We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shelling extravaganza!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasparilla Island State Park

Gasparilla Island State Park
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Boca Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shelling extravaganza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful clean beaches. Not touristy like other spring break Florida beaches. More of a nature experience. Lots and lots of shells. We saw dolphins and star fish. Great mini getaway.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    50
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“LOVE! I want to move there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is (IMO) Florida's best kept secret!! My in-laws bought a place in-land a few miles from this wonderful island and introduced us to it! We must say that it is one of the best places in Florida and we have been to just about them all! This island is quiet, quaint and beautiful with wonderful places to eat and shop. This reminds me of what Florida was 50 years ago. Watch the movie Hoot as that was filmed here. It is a bit out of the way to get to from any major airport but if you are in the area take the time to visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank cindylou75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Learn about old Florida”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The state park is a must place to visit on the very south end of the island with the Old Lighthouse. Learn the history of the island and its significance in the growth and development of south Florida. You pay just for the czar - $5. Admission to the lighthouse museum is free. You should make a donation however to the preservation society who maintains this wonderful piece of history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers31024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gasparilla Island State park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love this beach. It is very secluded and I feel I can strech out. It's very clean and very pretty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Estie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“beautiful and tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in Boca grande for a week and spent most of our time walking on the beach. The place is deserted, quiet and beautiful. The sand is white and soft under your feet, but there are millions of shells everywhere, you can collect to your hearts content. It is not commercialized so it is very peaceful. We stayed near the south end of the island so it is very quiet. Plenty of parking and not many tourists, which was great for us. The beach also has a lot of grass and plants growing along it. Be careful along the water at the south end since the water has riptides. You do have to pay to get on the beach even if you go on foot. They trust you to place your money in an envelope and place it in the boxes allocated. I don't think anyone checks but the money goes towards keeping the beaches clean and beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank gogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasparilla Island State Park also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gasparilla Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing