We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch!”

South Beach Bar & Grille
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Boca Grande
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We used to eat at this restaurant YEARS ago when it was called Laff-a-lots (before the road washed out between the restaurant and the Gulf. So, we tried the "new" place today (off-season, mind you) and had a wonderful lunch with friends. Parking was not an issue this day (it must be tough for them to monitor their small lot with everyone trying to use it just for beach parking), we sat inside (because it was quite warm outside), had the friendliest waitress, quick service, and very good food. I had their special grouper sandwich (yummmmy) and everyone else had burgers. We started off with an order of onion rings and they were super - and a huge order - plenty for four people! We would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbofsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    232
    88
    46
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff would not allow to park”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have tried this establishment once every seven years with poor experiences each time. On this evening I attempted to park in the only parking spot available. A member of the staff came out and told me I could not park there and directed me to park In a handicap space. I told the staff I was not handicap, he did not care. Surprising that a restaurant located in this area would be so unconcerned with handicap parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2eatfoood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Underrated & Great view!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I've visited South Beach many times and each time it gets better and better! I think that many reviews for this place are quite unfair and rude. Last time I visited, on July 7, 2013 I got the Fried Calamari and the Sesame Tuna Entree. Both were very good and the service was friendly and happy to serve us. But the view and location is what has me raving. The view of the sunset is perfect every night and the patio area is a great place to take photos. However, you have a good view of the sunset from every table in the restaurant. The restaurant is facing westward, over the beach so that you can always get a beautiful view of the sunset. The location is also wonderful. South Beach is right on the beach. A fun day on the beach can be ended by a lovely dinner at South Beach with little effort at all. South Beach is one of the best places to go in Gasparilla Island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fire the Manager”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

we brought in 6 tables of 4-6 people, not kids but adults, the food is good, the service was above average,my only beef was the manager(?owner) treated us like a bunch of kids on spring breakand at 56 those days of destroying restaurants is long behind me.Take him out of the picture and you had an average meal, but he left areally bad taste in my mouth where the average bill at my table was >40 dollars a person.However if you want abeautiful beach view ,this is your place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dlw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is our second trip to Boca Grande and same with South Beach Bar and Grill. It doesn't look like much as far as decor, but the food each time has been tasty and it's well run. We shared coconut shrimp and had a CaronaRita (nice and funky presentation). Also had their phyllo wrapped seafood entree. Very good. Of course, the best aspect is the glorious view beachside. The restaurant staff was friendly and efficient even on a busy day. I'd gladly return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REalgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Bar & Grille also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Beach Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing