We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Downhill!”
Review of Chops Lobster Bar

Chops Lobster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Chops Lobster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 814 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chops Lobster Bar in Royal Palm Place is a true destination, offering Boca Raton’s best quality USDA Prime meats and a wide selection of pristine seafood. It boasts two levels: Chops, a luxe steakhouse setting, and Lobster Bar, a chic seafood bar with mosaic tile and extensive raw bar. The hip bar features live music and an extensive, award-winning wine list.
Florida
Level Contributor
248 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Going Downhill!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Have always liked this place but have been there twice in the past few weeks and something is off. Our first trip service was slow and our food was off, the one dish tasted like the pasta had been microwaved. On our stop 2 days ago, we were greeted well, the server got our table set up, and we had look for him for the rest of dining, for the food and the drinks, and eventually our bill. Food again was not up to Chops Lobster bar norm, and it was not even very busy. Wake up management, it is a competitive market and so many other choices of places to go. Very disappointed. Twice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    94
    48
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
144 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Choose a different steakhouse.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Did not meet our expectations. "Ceviche" was cooked fish sitting in a dish consisting of primarily chopped vegetables. Lobster roll contained too much mayo. Porterhouse not up to fine steakhouse standards; too much gristle, not cooked to order. Servers are NOT professionally trained. One guest in our party left the table as the entrees were served. The server kept her entree warm. When she returned, she had far too long a wait for her entree to be served. This is unacceptable in this type of establishment. The selection of craft beers is absolutely pathetic. The acoustics make it impossible to have a pleasant conversation during the meal. Hostesses dress inappropriately. Incredibly disappointing overall. Foodies should choose a different steakhouse.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sine-Wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Impressive decor, quality meat and fish, expensive”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Business dinner - Very impressive decoration for American restuarants. Busy and with a reason...
The service is OK even when it is that busy - ordering with our large grouop was without mistakes and quickly done.
Appetizer (lobster/calamaris) was super nice, right taste, hot, fresh (not frozen calamaris...!)
Steaks were all high quality meat and cooked exactly as ordered. The fish plates also well prepared and very good fresh taste!
Wine advised suited very nice, cocktails also very good mixed.
But... it has its price and in my opinion, it is too expensive - but ok, the interior must be paid as well ;)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

went here for birthdays....nice touch that birthday wishes were extended by staff....seafood especially lobster was great.....friend had twin filet mignons and said it was great....very nice setting and excellennst staff and service....pricey but good....well worth it for the food and experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Simply no complaints here!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

First time at Chops after moving to Boca in 1/2013. I have a friend from New Jersey who always migrates here from October to April for his golf, so when he arrived in October we got together for dinner. I chose the first venue (Grand Lux), which he had never been to, and was impressed with it (it takes a lot to impress him!). He chose the second one, last night, Chops.

Beautiful building and restaurant at Royal Palm (my friend lives next door!). Lovely, lovely area. Cordial and efficient valet parking too.

We met a little after 7 PM, and the bar was packed (happy hour). When we met up we decided to get drinks and head out to the covered patio in front, with several comfy sofas and tables, to enjoy our drinks, and have conversation without shouting at one another. Very nice.

Sure enough, around 8 PM there's a somewhat steady line of people leaving the bar, and by 8:15 we went in and immediately found two seats at the bar.

They had a duo performing (male and female) and they were excellent. Service at the bar was great. My friend had a steak thingy with a big wedge of iceberg lettuce (I'm not a steak-eater), but I still had their bacon cheeseburger with Gruyere cheese (one of my favorite cheeses). Excellent, cooked as I wanted it, great quality, and well-worth the $14, and with probably house-made potato chips, and a huge slice of tomato and lettuce on the side. My friend gobbled down his meal without a hint of issue with it.

All was great, and the manager and his female assistant at the front door were very friendly and cordial. I don't need any stuffy attitudes at places such as this, and they do not seem to serve that up!

Chops is definitely on my "return" list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loubetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chops Lobster Bar also viewed

 
Boca Raton, FL
 
 

Been to Chops Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing