We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Romana

Trattoria Romana
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Romana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 802 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N.E. 5th Ave.
Highland Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food and service has always been great at this restaurant. Have been 5 times and will return. Great for a special occasion. There are many Italian restaurants in the area but this is my favorite. Not inexpensive so good for a special event. Easy to share an appetizer where half is as big as you would want.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    82
    31
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Monday night high season”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We called and asked for a reservation and were told that they had nothing available until after 8:30 so at 7:00 pm we went out and drove down towards the Beach. When we drove by the restaurant we saw that there were quite a few tables so stopped in and were slightly reluctantly given a table in the doorway. We asked to move as there were so many tables available and were taken to a nice table against the wall.

The restaurant is beautiful. I hadn't been here in many years and it's been designed to look like an outdoor venue in a Vineyard. Hanging vines, rustic bricks, candle light and acoustic tiles (artistic) give a great ambience and the room never gets too loud.

We were given water, very good bread and bruschetta tomatoes.

Our waiter Lisandro was very attentive and knowledgable and told us without pause all the specials. They all sounded wonderful but when we asked the prices they seemed quite high.

I ordered a special langoustine with linquini (half portion), my husband ordered bucatelli puttanesca and my son ordered veal marsala. The service was very attentive and we were never without water or wine refilled if we needed it.

Our entrees were brought out and honestly, the portions were very small. Usually the portions in the restaurants we go to are so large we always bring home the left overs and have lunch the next day. These portions were so small that we were hungry afterward.

For the price and the quality of food I felt it was average. Our bill with tip was $170.00. That is a lot of money for 3 small entrees, 2 glasses of wine, 1 Sambuca and a tira misu. Don't you think?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lemonpie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food is very good but make sure your wallet is plenty full.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The food at this restaurant is very good but the prices are ridiculously expensive. My advise is not to order from the specials as the waiter does not tell you the price and when the bill arrives you may pass out. Also be sure to make a reservation and request the porch/patio The restaurant is very noisy and too crowded. Just walking through the room to go to the restaurant is difficult.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second visit, very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We ate at Trattoria Romana in Nov, 2012 and the food was delicious, well prepared and served with expertise. Our second visit was Jan 18, 2013, where we ate with friends who are authentic "foodies." We asked for the waiter's suggestion after describing the sort of wine we like. The wine he served was not even close to fulfilling our request and when we mentioned to him that it was not to our liking, he only apologized, never made the offer to serve something else. Two people in our party ordered the Dover Sole, one person had bits of lobster shell in his sauce and the other person said the texture of the fish was poor and the sauce without much flavor, they were both disappointed with their meals and there is nothing inexpensive about the prices. When the waiter was told of those issues, he again just apologized, saying lobster shell should not be in the sauce, but it was! The tables are placed incredibly close to one another and the noise makes it difficult to carry on a conversation, We were very disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaSha3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I've Had Better Here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This terrific dining and meeting place is always crowded which visibly attests to its popularity. Even with a reservation one is sometimes left with the sentiment of being fortunate they let you in.
The most selective food choice here and also the best kept secret is the delectable pompano which is caught in the nearby surf. When pompano is requested by a patron the waiter furtively moves away to confidentially inquire about its scarce availability.Typically, there is almost always only one left. On a recent return visit the pompano which is traditionally presented in a buttery sauce with a hazelnut topping, was again sensational. A chicken breast stuffed with cured prosciuto, provole and spinach and bathed in a delicate creamy mushroom sauce was well executed and tasty. A generous piece of swordfish was moist and delicious. However, lagostino on a bed of linguine was most disappointing. The lagostino were spongy and tastless. The dish further failed because the portion of pasta provided was woefully insufficent.
We picked outside seating to take advantage of the breezy warm evening. This was in part a mistake. Although the outside area is well appointed and supervised by a manager dedicated to the section, the wait staff on this occasion were not top drawer. The best it appeared were assigned the choice area in the heart of the establishment. Previous visits here were enjoyable and even memorable but not this particular reunion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hiddenvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Romana also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing