We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Twilight zone hostess”

Temptation Restaurant, Bar & Package
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Boca Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Twilight zone hostess”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

There is a fifth dimension. Beyond that which is known to man. It is a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity. It is the middle ground between light and shadow. Between science and superstition. And it lies between the pit of man's fears, and the summit of his knowledge. This is the dimension of imagination. It is an area which we call The Twilight Zone.

A man reserves a table for six at a the Temp. Two human beings drop out and the table becomes a 4 top. The restaurant is advised of this change several hours before. Nevertheless, the snobby crotchety sullen hostess presents them with the table for six. They stare at the 6 top. She says nothing can be done. They must decide how to arrange themselves.

After the diners are seated at their own bewildering discretion, the snobby crotchety sullen hostess stares at her hopeless reservation book. Diners come and go. Those without reservations are dismissed. Carryout orders are denied. The room is 80% empty. Yet the hostess explains that their table requests cannot be met. Not tonight. Not next week. Certainly not on Valentine's Day.

Meanwhile, the excellent waiter (Ray) serves the (excellent) meals. He is knowledgable, attentive, efficient and friendly. His menu recommendations are spot-on. His service is engaging. The human diners can only hope he is the true Temp. And not that he exists only in The Twilight Zone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    95
    26
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Landmark”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Boca Grande landmark. Decor pleasant , service above par and food delicious. My wife and I had the fried oyster platter, friends had Cobb salad, hamburger. I think they have the best fried oysters in the area. All the food was very good. We don't ever pass up the"Temp" when in Boca Grande. Usually it's for dinner, but today it was for lunch. Prices surprisingly modest for generous portions of very good food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scul2137ptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

What an odd little place, yet excellent food and drinks. It doesn't look like much from the outside. I think this is part of its charm. There are several dining areas in the temptation restaurant. In a town where most everything closes at 5 it's packed and rightly so. We had the Snapper which was perfectly prepared. Lobster Corn Chowder, excellent. Strawberry Salad fresh and tasty. We ate at 8 of the 16 restaurants on this island. This is the #1.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“What do you say about a bar called "temptation"”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place rocks. Great food. Quirky elegance . I'll put it this way: I could go here in a blazer, tie and short pants and no one would think anything of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homebody12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old style Florida”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Temp has been around forever. It's an island staple and certainly warrants eating here at least one time. The steaks are awesome as well as the service. You get the feel of what the island was like when it catered to the upper class. Unfortunately times do change. I would not call this a "FAMILY" restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bofern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptation Restaurant, Bar & Package also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Temptation Restaurant, Bar & Package? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing