We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't impressed at all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boca Raton Museum of Art

Boca Raton Museum of Art
Ranked #6 of 83 things to do in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Boca Museum of Art celebrates, presents, interprets, collects, preserves, encourages, and inspires creativity. Open free on the first Sunday of each month.
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Maybe it's just that I haven't been to an art museum before, but I found myself asking repeatedly, "THIS is art??" Granted, upstairs, there are some beautiful oil paintings that are masterpieces. BUT...across from those are some very odd pieces of art, if you want to call them that. One display looked like a bunch of black Ikea boxes that were stacked in a pyramid. another was an orange canvas about 8 feet tall, and on the canvas was a round circle, and several black lines coming from it. That's it. Another, on the wall nearby, looked like just the lid of an old wooden casket that you might see in an old dracula movie. It was painted a solid color, and that's it. A casket lid looking piece of wood on the wall. I fully expected to walk into one of the exhibit spaces and just see a pair of shoes under glass and someone calling it art. I just don't get it the attraction, I suppose.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank C4vy579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    81
    45
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bernardston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A cute museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was a nice museum to visit on our trip. The modern art was pretty cool and while we were there they had a competition of local artists so it was cool to see people from the area and they art that they created.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyD_01337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a Surprise for Modern Art Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very surprised and pleased at the selection of artists exhibited at the Boca Raton Museum of Art. We noticed many artists from the George Pompidou Museum in Paris.
When you walk in please don't ask the guard on the left for info - (as many people did)
he's a sculpture!.
WHAT A TREAT!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank XNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting artists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've visited when specific artists were featured or when I happened to be in town with free time. It's relatively small, compared to major cities' art centers.

Helpful?
Thank Kathyleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The current fashion exhibit is well worth the price of admission. However, there are so many different types of exhibits, and works of art, that you are likely to find something to capture everyone's imagination. Great for families.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Raton Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Boca Raton Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing