We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The rooms were spacious and the gardens very tropical. Breakfast was coffee or orange juice, bagel or yoghurt. The heated pool was broken with no sign of repair. The floor of the room was not swept or mopped at all during our stay. You have to either walk to the beach or drive and pay upto $4 an hour to park anywhere along this stretch of coastline. Sadly not worth the $150 a night.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank munchie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblanco, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First, allow me to thank you for providing feedback in regards to your reservation experience. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay.
We work with all of our guests to accommodate their requests to the best of our ability. We are sure that had you contact me, I would have taken care of any issues you had in the unit. I apologize for the pool heater not working but a new one is being installed by the beginning of next week.
Please contact me; I would love to talk to you. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience that you had. We would love it if you would consider staying with us if you are ever in the Boca Raton Area again.

Best Regards,

Israel Blanco
Hotel Manager
Ocean Lodge Florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 425 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

This motel makes it look like they are right on the beach and have the charm down on their website but the true place is horrible. Pool is dirty and cold. Beach is across the HIGHWAY and the rooms are old and smelly. The staff tried very hard to be nice but there is no redemption in this hell hole. It's a road side motel with a parking lot and it's a disaster. Totally overpriced. For the same price, you can get a hotel on the beach, with a nice pool, breakfast, proper lobby (they had no lobby) and proper service.

Room Tip: Don't.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyTripCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblanco, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
First, allow me to thank you for providing feedback in regards to your reservation experience. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced.
As you may note from the several guest reviews that we have received, The Ocean Lodge is considered one of the best places to stay in the Boca Raton area. We work with all of our guests to accommodate their requests to the best of our ability. We are sure that had you contact me, you would have rated us much higher than you did. It is unfortunate that you rated us so poorly even though you didn’t give us a chance to make your stay more satisfactory.
Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience that you had. We would love it if you would consider staying with us if you are ever in the Boca Raton Area. We look forward to hearing from you with any questions, or if there is anything that we can do to be of service.

Best Regards,

Israel Blanco
Hotel Manager
Ocean Lodge Florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is a very good value option in Boca. It is small - two levels arranged in a U around the pool area - so nice and intimate. Breakfast is bagels and pastries with juice and coffee around a little secluded outdoor nook, so also nice and intimate.

The beach across the street was subject to a rip and some jellyfish, so the lifeguards did not recommend swimming and was quite exposed to the wind. We drove about 3 miles South to Dearfield beach, which was a lot more crowded, but no rip and seemingly no jellies (either due to current or maybe nets?) and less exposed to the wind. So this is a probably a better option for the beach if you don't mind more people. Suspect this may be a seasonal issue, so you should check when you are there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ivanhoe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This quaint FL hotel is conveniently located across the street from Boca Raton's prestine beaches and has all the amenities anyone would need. The pool area is gorgeous and well kept. The rooms are stylish, tiled, marble finishes with granite in the mini kitchen area and large flat screen TV. My room came with dishes, pots and pans and 2 stove burners in addition to a microwave, mini refrigerator, toaster oven and wet bar area. There is also laundry. Essentially, it can be your home away from home and accomodate you for an extended stay. There is also a continental breakfast every morning and the coffee was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I'm giving this a 4.5 based on what it is; a small, Florida coastal, 1950s type motel that's been updated and upgraded. Our swim team was based here when training in the area and it worked perfectly for us. The small kitchenettes were great and useful and had granite countertops and newer appliances. There were plenty of plates and utensils for us and anything we needed, we asked the staff and they gladly let us use whatever was there. There was an outdoor grill that we also used on several occasions with a convenient seating area. The beds were good and most of the air-conditioners worked adequately. The beach was a short walk down and across the street. The staff was helpful and the rooms were clean. There was some noise at night outside in the pool area with some of the other residents on a few occasions. It's not perfect or luxurious, but it served our needs with our group that had 4 rooms for a week and we were fine here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaineTravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Ocean Lodge on a couple of trips to Fort Lauderdale. Yes, we drive the extra distance because we like the cozy, comfortable feel of this little hotel. The room was clean, the beds were comfy and the kitchen well equipped. My grandson loved the fact that the pool was just outside our door and that we were just a short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiagranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stay at Ocean Lodge for a week at a time, once or twice a year. Every time is a wonderful stay! Great location, clean/quiet, welcoming poolside, friendly owner/staff, short walk to a beautiful beach. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HThomas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Raton
1.2 mi away
Waterstone Resort & Marina Boca Raton, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Boca Beach Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Boca Raton
Wyndham Boca Raton
#7 of 27 in Boca Raton
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
2,429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Boca Raton/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 531 N Ocean Blvd, Boca Raton, FL 33432-4213
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boca Raton
#9 Family Hotel in Boca Raton
#12 Business Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range: $84 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge Florida is a hotel in Boca Raton Florida catering to short-term and extended stay travelers who seek a different experience than the chain hotels. At Ocean Lodge, we offer a unique, home-away-from-home experience in one of Florida's most desirable destinations. Our family friendly yet exciting resort environment and personal approach keeps guests coming back to our inn year after year. Guests at Ocean Lodge Florida enjoy complimentary breakfast, in-room kitchenettes, a heated outdoor pool, free wi-fi, outdoor grilling area, and easy access to the beautiful beaches of Boca Raton. Thank you for considering Ocean Lodge Florida for your stay in Boca Raton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Boca Raton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing