We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food a disappointment”
Review of Trattoria Romana

Trattoria Romana
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Romana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 812 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N.E. 5th Ave.
IOM
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food a disappointment”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Saturday night, very busy really noisy place, do not go if want to chat.
Waiter excellent, recited the long list of specials faultlessly by heart.Only if the food had lived up to his descriptions,
Starters various salads good ,fresh presentations but two of our four main courses left much to be desired.
1, A Dover sole,not asked how I wanted ,on or off the bone, looked like it was fillets from a food service , over cooked
And over heated from sitting under the heat lamps and waiting to be served, other course was a dubious looking veal served in a doubtful sauce.
Price high
Would not recommend for the food ,particularly when busy.
Sorry, but we paid a real top price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeZee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    83
    31
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Boca Gem”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Visited for the first time at this little slice of Rome in March. With all that Boca has to offer in the way of restaurants, this venue was a great choice. We dined on the patio and enjoyed every moment. The food....excellent! The staff........professional, friendly, knowledgeable about the menu offerings, and efficient. Ask for additional servings of their complementary bruschetta, and there it was without delay. Our server, Giannoni by name, was so accomplished that we made it a point at the end of our visit to single him out to the manager with praise. Definitely a place to enjoy authentic Italian dining in Boca.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFV516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent bar service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Christina and George, at the bar, great! They made great drinks, where personable and split plates at the bar. Veal chop special and house tomato bruschetta fabulous

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Food so good I wrote a review.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am by no means a foodie but this place is incredible. Pro staff. Dressed well, smart, fast. You can't help but feel cool at this place. Top Notch.

Plus, the valet washes your car for like 10 bucks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westboro
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great waiter.Sat outside on a beautiful Sunday evening. Extensive wine list.
Based on reviews, we were all set for one amazing dinner, until the actual ordered food arrived!
The pasta courses, i.e. linguine with clams and buccatini with broccoli rape were just okay, watery would be a better description. The $49 lamp chops were fatty and tasteless, served with the mushiest side of broccoli I have been ever served. The veal chop parmigiana had a wonderful presentation but again tasteless. The sauce served with it was thin, watery and tasteless! what a disappointment! And again, a side of THE most over cooked broccoli. If a restaurant can't get veggies right, fear the more complicated dishes! We wanted to like this dinning experience but left wondering what the fuss was all about. We will not return here with many other choices in the area for good italian. This review is about the food, the location and service were otherwise terrific.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kerdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Romana also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing