We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Beach Hut”

South Beach Bar & Grille
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Boca Grande
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach Hut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Great simple very fresh food combined with friendly service.

The restaurant is right on the beach and better than most beach food I've had. Nice view and they seem to have a stage for a live band in the evenings.

You'll note that it's pretty much the only option this far south on Boca Grande.

Worth a visit if you are down here ...

Helpful?
Thank mathura2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    218
    83
    45
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, gulf view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The menu has a wide variety of choices. The seafood was great, I think it walks out of the gulf and asks to be cooked . The beach and view are wonderful. Our wait staff was great. A good meal on a chamber of commerce day.

Helpful?
Thank poppyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

A group of friends went for lunch and the waitress refused to give separate checks which ruined the pleasant experience because it was embarrassing when the check came when we were trying to divvy up the cost. This is the job of the waitress who is getting the 20% tip. I will never go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoutlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue River, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of Florida' great Hideaway's.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

During your travels through Florida, you must go to Gasparilla Island. It is about 20 minutes from Port Charlotte on the central Mexican gulf side, 2 hour south of Tampa. As you travel on highway 776 take highway 771 South to Placida, then you're almost there. There is a $6.00 toll fee to enter the island. As you travel south through the Island you will go past the tiny town Of Boca Grande. Very nice, and full of little shops. Many beach will dot the roadway as you head towards South Beach Restaurant.
This little slice of beauty sits right on the beach, and is generally open year round. One inside you will be greeted by friendly staff who will show outdoor seating as well as indoor, and bar seating.
My recommendation...You MUST try their "SEAFOOD STROUDLE"! Then for dessert, indulge yourself with the stuffed chocolate cake topped with vanilla ice cream, and slathered with caramel and chocolate sauce. OH MY!!
Then you can walk right out the back door and swim away the guilt from all of the fantastic food.
Bon Appetite!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluecatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something Has Changed at South Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I recently made another visit to one of my favorite restaurants. My guests and I noticed that the food was not at the same quality and taste that we were accustomed to. The food went from delicious to ho-hum. We figured that it must have been an off day. We could figure why things were so off target. We asked our server and we were given a shrug. The restaurant was not very busy, so we figured that the food was not very fresh. We then learned that the chef of the last few years had quit and had gone to another job.

We certainly hope that one of our favorite restaurants gets back on track again. It's history has been a roller coaster as far as the food has been concerned. We love the beach there, but the food left a bad taste in our mouths. We only hope that a new chef will be hired.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eatdrinkandmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Bar & Grille also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Beach Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing