We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be good but not so anymore”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #248 of 826 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
AL1432
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to be good but not so anymore”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We used to enjoy this Outback (18th St. Boca) but found the experience lacking on our recent visit. Ordered shrimp and fillet combo, which the waitress said was a cut of Fillet Mignon but which I could tell was not. The steak was ordered medium-well but came out very well done on the inside and burnt in places on the outside. We sent it back only to find the replacement equally overcooked. There were four tiny shrimp which were very over-seasoned with pepper and salt. The salad was good but basically chain-restaurant fare. Two burnt/overcooked entrees back-to-back was enough to make us decide not to return to this restaurant anytime soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AL1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    33
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“What I expected”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Pretty mediocre...
On a busy Friday evening there was a very long wait for a table and that predisposed me to being critical.
Now I can be objective.
The service was slow and inattentive. The steak was cooked properly but lacked taste. The meals were just OK. There are so many other really good restaurant choices in Boca Raton. Carrabas (almost around the corner and part of the same company) is a better choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Terrible Food & Service”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to outback every time I visit America but this restaurant has to be the worst I have visited. The greeter was not very engaging and looked as though she did not really want to be there she did not smile the whole time we were there. We had to return our steaks as they were so tough we could not eat them. The manager came over to speak to us and he did not have very good customer service skills and did not really resolve the situation. We asked for extra coconut shrimp instead of another steak which we received. The bathrooms were dirty and this was reported to the manager. Overall not a good experience and would not return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scratbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Nephew's Choice”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It's Outback. I did not pick it but it is where my 18 year old nephew wanted to go.

As long as he enjoyed it, we are good. The chocolate milkshake was a big plus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gave another chance after many years of not eating here...”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Still nothing special. Everything was average to fair. The whole place was being run by young people who were more interested in their personal cell phones, than actually providing service. Never saw a manager or someone who might have been in charge.
The blooming onion was as bad as I remember. Many people love them, but to me it was greasy, deep fried and awful. The onion soup was average. Nothing special. The cheese was only partially melted and the soup itself was very salty. The salads were traditional chain restaurant salads. As for the steak, we got what we paid for and the meat was tough and chewy. This is not my type of restaurant, but if pressed to return, I probably would, but not going back on my own accord.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing