We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”
Review of Spicy Ginger - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spicy Ginger
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

While the menu has a wide range of items, the four of us did take-out for our first experience with this restaurant. We ordered 8 or so items from appetizers to entrées and were underwhelmed by each and every dish. It's not that the meats were bad, the sauces were bad, the taste was bad. We had high hopes for this restaurant based on the selection. Sadly, those hopes were dashed. There are too many other Asian restaurants in or near Boca Raton. We will continue frequent them instead of Spicy Ginger.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Meal”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went out looking for a new Chinese place and decided to try Spicy Ginger, and we were greatly surprised! I had a craving for Moo Shu Pork and it was way beyond my expectations.- - delicious! Michael ordered soup, an eggroll and the Ginger Shrimp. He said it was delicious, I did not taste it (too busy with my own), but it looked unlike any other Chinese dish I have seen. There were very large, beautifully prepared shrimp with mixed vegetables sitting in a LIGHT, fresh gingery sauce. Unlike most of the NY style restaurants in South Florida, the food was not prepared with thick, cornstarchy sauce and definitely no MSG. The restaurant was very pretty and the manager, Josie, quite charming. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You should give spicy ginger a try!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful!! The baby back ribs were delicious and followed by warm moist towels! The veggies in all the dishes tasted like they picked them fresh from the garden.
Lettuce wraps
Orange beef
Ginger shrimp
All good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rekrak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
205 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Spicy GInger is in a small strip center; the kind you could easily pass by if you didn't know where you were going. The food is very good. We enjoyed Peking Duck...the best I've ever tried...along with asian eggplant and crispy asian bass fillet. Also enjoyed our appetizers...especially the chicken lettuce wraps. Wine prices are very reasonable. The owner was there and very friendly. Really enjoyed it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KauaiLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Spicy Ginger is an excellent choice for freh, delicious Asian food”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Spicy Ginger is an outstanding choice for your dining pleasure. The owner, Tommy Wong and staff are always attentive. They have a diverse and delicious menu and will always do their best to make sure you are completely satisfied. Steaks, fish, shrimp dishes are great. The dumplings, lettuce wraps wonderful. Nice wine selection. They make you feel like family and soon you find you're back a few times a week. Our whole neighborhood car pools down for a fun, festive night with delicious, fresh food. A fun choice for good food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WPBTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicy Ginger also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing