We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta agree- delicious, interesting atmosphere, reasonable”
Review of Chow Thai

Chow Thai
Ranked #58 of 814 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gotta agree- delicious, interesting atmosphere, reasonable”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went for an early dinner and had the Pad Thai. mine medium heat, and my daughter's mild. Both exceptional. Service was polite and efficient. The salads came with the choice of ginger or peanut dressing... Both delicious. In some ways this place is a throwback, and I. Others it is the authentic, slightly dated and kitchy family restaurant you'd find in a Thai city. They it. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoundTheWorld2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    40
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dining in Thailand - at a Boca strip mall!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was raining hard with thunder and lightening all around when we arrived at a little non descript place in a strip mall. We debated whether this was going to be worth getting wet for? Once inside we felt like we were having dinner in Bangkok. We were greated immediately and sat next to a beautiful salt water aquarium. We soon forgot the storm outside and began to enjoy the decor and ambience of the room. We had two servers who took care of everything perfectly. The wonton soup was delicious as was the house salad (great dressing) and spring roll. My shrimp shumai were small and packed great taste with the dipping sauce. We ordered chicken with broccoli with spice level 2 (out of 5) and it was plenty hot. Can't imagine a 5. The sauce was really good. The other entree was chicken pad thai with rice noodles and fresh bean sprouts. Excellent. We really got a kick out of the whimsical radish garnishes that accompanied each of the appetizers and entrees. So very Thai. As we arrived before 6:30 we ordered one dinner off the early bird menu. Soup or salad, a spring roll, entree and dessert for $13.95 In fact, for 2 beers, a glass of wine, 3 appetizers, two entrees and a dessert, the total bill with tax was $50.51 The ambience, service, food and value were all outstanding. We will definately be back, storm or no storm. It was really nice to see good food served so well and with such obvious pride - and at very affordable prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeyondFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Marc's review”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

These people's service is enough for a five star. The food made it even a six star (if that were even possible). I ate so much I wanted to sleep there (which seemed possible because of their hospitality and booth that one can lay in). We ordered the Chow Thai sampler that was presented wonderfully, Red Curry that was yummy, and Green Curry noodle which had an exotic after taste that is only inimitable by the Thai. My company loved the Thai tea very much and the other soups. Great place for family or a date. Will definitely come back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Why it remains the #1 restaurant in Boca”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family originally tried Chow Thai because we love Thai and it was ranked #1 in Boca. The reviews we read gave very good overall marks, with some exceptions. We have joined Artie (the owner) for dinner numerous times over the last 6 months and I can share what we feel makes this place worthy of it's rank: the food, the service, the atmosphere.
The Food
Every dish, every time has tasted outstanding. The menu items have the tremendous and flavorful levels we've found in only a few Thai restaurants. They know every dish in detail and adapt meals to meet the customer's preference. They really display each plate with handmade garnishes, etc., like it is their most important one of the evening. The appetizers, the salad dressing, the curry varieties, the noodle dishes, the desserts ... they offer an excellent menu.
The Service
Even our children notice how each plate is carefully delivered with pride. The best part is they know the dishes so well, they know the questions to ask. "Do you like the potatoes cooked well in your dish?" "Our sauce for this dish has this spice, or this herb. Would you prefer it served in yours too?" etc.
For people who do not know what to order, they are outstanding at helping you experience a "new" dish or finding the one that you enjoyed at your last Thai restaurant. Many of their customers are regulars...the owner often calls customers by name. Other than the need to listen extra careful to understand their polite words with a Thai accent, it really offers one of the most caring and attentive service levels you can wish for from a family-run restaurant. Reservations are best for weekends. They handle takeout and sometimes have a line out the door.

The Atmosphere
The owner's family carries a ton of pride in their native food. The locals know it's good. It's a restaurant with less than maybe 60 seats. The foot traffic they have can be so heavy on weekends the staff seems to be flying instead of walking. But they are so smooth, it seems to go unnoticed.
The restaurant's exterior is deceiving. "Just another strip center restaurant" is a common first impression. Next to a bar and a hair salon. Once inside, you see the clean, friendly, family restaurant decor that helps you realize you don't need to expect a stuffy experience.
The Location
Background - Boca Raton has dozens of beautiful, manicured retail areas. This shopping area is NOT one of them. Chow Thai is in a simple, strip center and has a very working class feel. Being listed as the "best in Boca" on TA probably sets an expectation for more of the "valet parking, fine wine and filet mignon" locations. As long as you wait to judge the experience by the food, the service and the experience INSIDE the restaurant, it consistently delivers an excellent, authentic Thai dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greatfood4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing little hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is by far one of my favs! Amazing authentic Thai food with a great ambiance. If you are looking for a tippy place with a jazzy menu this is not the place for you. It's a little hidden gem in west boca that when you walk in you feel you are in Thailand. The staff are very friendly and accommodating! I highly recommend this restaurant! Great Great food!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellabee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow Thai also viewed

 

Been to Chow Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing