen would go black, then a few seconds later the image comes on. Really annoying.

The bed I thought was great. I can handle them any way but I like them really mushy and soft. My wife likes them really firm and she's ultra sensitive to this stuff. She had the worst night ever on a hotel bed, and ended up sleeping on the floor the 2nd night. She said there was a serious depression in the bed. I didn't notice that, but it did seem to be more mushy than any hotel bed I can remember.

The room and the rest of the hotel looked pretty clean. There was a computer room that was really nice to have.

The breakfast.... eh.... same old "Days Inn" quality stuff. Stiff bagels, orange juice from a machine, scrambled eggs discs in the shape (and taste) of hockey pucks, and the obligatory waffle machine. Coffee was pretty ragged, but I think it's indicative of coffee in Florida. It's definitely still in the "truck stop/Folgers" mode. We had a tough time finding good coffee anywhere in FL... even the Starbucks were weakened down.

But I must say that there was a very big plus for us, and I hope I'm not blowing their cover or not, but they had a Manager's Special the night we arrived that was just fantastic! Real food, wine, beer, and beverages. We were both very impressed with the spread, and it definitely raised our opinion of the place. We were told it was a Wednesday night only thing.

So I'd say 4 stars and my wife would say 3 (for the bed issue), and we'll average up because of the great Manager's Special.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amccrae, Manager at SpringHill Suites Boca Raton, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites in Boca Raton, Fl. We appreciate all of the feedback we get from our guests.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Wednesday night Manager’s Reception! We enjoy providing this service as it gives us a chance to mingle with our guests and offer a relief after what might have been a long day.

However, I am sorry to hear that you were not totally pleased with the design of our guestrooms. Every SpringHill Suites is designed to offer 25% more space than an average guestroom so I hope that you found our spacious suites otherwise comfortable.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will visit us again during your next trip to Boca Raton, FL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1hotelsnob
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I will say I have a sensitive nose but my hubby does not and he smelled it too. We tried two different rooms, both have the smell. We even stuck air fresheners in the window seal..to no avail. i think it came from the moisture trapped in between the 2 panes...YUCK..smells like mildrew/body odor...gag.
Other than the smell issue, nice hotel and good breakfast. Pool very refreshing and nicely furnished (towels and chairs and umbrellas). We were supposed to stay a week but left after 2 nights...due to smell and we went to another Marriott in Delray Beach.
Hotel staff is EXCELLENT and try to help in every way!
I would recommend this hotel as long as smells do not bother you...if you have a sensitive nose go elsewhere...unfortunate but being honest!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hotelsnob1hotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lybarra, E-Marketing Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Boca Raton, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback from your stay with us.
We appreciate the feedback, this helps us to always find ways to improve our product and service. I am so sorry that you left us early; however we have discovered and resolved the ‘smell’ issue you had encountered. Thank you for your comments about our refreshing pool, it is a great place to relax and the breakfast is always yummy! Our staff always strives to make the guest as comfortable as possible and we appreciate you taking the time to comment on their great service! We hope to see you back when you are in Boca Raton again, and would love to have the opportunity to make your stay a perfect one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troop395
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I want to thank Lauretta Ybarra for all the help with our trip. We had a wonderful stay and the hotel staff was spectacular. Chantel, who was at the front desk, was extremely helpful and we were all very pleased with the hotel and the hospitality. We took advantage of the pool which was great after a very warm day and the conference room where the girls watched a movie and had popcorn. Please extend our thank you’s to Chantel and we thank you again for all the accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troop395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at SpringHill Suites Boca Raton, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
Hello, troop395 -

Thank you so much for your review and for your kind words! We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us; it was a pleasure to serve you and your troop.

We will pass along your sentiments to Lauretta and Chantel... we are fortunate to have such amazing team members serving our valued guests!

Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Always,
SpringHill Suites Boca Raton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Stayed overnight on our way back from the Florida Derby. Clean, comfortable room and safe, attractive location. Complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise and a lot better than the cereal and stale pastries I had expected.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cigvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at SpringHill Suites Boca Raton, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
Hello! Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback.

We are thrilled you had a good experience at our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure to serve you again sometime soon. And thanks for the comment about the breakfast; we're glad you enjoyed. Our "Suite Seasons" breakfast is very popular.

thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Yours in hospitality,
SpringHill Suites Boca Raton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Springhill Suites was excellent for the money. Ended up staying there 5 nights and was intending only to sleep there, but was in a serious car accident and instead was there 24/7 for 5 days and nights. Everything was there we needed. Front desk staff was very good at problem solving - finding us a van to retrieve our stuff from our totaled car, driver service to the pharmacy and airport, and boxes and supplies to UPS our stuff from our car home. Pool was lovely - outdoor pool was heated to 88 degrees or so. Clean - no chemical smell. Exercise room was adequate. 3 computers and printers for guests. Nice hot breakfast with fruit out all day. Delivery available from 5 or 6 restaurants. REALLY clean and comfy rooms - and we were sore from the accident............so we were picky. EXCELLENT VALUE!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank team_espresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at SpringHill Suites Boca Raton, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
Hello! Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

First of all, we are so sorry about your accident. We hope you are doing well now and have had a full and speedy recovery. However, we are very happy that you found our hotel a safe, comfortable, and enjoyable place to spend every minute of your 5 nights with us.

I'm glad you found the staff to be helpful; we are very lucky to have what we consider the best team members in the world. Also, we're glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful, tropical pool, and delicious breakfast.

We regret that you had a bad accident while in our town, but hope that we have the chance to serve you again the next time you are in Boca Raton.

thanks again for your feedback and good luck with the recovery.

Always,
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We got a very good rate from hotewire. The room was clean and comfortable but was quite small for a suite. A definate plus was the free in room internet access. The staff were friendly and very helpful at providing local information.

Breakfast was average - cereal, toast etc.

The pool and hot tub were nice and not too busy.

The hotel location suited us as it was quite near the freeway and it was very easy for us to find our way around.

Overall it is a nice hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, free parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sruffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at SpringHill Suites Boca Raton, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad you had a good time at our hotel and enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boca Raton hotels
1.7 mi away
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Boca Raton
Wyndham Boca Raton
#8 of 27 in Boca Raton
1,436 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boca Raton
Hilton Garden Inn Boca Raton
#6 of 27 in Boca Raton
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Boca Raton
Hampton by Hilton Boca Raton
#2 of 27 in Boca Raton
582 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boca Raton Marriott at Boca Center
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boca Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Boca Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Boca Raton

Property: SpringHill Suites Boca Raton
Address: 5130 NW 8th Ave, Boca Raton, FL 33487-8238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boca Raton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boca Raton
#10 Family Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Boca Raton 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Boca Raton is the ideal hotel for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Located in Boca Raton, Florida, the SpringHill Suites is within minutes of several local businesses and championship golf courses like Broken Sound Golf Course. You will be sure to enjoy outstanding service and amenities at the SpringHill Suites Boca Raton. Our suites are 25% larger than the traditional hotel room giving you space to relax and enjoy your trip. Other amenities for you to enjoy include an outdoor pool, Free Wifi, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, and 24 Hour Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Boca Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Boca Raton Hotel Boca Raton
Boca Raton Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing