We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating in the bar area was elegant Still!”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 813 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: St. Andrews Blvd
Description: Interesting things happen in a city with water at every turn. Those who have spent the day at sea might find themselves craving dry aged steaks, grilled to perfection and paired with a dry Cabernet Sauvignon, while those who were on the links or in the shops of the Town Center Mall may develop intense desires for Pan-fried Calamari with Hot Cherry Peppers, Citrus Glazed Salmon, and other treasures of the deep. Fortunately, The Capital Grille offers all of that and more in a setting of perfectly relaxed elegance. So rejoice, citizens of Boca. The Capital Grille is now open.
FL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Eating in the bar area was elegant Still!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Tues night. Booked up? Hour wait? Bar area open though. Was disappointed at first to drop this kind of money eating in a bar. But, it's part restaurant, so no worry. Service, impeccable. Ambiance, nothing barish about it, VERY nice. We ate for 2 hours here, no drinks. The filet mignon was $42 of meat heaven. Best steak I've ever had. Been to Burn's in Tampa. Been to multiple Ruth's Chris, ... And, you can ask for the edges to not be seared (they'll pamper it in foil) if you don't want "that flavor". The steak is melt in your mouth. No flavorings added. We did get two sauces for dipping on the side, béarnaise and the onion butter dip. Every side is a la carte. The Caesar salad was excellent. The clam chowder chock full. The creamed spinach is average. The lobster mac and cheese good, but too much dry sprinkled cheese atop. The lobster part was excellent. Not chewy leftovers. Big, succulent pieces. The mushroom mix was fine. The espresso was excellent, lots of cinnamon. Desserts. The chocolate cake was awful. Cheap icing taste and dryish cake served cold to hide. The flourless choco cake was average. We did ask the waitress what her fave was, and she said coconut cream pie. I'd NEVER order coconut anything, and never anything cream or pieish. But we were soo disappointed in the first two we were VERY glad we'd ordered 3 desserts to try. We like to know what to get when we take guests, and yes, there was a lot of leftovers from this meal. Anyway, there's a huge whipped cream portion atop the coconut dessert. I don't like whipped cream. But at the bottom is a thin layer of a coconut pudding and the real treat, the crust. That bottom part was spectacular! Moist and coconutty and I don't know how to describe it, like mushy cookie consistency. It was roll your eyes back tasty, and we're not coconut fans. Next trip we will order multiple of these and just head to the bottom! I have no clue what we spent here, but I'm sure it was sick $ for 2. WILL be going back for any special occasion.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StewardessFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    118
    44
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good, but over priced.”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Filet Mignon for dinner $41-43, comes with nothing, sides are extra around $10. Very tender, more flavor than some places, but not as much as Ruth Chris. Baked potato was good, came with butter, bacon and chopped green onions. I had the Porterhouse and it was very thick, almost 2". The problem with that is they have a hard time cooking it correctly. The fire needs to be a little lower, the outside was starting to get burned at only Med Rare. Ice Tea is a little over priced at $3.25, its not even flavored, just plain Tea. Overall, good food, nice decor and if you like wine they have two pages full, the menu is only one page. They have wine lockers for repeat guests who want to stock their own. Deserts are mostly around $8-10, one small page and again two pages of after dinner drinks. For the money I prefer Ruth Chris or one of the other steak houses. Overall, nice place, little pricey for the quality and quantity of food, but if you like wine you have to give it a try. Richard was our main waiter and did an EXCELENT job! There are two private room area for meetings, and small outside seating that overlooks the parking lot. It's at the Town Center Mall in Boca Raton.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePCGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
498 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Took my wife here for her birthday for lunch. Fantastic!
Best time to go to a nice place like this. Not as many diners, food was great, and the attention to detail was outstanding.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank ciaotebaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food & Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a wonderful place to go for a romantic dinner with your honey. It is located on Glades Rd at the entrance to Town Center. The excellent food is presented with a gourmet flair and our waiter was very professional. We were treated like Royalty. The prices are very high, but for celebration dinner or a special occasion, this place is perfect. Very quiet atmosphere, dimly lit, classical music with a little Frank sprinkled in. Large, comfortable seats and a formal look to the place. You will feel pampered from the moment you walk in. Nice tables outside as well. ( near Mall entrance) . Not a great view, but still pretty. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floridalovers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Adequate for a steakhouse!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

There are plenty of steakhouses to choose from....especially here in south Florida. The Capital Grille (part of the Darden Resturant chain) is as good as any. Fine aged steaks, attentive service and terribly overpriced. There are certainly better values, but if you are in the mood for a perfectly cooked slab of prime meat this is not a bad choice. They have a nice appetizer menu as well. As a steakhouse, I'd give it 4 stars...as a restuarant in general it'd have to be less than 3 - mainly because of the prices. Great food does not necessarily have to equate to a exorbitant check. Handsome decor- open kitchen design. Not a bad choice but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldTravelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 
Boca Raton, FL
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing