We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel! Do Not Book Or Arrive To No Room & No Refund!”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2008

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL OR YOU WILL ARRIVE TO NO ROOM AND NO REFUND!!! Also don't be fooled by the oceanfront hotel! The hotel is a dumpy little building with no beach in sight like you see in the pictures! Across the street is the beach, but it is covered by a hedge of high trees that are too thick to see through/walk through. You have to drive far down the road to find an entrance to get to the beach! Anyway, I booked this stay through Expedia and we arrived in the afternoon and the door was locked! We called Expedia as instructed and they tried for over an hour to reach the hotel, including their emergency number without success. So they booked us another hotel nearby and assured me a full refund. Well, after months of calling Expedia, they finally tell me the hotel has refused to refund the money to Expedia and therefore, Expedia refuses to issue me a refund. So now I have to file fraudulent transaction charges through my bank instead to attempt to get my money back. This is also a warning regarding Expedia and how they do business! I am a travel agent and I have been booking travel for years and this is a first! I only used Expedia because they had such a great discount rate! It was NO discount! I had to pay a lot more for the Hilton nearby and got charged for the other hotel too!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MichellePinellasPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 432 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2008

While the hotel is in a great location and the rennovations are great too-the manager is terrible. I arrived to find no one in the office at 'check in time 3:30pm. There was no sign on the door just locked door and no one to be found. I drove around for a bit and went back, the manager was a rude yound kid who seemed to be bothered by me. I asked if he could recommend any good restaurants in the area and he simply said 'no', handed me my keys and that was it. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff was nice-the location is great. Upon checkout (11am) the office was closed and locked, I received no receipt and just left my key in the mail box-hopefully the sleeping manager got it and not someone else. The hotel has great potiential and with the right manager could do well, however this one slept all day, never could be found and/or was smoking cigerattes outside. I would not stay there again simply because of him.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luckytravelsUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I booked this hotel based on information from TripAdvisor. We were looking for something very near the beach, so that my daughter and I could enjoy ourselves while my husband did work during his business trip.

This hotel has an excellent location for the beach--you can walk 1/2 block, cross the road, and enter the park. The hotel has a closet of beach towels, toys, and chairs for guests. The hotel pool is also very nice, and the grounds of the hotel are kept very clean. My daughter was very happy there.

Our room was nice, but as others have mentioned, the housekeeping staff does not seem to understand what it means to provide service. This is a HOTEL after all, not a condo rental. That aspect was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LoganSquareNeighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

I stayed 4 nights at the Ocean Lodge this April, 2008. Upon arrival, the college kid manager was bothered that I was checking in. He gave me a key to an upstairs room as I requested to be on the 2nd floor. I brought up my bags and opened the door. The room was obviously occupied with clothes thrown everywhere and the biggest thigh-master I had ever seen on the bed.

I discreetly closed the door and hauled my stuff back down to the manager's office. He was surprised that someone was in 208 and went up to check it out himself. He did apologize and gave me another key for room 107, one door down from the coke machine, with no privacy. He followed me to the room without assisting with my luggage. Nice touch.

He advised that he would move me upstairs the next day but he never followed up and with the hours he keeps, I wasn't ever able to catch him in.

The motel itself has some good things going for it. The beach is easily accessible and the motel itself is quite. They have a nice heated pool. The rooms themselves are okay. The renovation was spotty at best and I likened it to placing a tuxedo on King Tut's mummified body.

Aside from the worthless manager that needs to enroll in Hospitality School, the maid service needs improvement. The area rug in my room looked like it had not been vacuumed since the day it was placed in there. You do get fresh towels everyday and a slightly re-made bed but not much else. The rooms have microwaves, a toaster oven, and a small refrigerator.

Ocean Lodge is a diamond in the rough. With a manager that cares, a maid that knows how to vacuum and mop, and a little more updating, this would be a recommended place to stay. I would consider it again knowing that it is a bare minimum place. The mom and pop places up the road in Delray Beach (Wright By the Sea, Breakers On The Ocean) do a much better job at hospitality but are more expensive.

Upon check out, the manager “dude” just waived for me to place the room key in their mailbox. Being in a service industry myself, I would think he might like to at least make you feel welcome and hope for a future booking.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Schuboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

This hotel is in a pretty convenient location right across from the beach, especially since beach parking is limited and very expensive! The rooms have been updated and are quite nice. There are granite countertops, travertine tile floors, etc. The pool is heated and quite nice. The negatives are that the bed is pretty hard and the manager is really rude. Like someone else said, he sleeps till noon and gets mad when you wake him up to check-out. He is also very unhelpful and has a nasty attitude. The maid we encountered there is nice, but she didn't speak english. But then again, it is South Florida...

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

This was such a great spot. Literally just a five minute walk to the ocean and the room was lovely- simple and peaceful. The stone floors and fluffy white towels give it this great 1940's feel. Very sweet spot, will definately stay here again. The staff was very funny and kind- thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank besk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

If you are looking for a Sheraton, marriot or just plain fancy hotel, this is not it. It's a 50's style hotel, across from the ocean. It's very quiet, nice rooms, peace-ful. The maid service was horrible. We had to ask for maid service twice while we were there a week and then all we got were clean towels. The floor was never swept or mopped, bathroom never cleaned, etc. in other words, maid service is not like you would expect at a normal hotel. if you can live with that, the rest of the hotel is nice except for the manager. He has a lousy attitude, slept until noon everyday, and had no control over the maid staff. Many people who we talked to that were staying there had similar complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freqTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boca Raton hotels
1.2 mi away
Waterstone Resort & Marina Boca Raton, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Boca Raton
Wyndham Boca Raton
#7 of 27 in Boca Raton
1,532 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Boca Raton/Downtown
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Boca Raton
Hampton by Hilton Boca Raton
#2 of 27 in Boca Raton
645 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boca Beach Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 531 N Ocean Blvd, Boca Raton, FL 33432-4213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boca Raton
#9 Family Hotel in Boca Raton
#12 Business Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range: $131 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge Florida is a hotel in Boca Raton Florida catering to short-term and extended stay travelers who seek a different experience than the chain hotels. At Ocean Lodge, we offer a unique, home-away-from-home experience in one of Florida's most desirable destinations. Our family friendly yet exciting resort environment and personal approach keeps guests coming back to our inn year after year. Guests at Ocean Lodge Florida enjoy complimentary breakfast, in-room kitchenettes, a heated outdoor pool, free wi-fi, outdoor grilling area, and easy access to the beautiful beaches of Boca Raton. Thank you for considering Ocean Lodge Florida for your stay in Boca Raton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Boca Raton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing