We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boca Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasparilla Inn & Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boca Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I take back everything nice I have ever said about any of hotel because from now on all hotels will be compared to The Gasparilla Inn. We stayed here one night because our friend got married here. The view is amazing. I don't golf but it seemed very popular and looked gorgeous. Our room was beyond clean...it down right sparkled. The touches all over were great...somehow our room was touched up three times thoughout the day. In the evening after our room was turned down we have chocolates on the pillow, a water for each of us on the nightstand and a card letting us know the weather for the following day. I can't say enough about the amazing staff. I never opened a door for myself, smiles on everyone's faces and amazingly enough it actually seemed genuine. I have never said that about anywhere I have stayed. Michael grabbed our bags, took several pictures of us and when we went outside to walk to the reception at the beach club (less than two blocks) there we was with a golf cart to take us and then refused our tip. If I could give more than five stars I would. The food at the reception and brunch the next morning was unique, fresh and we both gave ourselves stomach aches from eating so much. Thank you for a fabulous weekend!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jamescaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    55
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
61
155
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Great Gatsby moves south. Classic. Clean. Impeccable service (Errol, you lovely smile in the main dining room is contagious). I have been on and off this island for decades but never stayed at "The Inn." I've missed it. As I understand the Inn has gone through many updates over the years since the generational change in ownership and it shows. Classic elegance at it's best. Food is phenomenal (Chef Seth runs a beautiful kitchen and creative team) and why not dress up for dinner with a coat and tie. So cool.
Golf course was redone by Pete Dye 10 years ago and is a nice walk. Plenty of water views.
The Inn itself only has 63 +/- rooms while the surrounding cabins host another 80+. Easy walk to their beach club that has it all in beach access, heated pool, Spa with adult only pool, pool bar, dining for lunch, great sunset view and privacy.
Pink elephant is another property owned by the Inn and an easy walk as well. Heck, everything on Gasparilla is an easy walk or golf cart ride.
The bakery is nice for casual breakfast or coffee break. We went on European plan (NO fixed meal plan) and liked the flexibility (see third st cafe review as an example for great breakfast)
Not sure if anyone young enough will read TA for tips as the folks going to the Inn have been going for decades.
This is NOT for the faint at heart when it comes to the wallet. Be ready to splurge and spend. Even if it is just for a few days (just not when I go back as it was really quiet) act like the Great Gatsby. It's an awesome Inn and a better feeling. Just hard to leave.....

Room Tip: Do not sleep on first floor rooms in main Inn. Too much foot traffic. Third floor in particular was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the lovely Gasparilla Inn recently. Everything was wonderful! The service was impeccable and every detail was perfectly executed. It is obvious that the staff is trained to offer gracious courtesy and warmth without intrusiveness. How many places can you go to play croquet on a professional court? The Gasparilla Inn is the answer! Also, the beach club is extraordinary. What a beautiful facility! Went there to watch the sunset over the Gulf.The bellman gave a guided tour of the property and of the town using one of the Inn's golf carts. Felt so welcome! Parking is amazing...right on the street across from the hotel! Can you believe it!
Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and a newspaper were offered in the lobby in the morning, before the dining room breakfast. The golf course looked beautiful as well although did not use it. The Inn is celebrating its 100th birthday this year. The property is beautifully maintained, in fact, it sparkles with cleanliness! The gleaming wood floors on the expansive porch are gorgeous. There are many inviting sitting areas around the main floor of the Inn, all decorated to reflect Southern charm and Florida colors. I highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: If you have a family or large group, reserve one of the villas. Like having your own home with the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler34109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit with three other couples--planning our third. Excellent accommodations in the Inn itself--separate cottages are good, too, but the ambience of the Inn itself trumps the cottages as a place to stay. Extraordinarily accommodating staff--without being intrusive. Dinner not available the night we were there, but breakfast was excellent. Truly an "old Florida" experience. A step back in time with modern updates--sounds like an oxymoron, but they make it work very, very well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank WineauxFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The minute you drive over the little bridge, you know you are on a special island. The Gasparilla Inn is known among the jet set for it's privacy and luxury. Some of the best fishing in America is off it's beaches, including the catch and release tarpon spectacular in May/June.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the hall on the first floor is my favorite- the Inn feels more like someones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentucked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Gasparilla doesn't disappoint. What an excellent example of old Floridian architecture and superior service. My husband and I stayed two nights in a villa, it was charming and clean. The room was decorated nicely and we especially enjoyed the king size Tempur-Pedic mattress we slept on. The villa also had a nice front porch with a small refrigerator and coffee maker.

The grounds are beautifully maintained and the Hotel's Beach Club has gorgeous views and is just a short golf cart ride down the end of the road.

Boca Grande is a small town and has a just handful of shops and restaurants. What a great town to relax, eat, drink, fish, swim and meet new friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luppinotravel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visiting the Inn on Gasparilla Island is all about setting the right expectation and kicking back to another time and place This is old world Florida at its absolute best.
We attended a special event weekend in June that included a spectacular buffet on the beach created by visiting chefs and bourbon / beer makers - no it doesn't get better then this!
The second night was a lovely plated dinner in the main dining room Our three days were spent floating in the Gulf of Mexico, getting sugar scrubbed in the spa,playing 9 holes of golf on perfectly manicured scenic course and drinking cocktails at the local watering hole with the fisherman in for Tarpon season
The Inn is comprised of cottages and hotel rooms Our group of six enjoyed a cottage with common living room and gathering porches Prices are high but this reviewer is all about going in the off season May and June are my vote if you don't mind the heat!
Weather always plays a factor in Florida but there are no better sunsets , balmier breezes and white sand beaches then this sleepy little island!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Grande
17.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
21.9 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Boca Grande Resort
The Boca Grande Resort
#3 of 3 in Boca Grande
45 reviews
14.5 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,284 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#4 of 10 in Englewood
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasparilla Inn & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasparilla Inn & Club

Property: Gasparilla Inn & Club
Address: 500 Palm Ave, Boca Grande, FL 33921
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Boca Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boca Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gasparilla Inn & Club is pleased to welcome you to relax and enjoy one of the oldest and most unique premiere destinations on Florida’s Gulf Coast. Opened in 1913, the historic Inn has always greeted guests with warm hospitality, a tranquil atmosphere and a picturesque setting. Guests are offered a host of spectacular resort amenities and activities while basking in the Florida sun and enjoying the Inn's "old-Florida" charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gasparilla Inn & Club Hotel Boca Grande
Gasparilla Inn And Club
Gasparilla Hotel Boca Grande
Gasparilla Resort Boca Grande
Gasparilla Inn Boca Grande
Gasparilla Inn Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing