We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and poor quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mimosa Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mimosa Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Military Trail
Fryeburg ME
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive and poor quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The first impression of Mimosa is positive. The manager seemed was very pleasant and we only had to wait a few minutes after we arrived for a reservation. Our waitress was also very pleasant.

However, the Mimosa lacks in customer service. Two of our party ordered the veal dish and we were informed that they had run out of it. Our daughter, a vegetarian, ordered the salmon-- it too was no longer on the menu.

The only other choice was a fettucine alfredo. We should have been tipped off when the waitress said that they really did not " Do vegetarian". She was unable to eat her meal stating that it was bland and not very good.

As the dishes were cleared I mentioned this to the waitress. I would have really expected the restaurant to take this dish off the check. I would not expect to request this courtesy-- it is what a considerate restaurant would do. Any restaurant can make a bad meal-- it is what the establishment does to make up for it, and leave the customer with the perception that they were important. In this case, Mimosa failed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our party of four ordered two appetizers and four entrees. We waited an hour before the onion soup was served. We knew we were in trouble when we looked around after 40 minutes and realized that no one at the eight tables around us had been served. When our main course was finally served it was not hot. It was clear that the duck was not cooked to order. If it had been at least that would have been a good reason for the long wait. The duck was barely warm on the outside and actually cold on the inside although it was cooked through, thus reheated and not very well! The scoop of mashed potatoes was luke warm. The lamb Osso bucco was stringy. I've had better food on an airplane. Skip this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LBF02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
139 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Goog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Xmas dinner. Pre fix menu. Gorgeous. Onion soup as appetizer. Moussels as main dish. Very good. Service very good also. I ll be back asap.

Helpful?
Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Shortcuts Unworthy of French Cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Before trying the early bird at Mimosa, we read both reviews on TripAdvisor. I must say that our experience was much different than those of the previous reviewers.

The place is neat and clean but very plain, with no serious effort put into the decor. The host/owner was gracious and seemed, on the surface, to be concerned with our experience in his establishment. The server was quite pleasant, but she was obviously inexperienced, unaware of the order of things, pace of service, and apparently unable to carry more than 2 items at a time.

But, it was the food and presentation that were really unsatisfactory. The basket of bread was about 6 very thin slices of baguette, apparently doled-out as though it were made of gold. The butter was 2 small pats wrapped in foil. The onion soup was mediocre- not bad, but lacking much in the way of herbs & wine, making it somewhat bland. My veal "medallions" were not medallions at all, but little bite-sized strips of veal covered with an overly thick, brown, viscous sauce that seemed to come from a can. My wife's grilled salmon was well-prepared and she liked it. On both plates were one small roasted tomtato that tasted bad to both of us, a little dollop of mashed potatoes, and a medley of bland vegetables. Our desserts were chocolate cake and profiteroles, both of which were good. The American-style coffee was very strong, but had a funny taste, maybe chicory or detergent residue.

The price for the early bird was $18.95 per person, which would be quite reasonable, if only the food were better. For us, the whole idea of French cuisine is careful preparation with great ingredients. Mimosa seemed to take some unwelcomed cheap shortcuts: 2 pats of butter in foil from the dairy, an undersized serving of bread, canned-like gravy atop veal, and veal "medallions" that were cut into little bite-sized strips (much the way a parent would cut up food for a small child), were not in the spirit of good French cooking. All of this didn't seem like Mimosa was just having a bad day; this was a reflection of the attitude of the owner. So, we respectfully disagree with the previous reviewers and would definitely not return to Mimosa.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
163 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A little of France in Boca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The restaurant isn't the greatest looking one at all and the staff can be a bit grouchy even when they're trying to be friendly, but something must be right in the kitchen because the food is always good and if you arrive early enough it's affordable!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimosa Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing