We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Inn
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visit our son and his family in Delray Beach, but his house is too small to accommodate us. So I looked to Trip Advisor for hotel advise and was happy to have found the Best Western Plus University Inn. We were warmly received even though the lobby was being remodeled and was really noisy. Our room was very nice and right off the garden entry. The room was totally redecorated except the toilet/tub area and that was fine. The bed was really comfortable and my husband enjoyed the included breakfast. The chair in the room looked really comfortable but had a very too many stains for me to enjoy. Please don't think the room was dirty because it wasn't. We liked it so much we are returning at Thanksgiving. You can't beat this quality for the price.

Room Tip: We were in room 104 which is right on the 1st floor behind the lobby. You walk through a garden are...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reddmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 611 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our last-minute stay at this hotel was surprisingly delightful. My husband and I unexpectedly had to spend a night in Boca, and were looking for a good value in a convenient location (on Federal Hwy.). Although they were in the midst of remodeling and the lobby was under construction, the room was beautifully decorated and very clean, and the included breakfast the next day was scrumptious! All the employees were extremely friendly, warm, and accommodating.

When the renovations are complete, which should be soon, this hotel will be a lovely little gem in the normally high-priced Boca Raton area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcclungj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We received a free evening at this hotel and for the most part it was great. The restaurant and the bar that is located in the hotel are both closed and currently not available to the customers. This fact was not pointed out on the web site when I booked the room. of the main reasons I chose this hotel was so we would not have to leave the property once we checked in. The room was fine and the service at the front desk was fine,I was just disappointed.

Room Tip: get one near pool
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregory5220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staff friendly, facility dated, room had dead centipedes, coffee maker dirty, toilet troubles (flushing), most problems promptly resolved, though should not have happened to begin with. for the price will chose a different location in the future. Breakfast was so-so. Pool was nice, daughter enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mike1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was a building site - both in its appearance and the way it was run - the physical building site i could have lived with as you can see that it will get better However, the management and customer service was so poor it will not improve until the manager is removed and replaced with one who cares for building the business by excellence and not argument. I stay in BW hotels all the time, and this is the worst i have ever stayed at. However the room was up to standard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_boca_gm, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

David-

I would like to apologize from all the staff from not meeting your expectations. While our lobby is currently going through a renovation, that is no excuse for any disagreement you might have had with the manager.

Please know that we do take customer satisfaction very seriously, which is why you were upgraded to our deluxe room with complimentary snacks and bottled water.

We hope you allow us the chance to re-experience our hotel once the renovations are complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have to say I don't normally stay in hotels where the room door opens to the outside, but the pic's on the internet looked appealing, the price was right and the location was perfect for us. First of all the outside rooms open to a tropical court yard. There are locked gates all the way around, so you feel safe and secure. The extra security really wasn't needed because it is a very nice area. The rooms were clean and roomy. Each room had a microwave, refrigerated, and coffee pot. A full breakfast was included. There were a couple little problems which the staff immediately took care of. No complaints. It is located between FAU and the beach. Just a short drive to either one. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a deluxe room. There's no difference. Less walking with first floor room...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_boca_gm, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are all glad you had a wonderful stay at the hotel, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I booked a room for four nights to visit FAU and checked out after a few hours. Best Western has a high standard so I was a little disappointed when the bathroom in my otherwise very clean and updated room was run-down and dirty. I flushed the toilet within minutes of checking in and water spewed from the top of the tank. I notified the front desk and someone from maintenance was working on the toilet within minutes. The staff was very professional and prompt, which I appreciated, although after a long day of flying, I just wanted a room in which I could relax.

I went down to the pool and sunbathed for a while, and when I came back up to get in the shower, the shower head stalled, didn't release any water, then spewed out black gunk. I was horrified. I immediately packed my bags and notified the front desk that due to continuing plumbing issues and utterly disgusting shower water, I needed to leave immediately. A different woman was at the front desk and she was also very professional and courteous, she voided the remainder of my reservation charges but couldn't guarantee that I would be reimbursed for the check-in day. I was told I could speak with a manager later about the issue. As of this writing, the charge hasn't shown up on my credit card statement.

The staff was professional and courteous, but I don't recommend this hotel until the issues with plumbing are addressed and righted.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_boca_gm, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Sarah-

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your brief stay with us.

I am glad someone was able to address your toilet issue right away, but we are still working on understanding the shower issue. We have not been able to replicate the issue you experienced. I am truly sorry that it happened to you as we strive to make all our guest have the best stay as possible.

We hope you give us another opportunity to win you over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boca Raton hotels
0.2 mi away
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Boca Raton
Wyndham Boca Raton
#7 of 27 in Boca Raton
1,500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#10 of 27 in Boca Raton
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boca Raton Marriott at Boca Center
2.5 mi away
Waterstone Resort & Marina Boca Raton, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.6 mi away
Boca Beach Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Inn

Address: 2700 North Federal Highway, Boca Raton, FL 33431 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boca Raton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boca Raton
#14 Business Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range: $82 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tropical lifestyle in sunny Florida at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, located minutes to the area's favorite attractions, universities and business centers. Just minutes away, you will find the unspoiled beaches of Boca Raton for snorkeling, swimming, sport fishing and boating, the charming and unique atmosphere of Mizner Park, or golfing at one of the many beautiful and challenging golf courses. Each oversized well-appointed room features new pillow top queen and king sized beds, free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, cable TV with HBO®, iron/ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. Try one of our deluxe rooms with flat screen televisions and a complimentary snack. A complimentary shuttle to area beaches is available as well as a shuttle to the airport at a minimal charge. Guests will enjoy the free hot breakfast featuring "bacon and eggs" at either the beautiful palm breakfast room or our gorgeous landscaped patio. Relax by our extra large heated pool and heated spa, enjoy all the lush vegetation in our landscaped gardens, or do nothing. After all, it is your vacation. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn and experience Boca's Best Value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Hotel Boca Raton
Best Western University Hotel
Best Western Boca Raton
Boca Raton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing