We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful blue seas

The beach is very nice and clean with pretty blue green water.The shelling was very good and it was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BuRickJr44
,
Fortville, Indiana
Family fun

Brought my visiting family with teenagers to both beaches, as this park is 2 sections. They loved... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
579deborahc
,
Rotonda West, Florida
via mobile
Read all 264 reviews
  
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
182
64
10
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
64
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gasparilla island state park lighthouse museum honor system beautiful beach walk around white sand light house broken shells nice lighthouse an umbrella south end off season shark teeth sea shells old florida toll bridge
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 264 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2018

I'm visiting relatives in Punta Gorda and this is their favorite beach. Took us 45 minutes to get there, but I could easily see why it's their favorite. Go early if you want easy pay parking ($6 to enter beach area; $3 all day park pass). Clean bathrooms with areas to change clothes. Beautiful white sand, not at all crowded and this is spring break time around here. Saw a teen with scoop/strainer so ask what she was looking for and she proudly showed me 5 shark teeth, fossilized, that she found where waves hit the sand. We also watched a fishing guy land a snook large enough for a nice dinner. I don't have the fitness to climb the stairs in the restored historic lighthouse right on the sand but given the views of causeways on our trip over, I'm certain it's worth the 20 minute climb for the able bodied. Go early for parking and enjoy the whole day; plenty of good restaurants right there if you don't want to pack a picnic

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank drjlever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Once you cross the Gasparilla bridge there is only one road. Take that road 8 miles until you find the State Park Lighthouse. At the end of this road you will see where Gasparilla’s story began. The lighthouse museum is one of the area’s main highlights. While there is no doubt this state park is the heart of The island.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018

And don't forget to stop by the lighthouse museum. But get there early cuz parking fills up quickly or ride your bikes .

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank KimberlyC2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

This was our second time to visit this spot. First time early February and then now third week of March. Lots more people now. There was a park worker present to help expedite payment at the entrance. There was a slow moving line. We arrived close to noon. Lots of shells on this visit. Water still cool, but beautiful. Notices of riptide hazard visible. At the restroom there was a line for both men and women. Also a local noted this was a new structure that was inadequate for the usage. There is one toilet for each sex. There is a lengthy handicap ramp up to bathroom, but only stairs down to beach. No changing area other than the bathroom which has no shelf/hooks to place your clothing. A pair of nesting Osprey provide entertainment while you wait.

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank lizs501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

Old Florida at its best, nice long beach with beautiful shells, nice for strolling the area has well maintained old Floridian style homes,saw dolphins 3 sightings, ospreys, very nice would return.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank bukagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews