We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida at it's Best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boca Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasparilla Inn & Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boca Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We just spent our anniversary at the Gasparilla Inn & Club in Boca Grande and had a fabulous time. The accommodations are large, comfortable and very clean. The Inn itself is a large two story building painted in historical colors of yellow and white with a big verandah on the front and is surrounded by classic palm trees. We stayed in one of the "cottages" which have been built around the main Inn. Ours had a large bedroom, nice bathroom with loads of storage, a generous living room and a huge lanai which was air conditioned. The color palette in the rooms follows the historical colors of the hotel; soft yellows, greens, white with spots of blue and peach. There are security doors between the individual rooms in the cottages so depending on the number of guests with you there are one to four bedrooms which can be opened up as one large unit. As soon as you drive up to the property there are young men to help with your luggage and the gals behind the front desk were very warm and welcoming. We had an easy check-in and were in our cottage in just minutes; very efficient. The hotel is not directly on the Gulf; it is an easy 3-5 minute walk to the Beach Club or you can rent a golf cart which is the major means of transportation in this area. The Beach Club has two pools, a restaurant, beach chairs and umbrellas, a bar, an exercise room and a banquet hall. The hotel is a great venue for weddings; there was one each night we were there (one at the Inn and one at the Beach Club) but they were secluded and were not disruptive to other guests. There are tennis courts, a golf course and two main restaurants in and around the Inn. The main dining room is located in the Inn and the Pink Elephant is toward the Marina and back of the property. There is also room service; order milk and warm cookies in the evening! Overall we found our weekend to be very relaxing and would love to return again for another romantic anniversary!

Room Tip: While the rooms in the Inn were quiet spacious we enjoyed the quietness of the cottage along with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvlgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 321 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you want to rediscover "old Florida," stay here for awhile. The island does not allow high rises, so it has retained it's charm and the village is a lovely 3 -4 square block area filled with nice shops and restaurants (no chains). The Inn is a big, old wooden building - yellow with white trim, rambling and lovely. The common rooms are decorated with flowery fabrics and wicker - you just want to sit and relax with a lemonade!! Service is very good, the rooms are fine, the beach is fantastic, food is very good, and there is tennis, golf, a big fitness facility with many classes, and a lovely spa complete with a child free lap pool. Go here if you want to slow down and smell the hibiscus!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akp1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We just returned from Gasparilla Island and loved the atmosphere. For clarity's sake we are friends with many of the Hotel employees but regardless it was a wonderful experience and we will be returning. We are a family of four (two teenage boys) & were pleased with the ability to have a high-end vacation with lots of less expensive options. We sat by the pool & overlooked the most magnificent view of the Gulf with its azure blue waters while sitting under bright yellow umbrellas being served beverages of all kinds. A lunch buffet is offered in the same area with fresh salmon, asparagus etc but my 14 year old was also able to order a plain cheeseburger. The cottage is centrally located & had a fridge which was great because as much as my boys eat we ran to the grocery store across the bridge & stocked up on snack foods. The Inn has a great breakfast buffet at $24.00 which was endless amounts of fruit, eggs, pancakes & they have eggs benedict etc. We also went to the Inn Bakery and had lots of fresh donuts, danishes & coffee for $16.00 so there are lots of options. We rented a golf cart (the preferred method of transportation) and had blast letting the boys chauffeur us around. The Pink Elephant was our favorite hotel restaurant but we also went to the Eagle Grill Marina & enjoyed watching the big yachts & the manatee & dolphins and my son fished right off the dock. The waitress there even knew our town because her aunt was from a neaby town. Great community which was beautiful, relaxing etc You can charter deep sea fishing, sea planes, paddleboards, bikes etc - only comment - BOOK AHEAD no matter what the concierge says. We were told it would be slow and could book when we got there & that was not the case. But we are def going back!

Room Tip: If you have kids I would recommend the cottages because of all of the space, sep tvs, fridge & b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davenport2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Wonderful,wonderful,wonderful. I just kept saying to my wife the whole time, what could be better than this. Uncrowded, wonderful service, great food. Timeless elegance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Inn both times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank homebody12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Gasparilla Inn for three days in March, 2012. This is a beautiful and historic inn, and we greatly enjoyed ourselves here. The bathroom is old and the sink is too small, but one doesn’t mind because everything is kept beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The Gasparilla Inn is on Gasparilla Island, which can be reached only by a single bridge for which there is a $5 toll. The Inn is only a short walk away from the Beach House, which is reserved for Inn guests, and the beach. You are provided with a beach umbrella to keep out of the sun, and we really enjoyed swimming at this beach. You can eat a most attractive lunch buffet while looking at the water. The Inn is in the village of Boca Grande, which is a very tiny village. The village has a very special and small-town atmosphere. We did not feel as if we were in Florida. We took the historical tour of the Inn one morning, and it was well worth our time. The Inn, which is on the National Registry of Historic Places, has an interesting and colorful past. We will return to this place in paradise as soon as we can work it into our schedules, although we will be sure to come this time of year. The inn closes for a couple of months in mid-summer because of the heat, humidity, and bugs, and we suspect that the air/water temperatures are a bit too chilly for swimming in December.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danny38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Inn excels in all areas. Simon, George, and Diane patrol the dining room every evening. The service is genuinely friendly and usually precise. The food is outstanding. The Beach Club is relaxing and unpretentious. The atmosphere of the Inn is more like The Balsams or the Mount Washington Hotel rather than a Florida resort. Oh and the golf course is a jewel. What's not to like ? We can't wait until our visit next year.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank mrymtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I recently returned for our 3rd trip to the Gasparilla Inn. It is an amazing experience. Very much a hotel steeped in history and tradition. It is the way Sea Island used to be !! back in the 60's. Wonderful service, fine dining, and a great golf course that you can walk out and play anytime.

The town of Bocca Grande is similar to a New England town. Very small in an understated way but with shops restaurants.

There is a very nice pool area and spa. Tea is served in the Inn every afternoon. Utterly charming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjm1534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Grande
17.3 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
22.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Boca Grande Resort
The Boca Grande Resort
#3 of 3 in Boca Grande
59 reviews
14.5 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palmetto Inn
The Palmetto Inn
#1 of 3 in Boca Grande
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasparilla Inn & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasparilla Inn & Club

Address: 500 Palm Ave, Boca Grande, FL 33921
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Boca Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boca Grande
Price Range: $245 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gasparilla Inn & Club is pleased to welcome you to relax and enjoy one of the oldest and most unique premiere destinations on Florida’s Gulf Coast. Opened in 1913, the historic Inn has always greeted guests with warm hospitality, a tranquil atmosphere and a picturesque setting. Guests are offered a host of spectacular resort amenities and activities while basking in the Florida sun and enjoying the Inn's "old-Florida" charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gasparilla Inn & Club Hotel Boca Grande
Gasparilla Inn And Club
Gasparilla Hotel Boca Grande
Gasparilla Resort Boca Grande
Gasparilla Inn Boca Grande
Gasparilla Inn Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing