We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what is used to be”
Review of Cracked Egg Cafe - CLOSED

Cracked Egg Cafe
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
“Not what is used to be”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Cracked Egg was one of our favorite breakfast places. Each time we visit the Keys, it was a must to stop there a few times. I was disappointed with our last visit. The food was just not as great as it used to be. Maybe it was just an off day for the cook ? Still serving very generous sized portions, and the service was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunsea55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    40
    16
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Place for a Big Breakfast”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have eaten only breakfast here. It's very good, and the proportions are large. The wait staff is nice, if a little eccentric. They resemble aging hippies! However, the food is good. A real Keys atmosphere!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“decent”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It's an old school diner, for sure. Food was great but the service was incredibly slow. Seemed like the regulars got faster service. When I say incredibly slow, I mean it. My 9 yr old was even peeved and even to get our order, when the waitress came up my wife couldn't resist saying "finally". It was bad. She was great with my coffee refills but everything else from taking our order to getting the food to getting the check to her picking up the check and credit card was extremely slow. Food was very good but I don't think we'd return. There are many other places and I think if we're ever stopped in that area of the Keys again, we'll hit Big Pine Restaurant instead.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank snetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots to grab a bite in BPK.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Title says it all. Friendly staff and great service! Food is priced just right. Feels like an old time diner inside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Dade
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sweet and good”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

When you are in the Keys and in Big Pine Key,stop over for breakfast at the Cracked Egg. The food is very good and the service is too. The ladies take your order with a smile and friendly talk and the food is southern style breakfast.
I recommend it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiamiDadeBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Egg Cafe also viewed

Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing