We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Not !!”
Review of 101 Cantina - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
101 Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
newyork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant Not !!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Really a Bar.....don't be fooled by claim of a restaurant. Went at 7:30 Saturday night. The fact that there were only 3 tables occupied should have been a clue. 4 people behind the bar .....all texting. Finally got a server's attention......Great Margarita......should have stopped there.

Took about 30 minutes for basic beef enchiladas. Yes server should have checked earlier...but too busy texting. Went at it for 20 minutes solid. Finally got entree......was ok...but of course huge restaurant with 3 tables a bit depressing. Gets lively late night for drinks......go elsewhere for food!!

Usually give negative experience a second chance.....not this time. Will wait until it changes again.....won't be long !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for Sundays”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Dang - free tequila shots every hour on the hour for everyone on Sundays, and 3x the amount of liquor in your rail drink for the price of 1 also on Sunday. It's the place to be!

The food was also very good and fresh. The single tacos are quite small but had a good amount of meat on them. The nachos were $9.50 and EASILY enough for a pretty big guy like myself. I recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank patrickbarrett1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, food, and drinks”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

If your are looking for an outstanding Mexican restaurant then Cantina 101 in Boca, MInzer Park is definitely a must go. My friends and I like the atmosphere and the food a lot. Just last week we were able to order our food and have it delivered by foodoozle. com. Food came hot and fast, AND as always delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'm from Boca, and i've heard of the 101 name so i had to try it out. Decided to get the quesadillas and let me tell you, they didn't disappoint. i was very pleased with the new atmosphere they have going on here and the service was incredible. I could tell that there was a little bit of confusion at first because it was game day, but after a while everything started moving smoothly. a great addition to boca.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank msmitty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kitchen needs to get their act together”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This used to be the Mexican, and is now under new ownership for the past few months. We went on a Sunday night, and seemed to be the only table ordering food inside. The bar was busy, with mostly a young drinking crowd. We ordered loaded queso with beef, no beans as one of our appetizers. The first time it came out, it was plain queso. We sent it back. The second time it came out, it was plain queso. We sent it back again. The third time it came out, it was loaded queso with chicken and beans. At this point we gave up and just ate it. We had also ordered 4 of their mini tacos, and there were only 3 when the order came out. I don't understand how the kitchen can make so many errors when it wasn't even busy. I doubt we'll be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 101 Cantina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing